We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant ... No surprises” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1885 Route 70, Lakewood, NJ 08701   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 25%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lakewood
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very pleasant ... No surprises”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Service at the desk was warm & friendly. The desk-person recited the standard orientation mechanically like she had recited a thousand times before, and would another thousand times, but after that truly impressed me with her warmth and made me feel genuinely welcome.

There were no points were awarded for Hilton Honors; it wasn't mentioned.

Also, without a lot of buffer from noise originating outside of the room, it was somewhat noisy.

The room was pretty standard fare with microware & refrigerator.

What stood out was the condition of the room. Everything was in new shape, and the room was absolutely spotless. The place was impeccable. When I entered the room, I was greeted by a towel sculpture of a little long-eared dog wearing sunglasses lying on the bed. Anybody who has ever taken a cruise knows what I'm referring to. Nice touch.

I'd definately return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Hi rickgermain,

Thank you for your review of the Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and to hear that you plan on staying with us again.

Thank you for taking the time to rate our property on TripAdvisor. We always appreciate feedback from our guests.

-Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    103
    22
    10
    5
See reviews for
153
73
27
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel become our home away from home because of the damage we sustained from Hurricaine Sandy. The hotel is very clean, the rooms very comfortable and it is close to several restaurants as well as the Garden Stat Parkway. The hotel management (Camille and Karen) did whatever they could to make our stay as comfortable as possible under the circmstances and also helped facilitate the reservation process to help us stay in our room as long as needed. The hotel has a great workout room, indoor pool and the morning breakfast is excellent - the waitress staff in the dining room was also warm and friendly. Can't say enough about these great people and the wonderful hotel they run-if you ever need a hotel in the Lakewood, Brick, Toms River area, make it this one- it's a definite 5 star plus!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Susan B,

We are sorry to hear that your home sustained damage from Hurricane Sandy. We are glad to hear we could make your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood a positive, enjoyable experience during a devastating time.

I will share your wonderful comments with the entire staff, and we hope you and your family are safe and sound in your home.

Thanks again,
Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel , great service . Nice new clean & situated near lots of dining choices. Also nice workout facility & pool . The in hotel dining was very good as well if your like me & want it all in one location .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi 1_4sun,

Thank you for taking the time to rate the Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood on TripAdvisor and giving us 5-Stars!

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Lakewood Hilton Garden Inn became a de-facto town meeting place for many people made homeless by Superstorm Sandy. Instead of just the breakfast (which is all the kitchen's really equipped to do), they put out three meals a day. While the rooms were beyond sold out, the lobby became a place for people to escape the weather and monitor developments. Karen and her staff made it happen for guests and drop-ins alike.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Hi Rich J,

Thank you for your 5-star review! I am glad to hear that we kept the same level of customer service for people staying with us and others who just needed a place to relax following the devastation of Hurricane Sandy. We know how stressful it has been for so many, and we want to do all we can to make people comfortable.

We greatly appreciate your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We checked in to hotel after Sandy (storm) hit our area & damaged our home. The hotel was full of capacity and chaotic, but the entire staff maintained composure especially the manager Karen and the girls working the front desk. The girls working the front desk were young, one would think very little experience, but they handled themselves with utmost professionalism, I was amazed. This was consistent throughout our stay, and because of the impact of the storm they showed empathy to all guests. It felt as if the staff never went home. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Kudo's to Karen and her staff!!! They turned a catastrophic event into a positive experience and made people forget about their losses while enjoying their stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hi Michael S,

I would first like to say that we are glad you and your family were safe during Hurricane Sandy. We know what a devastating time it was for so many people and we are glad we could help make your stay a pleasant one.

We appreciate your wonderful review, and I will share your comments with the entire staff! Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Hilton Garden Inn in Lakewood NJ during Hurricane Sandy. Even though the hotel was booked solid, every want to be guest that came in was offered a cup of coffee and a place to sit while the storm was coming in. Hotel management put all staff on over time to make sure everything was taken of. The customer service has been above and beyond any I witnessed in a long time. I highly recommend this hotel and will return again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny F, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear obehappy,

Thank you for your review of the Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood!

During Hurricane Sandy, we wanted to help out in any way we could, and we are glad to hear that the staff went above and beyond your expectations.

Again, thank you for a wonderful review!

From the staff at the Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

One nice thing about Hilton Hotel properties are their consistency. The Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood is no exception. This motel is typical of what I expect from a Hilton Garden Inn, Clean, spacious rooms and good service. Breakfast is a combination of Buffett and cooked to order. Service and food were good; however, it is not free unless you are a Diamond Member. The exercise room had a good assortment of equipment and it was in good working order. The staff was efficient and courteous. The only problem I had was the entrance. It is a bit tricky thanks to the New Jersey street system where you have to turn right and do a loop around in order to turn left or make a U turn. Not the fault of the Motel, but a sign by the driveway would be helpful to see where it is.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood

Address: 1885 Route 70, Lakewood, NJ 08701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Lakewood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lakewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood – conveniently located near Exit 88 of the Garden State Parkway on Route 70 – features an indoor pool, state-of-the-art fitness center, and 24-hour business center. Premier guest room amenities include 32” LCD TVs, generous work desks with ergonomic Herman Miller chairs, and self-adjusting beds. Enjoy a brand new Ruby Tuesday restaurant, LongHorn Steakhouse® and Starbucks® next door. Complimentary WiFi access is available throughout the hotel. Guests must be 21 years of age or older to check in (some exceptions apply). Valid photo ID and credit card required at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood Hotel Lakewood
Lakewood Hilton Garden Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.