We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun Package
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Jersey City
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

I stayed here on business for three nights in May 2008. The hotel has a great location in Jersey City just a short walk from the Subway to Manhattan and close to the businesses on Washington Ave.

My room had that awful stale aftershave and cigarette smell. I asked if it was non smoking; they said yes, but I could see the odd cigarette burn here and there. The room was large with a separate seating area but the furniture was shabby. They also charge for internet access in the room, which I think is tacky for a business traveler's hotel.

All this and it cost $350 a night. So although there were no terrible problems with the place I was not impressed. I agree with other travelers that if you manage to get a good deal, this is a good spot for easy access to Manhattan.

I you get in late, there is ok bar food downstairs, but you need to order before 10.

  • Liked — Proximity to businesses and Path Train
  • Disliked — High Cost and smelly
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    295
    239
    68
    25
    13
See reviews for
229
103
37
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

We used our Honors points and stayed one night prior to going into the city for the remainder of our trip. Location is key here, if you are arriving I-78 east, basically the last exit before entering the Holland Tunnel. The area where the hotel is located is clean and has fairly new retail, plus a shopping mall within walking distance. The PATH train is a few blocks away. The suites are of good size, although they do not have an actual door between the living area and bedroom area. Our room was a corner suite with a grand city view. Staff was absolutely falling over the guests, VERY accommodating! We would return to this hotel and not bother going over to the city for further accommodations.

  • Liked — Location, easy in and out to the city
  • Disliked — $15 a day parking onsite
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

We just returned from our NYC trip. We stayed here at the Doubletree and commuted to the city using the PATH. It was a great experience. We took our young daughters for their first NYC trip (ages 8, 8, and 10) and we were looking to stay in a place that would be convienent to the city as well as affordable. We found this here.

The hotel does offer a shuttle to the PATH but only M-F until 10:00pm. If you aren't trying to get there or back between these hours the walk isn't too bad. We felt very safe even with 3 young kids and we didn't arrive back to the hotel on 2 nights until 2am.

The staff is very friendly and accomodating. They were very willing to give directions or advice on things to do close by. The rooms were great plenty of space for all 6 of us. They are equiped with coffee maker, microwave, and fridge, which is useful for eating breakfast in the room since the restaurant at the hotel is pretty pricey. Theres a grocery store next door and thats your best bet for breakfast .

We had a great time, loved the city and the hotel in Jersey. We will stay here again.

  • Liked — Value, Location, convienence
  • Disliked — no shuttle after 10pm or on weekend
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

My friend and I stay here every year when we attend the NY auto show. It's much easier to stay here and take a PATH train to the city and walk a few blocks.

We paid something like $215/night after taxes and had free internet thanks to my friend's HH account. The PATH (train/subway) station is about 3 blocks away and provides easy access to many parts of NYC. Only complaint is that there's no fridge. But there is a coffee maker and soda machines down the hall.

We each had rooms on the Penthouse floor overlooking NYC. They said it was the best view in the hotel and they were right. It was fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2008

Booked this hotel for my 40th birthday weekend and loved it! It was my first time in NY and i doubt i could have chosen anything better. A few minutes walk to the PATH train that takes you to Manhattan and a great Mall close which has a Macys! The beds were the most comfortable bed i have ever slept on, bliss! and my view was breathtaking, (stayed on the 14th floor in a corner suite) Lovely ,clean and very spacious suite, will stay there again for defo! The staff were friendly and helpful and i recommend the cabs they use to get to the airport. $45 to Newark and the car is just wow! Driver was very pleasant too. Absolutely loved the place. :-)

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2008

I went to this hotel last summer with my mother to visit NYC for the 3rd time. Let me tell you that as soon as we entered the hotel we knew we made a good choice by picking the Doubletree. Everyone is super nice and they'll make sure you enjoy your stay.

Now, the rooms... WOW! It's big! Our beds were both the most comfortable we've ever slept in. I always need 3-4 pillows to be able to sleep well, and it was the first time I didn't have to ask for more, because there was about 6 of them on each bed.

The PATH that will get you in the heart of Manhattan is 5 minutes away from the hotel, so the location is very very convenient. It'll take you there within 15 minutes for about $1.25, which is great.

The area is safe, we came back to the hotel after seeing Hairspray on Broadway around midnight, and we both felt safe.

There's a mall right accross the street. We went there a few times for breakfast in the morning.

I'm planning my trip to NYC next summer and we're definitely going back to the Doubletree. We booked through Priceline and paid aruond $70 for a night which is an awesome deal. The room was worth way more than that!

  • Liked — The room.
  • Disliked — Nothing! Everything was great.
  • Stayed July 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Doubletree Jersey City in February for a two night (Saturday and Sunday) stay. We decided we wanted to be close to Manhattan, but pay a more reasonable price. The Doubletree surpassed our expectations.
The hotel is easy to get to from the NJ Turnpike and their on-site parking lot (a few steps from the lobby) offers in-an-out service for $15 per day (out by 4pm on the last day).
The room we booked was a junior suite with a queen bed. When we arrived at 10am, we were too early to officially check-in, so the hostess 'blocked out' a "really nice room with a king size bed". We had the option of checking into a room with a "great view of New York" but had two double beds. We opted to wait for the King. We went into New York for the day and came back to the hotel late in the evening. Unfortunately, the room the hostess blocked out for us was not the room we got. We were put into a queen size bed adjacent to the elevator. Disappointing.
The room itself is modern, clean, comfortable and nicely sized. With microwave, fridge, coffeemaker, great bed, nice bathroom and chocolate chip cookies, it was exactly what we would want. Partial view of manhattan, but not something we cared about.
The hotel is a couple blocks from the Newport mall, a grocery store and the Path train (or ferry) to manhattan. The $1.50 ticket gets you to the city in about 10 minutes. Very convenient and safe.
Since our blocked room was not available, the hostess that helped us apologetically comped us breakfast in the hotel. A nice buffet selection of hot foods and continental choices. Expensive. It was a little cheaper to go to walk to the Marriot (next to the path) to get their buffet ($13.95) or drive to the IHOP.
We are looking forward to another weekend in New York in a couple months and we will stay here again (requesting a room away from the elevator this time).

  • Liked — price compared to NY hotels, comfort, cleanliness, convenience to NY
  • Disliked — usual noisy hotel sounds (pipes and people)
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City

Address: 455 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
#3 Family Hotel in Jersey City
#4 Business Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Jersey City is only ten miles and 20 minutes from (EWR) Newark Liberty International Airport. The hotel is just two blocks from the Pavonia/Newport PATH train station with easy access to Christopher Street in Greenwich Village, Tribeca and Soho in NYC. Take the PATH Train via Exchange Place one stop to the World Trade Center with easy access to New York Financial District and Wall Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Suites Jersey City
Doubletree Jersey City
Doubletree Hotel Jersey City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.