We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was expecting More” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baja Mexican Resturant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Baja Mexican Resturant
117 Montgomery Street, Jersey City, NJ 07302
201-915-0062
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Was expecting More”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

With Reviews of top 10 in New Jersey , I was really expecting more maybe because I ordered on my Birthday, New Years Day, Maybe???

Everyone else liked it, and my husband who is spanish, but hates mexican, liked it aswell. So I dont know, I love mexican at times, but I personally was expecting more bang.

Will have to review after eating at the restaurant, rather then ordering.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    5
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Dont watse your time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

I usually trust the reviews on trip advisor, but was shocked to see anything halfway decent written about this place. You can hardly find a good review for it on Zagat. It really was not worth the time or money, even though cheap.

We had a reservation but still had to wait, even though the place was half full. When we asked why we had to wait when so many tables were available, they said that they didnt want to prepare a table for such a large party, until they knew we were actually showing up.....Large party??? There were 5 of us.....

They put us upstairs, even though there was space for us on the first floor, where they basically forgot about us. We had to go down to the bar ourselves for a second round of drinks because the servers were no where to be found. Try getting another bowl of chip and salsa....virtually impossible. The fish tacos were so wet they couldnt be picked up. The chicken in taco was cut into quarter inch cubes that were so dry they coud barely be eaten. These chicken tacos that were supposed to have pablano peppers and cilantro, were disgusting chucks of tasteless dry chicken.

Dont waste your time at this place. Its barely edible...worse than chain store mexican fare. The only positive I can see is the bar business.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Had many lunches there and each one was very good. Service is good and fast when it's a lunch during the working day. Nice menu

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food- Not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

the food at Baja was pretty good, portions were pretty normal for a mexican restaurant. The food was good, but we've def had better. Also, the lighting was a bit too dim, we could barely read the menus!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, NJ
Top Contributor
361 reviews 361 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Always Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Really enjoy this place. Staff is very friendly, food is good and Margaritas are fantastic.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baja Mexican Resturant also viewed

 
Jersey City, NJ
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baja Mexican Resturant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.