We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn to your Saves list
Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   207 Goat Hill Rd, Lambertville, NJ 08530   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Lambertville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philadelphia
1 review
“Relaxing Retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just spent a wonderful two days at The Chimney Hill Estate Inn. We are a newly retired couple whose sisters got us this "mini vacation" as a gift. Building and grounds were very warm and well appointed. The room where we stayed - The Hunt Room - had a private bath that was just outside the room. We didnt feel this was any inconvenience at all. The room was cozy and comfortable. Bed very comfortable.

At check-in, inn taker was very cordial and helpful, as she outlined on a map for us several different dining options and possible places to visit. That was the first and last time we saw the inn keeper but that was no issue to us.

The breakfasts were delicious and filling. The small dining are where we ate breakfast was also very charming with a fireplace. Eric served the meals and answered any questions of the guests. A couple of the guests had dietary restrictions and could not eat the prepared breakfast and they were offered options that were suitable for them. Throughout our stay, we saw Eric in a capacity of roles and he was always very pleasant and helpful.

Feeding the alpacas was a different experience. Lots of fun. We did that each morning after breakfast. As part of our package we had a dinner voucher for Anton's in Lambertville and the food and ambience were both top notch. As a matter of fact, at each of the establishments we dined - one in New Hope and two in Lambertville - the food was delicious. These were on the recommendation of the inn keeper.

Spent some time in the living area with the fireplace and leather couches - very comfortable and homey - and private.

Would definitely recommend the inn (as a matter of fact, we already have) to others. For its atmosphere, charm, hospitality, and proximity to Lambertvile and New Hope, this B & B is a winner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHFE, Owner at Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your review- we really appreciate your comments and hope that you can come back for another stay very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    36
    16
    11
    13
See reviews for
9
173
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nj
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had a room in the main house (which is beautifully decorated and very inviting.) We loved our room and the lounge downstairs with the woodburning fireplace. Our hostess was warm and welcoming, chatting with us and serving her guests a delicious breakfast each morning. ( I loved the blueberry pancakes) We had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHFE, Owner at Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
It was a pleasure to meet and spend time with you! Thank you and we appreciate your visit.
Come again very soon.
Terry an Rich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We had a groupon and stayed in Barn Suite 4, which was a nice, large room. We enjoyed the jacuzzi tub and shower, though it took a few minutes to figure out how the shower worked. We haven't traveled with CDs in years, so if you upgrade the audio unit in the shower, go Bluetooth. No biggie, just was amused by the shower audio. I definitely appreciated the fridge as well, since we were traveling with things we needed to keep cool. I loved the alpacas and had fun feeding them.

Breakfasts were good, however the inn was very full when we were there and I found it frustrating that the tables were full/dirty, but they were pretty quick about cleaning and resetting them. I've been at places that schedule the guest dining time to avoid this issue. I'm not sure which is better.

Our room had a few loose floor tiles that were concerning, the TVs could be updated, but we didn't use them, and the linens need an upgrade. While we slept ok the first night, the bulky mattress pad was lumpy and bothersome the second night and I had to fix it before I could sleep. I also noticed a tear in the sheets. I would suggest duvet, more pillows and higher thread count, and please upgrade that mattress pad. I also noted the air conditioner was squealing but my husband couldn't hear it. High frequencies bother me, so I slept with ear plugs.

All in all, a good stay. We would return. We also enjoyed Anton's and Unionville Winery.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronkonkoma, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband and I booked a 2 night stay for our 30th anniversary. We had already toured Lambertsville and New Hope many years ago, so we decided to try a new B&B. We totally loved our barn suite, the quiet and the peaceful setting, the alpachas are corralled behind the suites, the views and well manicured grounds are lovely. We were greeted by Eric, a sweet and competent innkeeper. He was pleasant and made a pretty good breakfast and we thoroughly enjoyed revisiting the quaint towns with great artsy shops and antiques. We sampled new offbeat restaurants and our fav would have to be The Blue Moose Cafe, a young chef with a bright and fresh approach to new and old classics. The pre-fix on thurs. for 21/pp was delicious! Reservations a must. The chef's Dad was helping out that evening to a packed full house, he was most charming and charismatic and proud of his son's talents. Overall, we had a wonderful excursion in Lambertsville and New Hope. The morning we were leaving, we quietly watched A beautiful Doe and its baby, grazing in the meadows around Chimney Hill, and for a moment all the world was just right.

Room Tip: The Barn suites at the estate are set back and more privated
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHFE, Owner at Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
It is wonderful to be married for 30 years! It is even more a pleasure that you chose to spend your precious time with us here at Chimney Hill Estate!
Thank you and may you be blessed with many more happy years together.
Regards,
Terry and Rich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, New Jersey, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

There are many wonderful things about the inn. Its setting is nearly idyllic. It's very quiet and has a lovely swing and lawn chairs in the garden that was full of butterflies. The llamas are a hoot. There is a very comfortable lounge room with four comfy leather sofas (and a fireplace, not needed in August!). The dining room in which breakfast is served is historic, well appointed and comfortable. The breakfasts were just great -- fresh fruit and strada one morning and baked apple and French toast the second, both with bacon. Fabulous coffee. Eric was the manager during my stay and was very cordial.

On the other hand, my room was not wonderful. My room was Barn Suite I. It was clean, but shabby and in need of refreshing of paint, some work on the shower jets that did not function, china with cracks, stained towels. A window screen needed to replaced. Because of the placement of the A/C unit, it blows directly on the bed which I found unpleasant. The room is very dark. There was no light suitable for reading anywhere.

I would not stay in a Barn Suite again should I return, but rather try one of the inn rooms. I came with a Groupon deal. I love the Lambertville/New Hope area, and the inn is very close to "down town." The weather was beautiful and I enjoyed the area, being outside and sitting in the pretty lounge area. Sleeping and showering were less successful.

Room Tip: Avoid Barn Suite I.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

My newlywed wife and I were gifted this experience by my mother-in-law. Neither of us had any idea what to really expect, so we went in to the experience with an open mind. After all was said and done, we were pleased with the trip as a whole. Eric was extremely pleasant and helpful with check-in and all the questions we had. We had Tree Top room which was secluded and quite, perfect for decompressing after hectic wedding plannings. Loved the booklet they include in each room for restaurants and activities, although it needs some updating due to "closed" businesses. GREAT STAY!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The Chimney Hill Estate Inn is a lovely Bed & Breakfast. Through a Groupon package, we were welcomed with a bottle of wine, dining credit for Anton's, and alpaca food. The alpacas are sweet animals... each one had it's own uniqueness! The barn suites are closest to the Alpacas (surprisingly, it did not reek in the summer heat!) We stayed in Barn #1, which was cozy and comfortable. Eric and Terry were delightful hosts! Breakfast was delicious and a great way to start our day. Lots to do in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn

Address: 207 Goat Hill Rd, Lambertville, NJ 08530
Location: United States > New Jersey > Lambertville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lambertville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn is a lovely quaint country estate located above the charming historic riverside towns of Lambertville, New Jersey and New Hope, Pennsylvania. Enjoy the excellent selection of restaurants - Anton's Swan, Brian's, Hamilton Grill, Ricks Cafe, Triumph Brewery, Marsha Browns. Plenty to explore everyday! Enjoy a couples massage at Zanya's or Nurture Day Spas. Visit the Bucks County Theater, Shop at Peddlers Village, Explore the Golden Nugget Flea market for a rare treasure, don't forget Rice's Market every Tuesday! If you love the history visit our Washington's Crossing, or take a tour of our local vineyards - Unionville, Old York, Crossings, to name a few. Lets not forget that we offer a delicious breakfast daily and give you plenty of TLC during your stay. Ask us for help....we are here to help you have a great time! So please visit us soon! Thank you, Terry & Rich & the very darling Alpacas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chimney Hill Estate Hotel Lambertville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.