We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Very Poor Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Family Fun Package
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Jersey City
Suffern, United States
1 review
“Great Hotel - Very Poor Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great hotel with a terrific staff, especially at the front desk. Nice rooms, very clean, great bed and shower. Service at the restaurant for breakfast is the worse I've seen, including fast food restaurants. Impossible to get what you need for your beverages and other items. Food OK if you can get your beverages before it gets cold.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear John J,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel but disappointed that our restaurant service was a dissapointment. Thank you for bringing your concern with our restaurant service to our attention. I was happy that we spoke last week and got more information from you. Rest assured that we have addressed this with the restaurant management and team so that other guests do not have a similar experience.

Thank you again. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.
Warmest Regards,
John Sheedy,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    284
    245
    71
    24
    13
See reviews for
247
107
37
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Very comfortable bed. Spotless room. Efficient front desk. What more could you ask for? (Restaurant staff especially hospitable. When I informed the hostess that I didn't want the full breakfast and asked how much the coffee was, she said don't bother- the coffee was on the house. How many places would do that for a guest?)/

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Mike R,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the time taken in giving us this truly valued feedback.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our spotless rooms and our hospitable and efficient service and will share your great feedbck with the team. We llok forward to welcoming you back to the DoubleTree by Hilton, Jersey City.
Warmest Regards,
John Sheedy,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I travel often for work, and often stay in Hilton and Doubletree properties. It's interesting the variance in quality between Doubletree properties - this one sits somewhere in the middle. The hotel staff was excellent, the rooms were so-so, and the location was great.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear SCS88,

Thank you staying with us recently and for your valued feedback. We truly appreciate your loyalty to the DoubleTree Brand.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our staff's service and our great location. We normally get great feedback on our rooms for their size and comfort, and many with views of Manhattan, but are truly sorry that you didn't feel this way.
Please feel free to reach out to me directly at 201-499-2416 when you plan on staying in Jersey City next so I can assure you of my personal attention to your accommodations.
Warmest Regards,
John Sheedy,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDINBURGH, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Hotel is in excellent location. Newport Mall is less than a 5 five minute walk away with great shopping. Also very convenient for Shop-Rite supermarket (2 minute walk). Only 5 minute walk from Path station. Journey to 33rd Street (Maceys) only 10 minutes and cost of $5 return. Would stay at hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Walter S,
Thank you for staying with us recenlty and for the time taken to give us your valued feedback.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and it's location. We get great pleasure in welcoming our guests and even more when they have enjoyed their stay so much that they want to stay again.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest Regards,
John Sheedy,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here two nights--the proximity to NYC was wonderful--the PATH was very close. The room was clean, spacious and overall relaxing--only missing a pool for the kids !! I would definitely stay here again. After being in the busy city all day it was so nice to get off the PATH and hear nothing--peace and quiet--loved it ! Very affordable !!

Room Tip: Ask for room with view--unfortunately we had a view of the neighboring condo rooftop pool which sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear thetripplanner,

Thank you for staying with us and for your great feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our hotel and location and that you enjoyed the peace and quiet after the hustle and bustle of Manhattan.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Jersey City.

Thanks again, we understand that you have choices and truly appreciate that you chose to stay with us at the DoubleTree.

Warmest Regards,
John Sheedy,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The bride/groom selected the hotel because ideally located to the reception at Liberty House.

Two (maybe three) idiosyncrasies pertaining to this property you should be aware of:
1. Even though a room is otherwise available at that hour, there is a $25 charge for an Early Arrival (that means if you check-in before noon).
2. Parking ain't free! $30 for valet/$25 otherwise.
3. (Maybe not all rooms) The bedroom air-conditioner blew directly onto/into the bed.

Having arrived on the red-eye, the $25 extra to occupy the room was worth it. The room had a sitting room and separate bed room. Immaculate throughout, especially the bathroom/tub.
The fact that the A/C blew directly onto the bed meant insuring you were tightly covered.

Staff was friendly and accommodating. Didn't use their dining facilities. Breakfast wasn't included in the negotiated room rate. If the vending machine on the floor is out of your choice, check the front desk for the item.

This property was one of the original hotels in the area before 9/11. The area mushroomed after 9/11 with the influx of corporate offices came the additional lodgings. It is conveniently located very near the Holland Tunnel. (Drove [$13 toll charged only entering the city] into the Soho section of NYC at night for pizza at Lombardi's! [Yum-yum!!]).

Provided the room price was competitive, the property would be a contender for a return visit.

Room Tip: If the A/C blowing directly into the bed is an issue, check the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Papaleadfoot,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for the time taken to review our hotel. We truly appreciate your business and feedback.
I am delighted that you found our staff to be friendly and accommodating and that you liked our location.
As with all the main hotel properties in Jersey City and most in the metropolitan area, we do charge for parking and offer a covered, protected parking area in this regard.
I was happy to see that you felt that the $25 fee was worth it to occupy your room early. On availability, we are happy to provide this service for guests who need to check in upwards of 3 hours prior to check in. Under 3 hours, there is no charge for an early check in, when available.
Thank you again,

Warmest Regards,
John Sheedy,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great reception service who exceeded our expectations with request of high rooms with Manhattan skyline views.
We had Penthouse rooms 14 & 15 (Corner Suites) which easily accommodated our party (3 in each room) and which provided the most wonderful view of the Manhattan skyline.
Breakfast was decent without being wonderful but it was more than enough to keep you going throughout the day.
Short walk to PATH to Manhattan (33rd street) and WTC - around 15-20 minutes.
Would highly recommend for more spacious and luxurious accommodation outside of NYC - & cheaper!!!

Room Tip: Ask for highest floors - PH 14 and 15 afford the best views of Manhattan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Craig D,

Thank you for the time to give us this valed feedback.

We are delighted you enjoyed our hotel, specifically the views and spacious guest rooms. It gives our team great pride when we hear and see that we exceeded your expectations.

We appreciate that you have choices and are thankful that you chose to stay with us.

Warmest Regards,
John Sheedy,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City

Address: 455 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Jersey City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
#4 Business Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Jersey City is only ten miles and 20 minutes from (EWR) Newark Liberty International Airport. The hotel is just two blocks from the Pavonia/Newport PATH train station with easy access to Christopher Street in Greenwich Village, Tribeca and Soho in NYC. Take the PATH Train via Exchange Place one stop to the World Trade Center with easy access to New York Financial District and Wall Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Suites Jersey City
Doubletree Jersey City
Doubletree Hotel Jersey City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.