We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great service, perfect for weddings!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1885 Route 70, Lakewood, NJ 08701   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 25%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lakewood
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel, great service, perfect for weddings!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

As we were planning our wedding in Point Pleasant, we began looking for hotels in the area that could accommodate many out of town guests. From the very beginning the Hilton Garden Inn was great. We worked with Camille from the beginning and she helped with every detail, from making sure the rooms were booked with ease, to keeping the bar open late for everyone to party (including getting us special liquor), to coordinating a shuttle bus for all guests. They did a great job and all of our guests were so impressed with how amazing their service was. On top of it all, the hotels is clean, well maintained and in a great location relative to the beach! If you are looking for a place to stay you cant go wrong here! Thanks again for everything Camille!

Andre & Christie

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    90
    21
    10
    5
See reviews for
132
61
23
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, Calif
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

This is the second time I've stayed here and have been very satisfied on both trips. Room was excellent, staff is friendly & helpful, and amenities (like exercise room) were excellent. I will come back here again when I'm in the area. This hotel was recommended by my co-workers who stayed here on previous times (and also keep coming back). I give it 5 stars for the business (and probably family) traveler.

My only "negative" if you can call it that, is that the breakfast is pricey compared to what I would hope for (which was free or really cheap). Their regular breakfast is about $8 while their made-to order level is $12. To be fair to them, their breakfast selection is excellent with fresh fruit, juices, yogurt, cereals, and lots of fresh breads, muffins & bagels. The made to order portion includes eggs, omlets, bacon, sausage, and potatoes. It is a fair deal if you don't expect/need a free breakfast. And the service manager is wonderful. Shirley always greated guests warmly. Fortunately my company pays for this. If I had my family, I might be running out for McDonalds.

The hotel is kept clean and tidy (a big deal for me). You're close to Target, Costco, and other stores you may want to go to. There is a good steakhouse next door and a Ruby Tuesdays on the other side. (Unfortunately neither are open for breakfast for a change.) The hotel is close to the Garden State Parkway as well.

The bed is very comfortable and they supplied two sets of pillows - both so nice I couldn't decide which I liked better. Desk area was perfect with a couple extra outlets. Bathroom shower had great pressure.

Room Tip: I don't like the ground floor. Too easy for people to see inside your room. I have always had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I recently got married and needed a hotel for many out of town guests. The wedding was planned rather quickly and we scrambled for rooms.... Camille was one of the best quality people I have ever encountered. She made family and guests feel special.. the hotel didnt have enough rooms for all my guest but everytime there was a cancelation she would personally call me and allow one of our guest to take the room....she was always very cordial and easy to work with.... she was funny hospitable and just an all around great person.. she made our stay easy and accommodated everything we needed. I just cant say how hard she worked to have all my guests there with us for our special night. I would easily recommend this hotel for the staff and the way they went out of their way for us, especially Camillle

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

I have been staying ot the Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood NJ for business over the past month. The front desk service, sales staff and housekeeping are very prefessional. I have met some of the senior management here, Dana and Karen. They are very professional and will bend over backwards to make your stay very enjoyable. The rooms are very nice and clean but the bed makes the room. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I have to travel for business quite often all over the East and West coast, and my measuring stick is always the Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood NJ. Since the first time I've been staying here everyone has always bent over backwards to make my stays enjoyable and comfortable!! Their staff is always very Professional, courteous, and ready to go out of their way to make you feel at home! I honestly can not say enough good things about this hotel, except come and see for yourself! You will be impressed to say the least!! This hotel is not only the BEST Choice, it is the ONLY Choice!! Tell them Rich sent you!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

I have encountered horrible service here on multiple occassions.

I booked a block of rooms for my wedding there. They were unresponsive to my request to add additional rooms to our block. We ended up with guests in 2 other hotels. If their service was better they would have booked 60 rooms, rather than 25. They also could not provide an accurate count of the number of rooms reserved for welcome bags. They were constantly rude about basic requests for information. Furthermore, they do not offer the best rate to the group. I recently was invited to a wedding with a room block there, the rate offered to the group was $30 more than the rate (with same cancellation terms) advertised online. For that event, I cancelled my reservation over the phone and was not provided any confirmation number. Later, my credit card was charged for the room anyway. When I called to dispute the charge, I was told that I needed a confirmation number to reverse the charge. The hotel manager was full of attitude.
DON'T ASK YOUR FRIENDS AND FAMILY TO STAY HERE! ROOM BLOCK SERVICE IS HORRIBLE!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerseyGirl166, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear JAC50BY50,

We would like to take this time to inform both you and our consumers of our policies to aid in your hotel booking experience in the future. As part of our hotel policy, when booking for large groups or weddings our maximum capacity for a room block is held at 30 rooms. We inform our wedding party of this rule immediately upon booking with us. We will gladly accommodate extra rooms if there are any additional guests who book with the group however this is subject to room availability. The Hilton Garden Inn has 110 rooms in its hotel, and therefore to hold a block of 60 rooms would be difficult to maintain and refill in the event of a cancellation.

In the event of a cancellation, we ask that you or any of our consumers notify our personnel in a timely fashion. The sooner the Hilton Garden Inn staff is aware of the cancellation, the better equipped we will be to serve your needs. It is always best to keep a record of what time you called and who you spoke with at the time of cancelling your room. This way, if a confirmation number is not provided at the time of the call, we have an indication of where to start to find the transaction. If preferred, one can always e-mail their cancellation requests and receive a confirmation number through an online print medium. This confirmation number is used to track all transactions to ensure accuracy.

Our room booking coordinator also works very closely with our wedding couples to determine all guests involved with the wedding party. She meticulously hand checks the guest lists involved with the wedding party and lists guests by name to ensure that they receive the proper wedding accoutrements. In this case, our records indicate during the time of your visit, we were able to find the best available rate for the date of arrival was $219 and the block rate for that date was priced at $154, therefore saving guests $65 per room when booking in a block. Our attention to details and commitment to our guests has awarded us the Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence for 2011 and we continue to pursue that standard.

As always, thank you for your feedback and we wish you happy travels in the future.

Sincerely,
Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

without too much of a sob story, we were here for about a month due to issues with our home. the staff here has been absolutely wonderful. from front desk, to maintenance, to housekeeping, to bar staff, to management, i do not have a bad thing to say.i would highly, highly recommend this hotel. we are sad to leave!

Room Tip: handicapped rooms are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood

Address: 1885 Route 70, Lakewood, NJ 08701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Lakewood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lakewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood – conveniently located near Exit 88 of the Garden State Parkway on Route 70 – features an indoor pool, state-of-the-art fitness center, and 24-hour business center. Premier guest room amenities include 32” LCD TVs, generous work desks with ergonomic Herman Miller chairs, and self-adjusting beds. Enjoy a brand new Ruby Tuesday restaurant, LongHorn Steakhouse® and Starbucks® next door. Complimentary WiFi access is available throughout the hotel. Guests must be 21 years of age or older to check in (some exceptions apply). Valid photo ID and credit card required at check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood Hotel Lakewood
Lakewood Hilton Garden Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.