We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and run down” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Two Cities, One Great PKG
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Expensive and run down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed at a lot of hotels, but this one of the worst Doubletrees I ever stayed in.
The "non smoking" room I was in smelled awful ... I guess it was just "converted" from a smoking room. The rooms ( I saw 2 others) have a standard size but are all
quite dark. Bathrooms are small and plain. No luxury.
Rooms and beds somewhat clean but not cosy at all.
Will not return if I can avoid.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
I truly apologize that you did not find our property up to your standards. Although not the norm - I do appreciate your comments and will certainly review them with the team. I do hope you allow us another opportunity to regain your trust as we do value your business and expect your next stay will be much more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    307
    96
    32
    16
See reviews for
321
140
39
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We chose this hotel for it's price and proximity to PATH. Rooms are large and comfortable, but WIFI is an additional $13 charge/day. You can get free WIFI in the lobby area, but it's pretty loud when people around you are using Skype or watching videos. We did have noise issues across the hall on our second night and when I called the desk for help, I was told "I'll see what I can do, it's a wedding party" like that was a good reason to be awakened at 1:00am. I ended up opening the door and in a not-so-pleasant tone asked the wedding guests to stay in their room and lower the noise level. I mentioned this to a supervisor in the morning, she was very nice and promised to speak with the night staff.

Restaurant: One of our two rooms included free breakfast, but the food had so much grease I just ate my toast on the one morning I went down. I had a muffin the next day, and it was great. They have a good selection of fruit and cold items, and the pastries are very good. Hot buffet breakfast is $15. Valet Parking is $20. BJs and ShopRite are behind the hotel, plus there are many restaurants within two or three blocks.

Room Tip: Go for the city view, as high up as you can get. It's beautiful at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thanks for the post and glad that you enjoyed your stay. I do apologize for the excessive noise caused by neighboring guests. Hope you keep us in mind should your travels take you back our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, CT
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is decidedly average. I've stayed at DoubleTree properties across the US, and this is far and away the worst. There are some good things though.

Pros
1. Convenient location - It's a quick ride to Manhattan and to the Jersey City business district. There's a lot of shopping and restaurants nearby the hotel as well.
2. Friendly staff - I had a problem with the first room I was in (see below), and the staff was super helpful.
3. Mostly clean - The place is definitely not a motel, you'll be able to sleep without fear of bugs.
4. Reasonably comfortable bed - The bed was average, it's not the best, but far from the worst. You'll be able to get a decent night's sleep.

Cons
1. Kinda dirty - While the sheets, towels, and pillows where all clean, the bathroom left a lot to be desired. The shower in my room was in desperate need of cleaning, there was a ton of mold on the grout. There were also rust stains on some of the tile where the handrail is. Also, the first I was given (407), reeked of smoke and had yellowed wallpaper and curtains. It was super gross, but the staff moved me to another room that was clean and smoke free.
2. Dark - I applaud Hilton for changing to energy efficient bulbs, and the room is OK, but when I showered, I felt like I was in a cave.
3. Older property - Things just feel very worn. The carpet had a few spots on it, the furniture was a little beat up, just very well used. Not what I'd expect from a business class hotel, and not what I'd expect from a DoubleTree.
4. Noisy - Because this is a tower hotel, the floors are on the smaller side, so you're likely to be either near a noisy elevator, or a noisy ice machine. Soundproofiing is minimal.
5. Paid Wi-Fi - I haven't paid for Internet access at a hotel for several years (across all types of hotels from luxury to motels), and it felt like I was going back in the dark ages when I connected and was asked how I wanted to pay for wireless access. This is so 2004 and the property needs to get with the times.

So all in all, not a terrible hotel, but there are better choices in Jersey City. Certainly not up to par with what I've come to expect from the DoubleTree brand.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the elevators and ice machine, both are noisy and you will definitely here the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns and I do apologize that we fell short of exceeding your expectations. I will certainly share and review your comments with the appropriate department heads. I do hope you allow us another opportunity to regain your trust should your travels take you back our way, as your noted experience is certainly an anomaly. Thank you again for your patronage and hope to see you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I little disappointed about the rooms especially the bed sheet it seems that they dont replace it for weeks... excellent front desk, house keeping. very nice location near the mall and train going to city..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and glad you found the location and staff excellent. Would appreciate if you could expand on your comment about the bed sheet. Please feel free to send me a note at jim.salvo@hilton.com so we may discuss further. Hope to see you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in September, 2012 while visiting family and seeing the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island. The area around the hotel seemed safe - though the only walking around we did was to go to the Chilis 2 blocks away for dinner. The rooms were very nice and the free breakfast was very good.
Driving in New Jersey (and New York) is fairly stressful if you are not used to it, so when we arrived we were fairly stressed out and rethinking our decision to add this part of our trip... When we asked the front desk what the easiest way was to get to Liberty State Park for our ferry trip the following morning, they suggested a taxi... We took them up on their idea and were pleasantly surprised the next morning to find that it was actually a private car... For $20 each way we were taken directly to the ferry location, and the driver even gave us his cell phone number so when we were on the ferry coming back, we called him and he was waiting for us when we disembarked the ferry. Not having to deal with the stress of driving was well worth that cost and we were very grateful to the hotel staff for suggesting it.
We did not venture into Manhattan, but could see it right across the river.. so I imagine this hotel would be very convenient for sightseeing over there also.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and you were able to see a couple of local sites. Hope to see you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I booked a full city view at this place. Not bad, room came with tv, air con, bathtub, coffee and tea. Very nice, receptionist was friendly, 5 minutes walk to Path to New york. I liked the area, you can get to New York in half an hour. Doesn't have much parking for temporary stops had to pay 10 dollars to park it there for a while which was illogical but all in all the city view was nice, the bed... simply awesome

Room Tip: 1 thing to remember this stop is also called Pavonia! not just Newark sheesh! not sure why they did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post your review and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Please keep us in mind should your travels take you back our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

DoubleTree in Jersey City is in a prime location for visiting Manhattan. There is a Path station a block down the street which takes you directly into the city within 5-10 minutes. The rooms at the hotel are average, very clean and comfortable. The pillows are the softest you will ever find! Yet, above all this, the reason for my 5 star rating is the service we received at the front desk from Felix. He was extremely friendly, helpful with finding us transportation to/from Metlife Stadium and the airport, helped us with our bags, and gave some great advice on finding the best Bakery in NYC. I can't recommend this hotel enough!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimsalvo, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for the review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Happy to hear that Felix took such good care of you. Hope to see you return soon! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City

Address: 455 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
#3 Family Hotel in Jersey City
#3 Business Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Jersey City is only ten miles and 20 minutes from (EWR) Newark Liberty International Airport. The hotel is just two blocks from the Pavonia/Newport PATH train station with easy access to Christopher Street in Greenwich Village, Tribeca and Soho in NYC. Take the PATH Train via Exchange Place one stop to the World Trade Center with easy access to New York Financial District and Wall Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel And Suites Jersey City
Doubletree Jersey City
Doubletree Hotel Jersey City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.