We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthorse Tavern

Lighthorse Tavern
199 Washington St, Jersey City, NJ 07302-4527
201-946-2028
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lighthorse Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 507 Restaurants in Jersey City
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Morris Street
Transit: Light Horse Tavern is conveniently situated next to several public transit stops. The Essex Street stop on the Hudson-Bergen Light Rail is two blocks from the restaurant. The Exchange Place Path station is a 10 minute walk. The Paulus Hook Ferry terminal is a 10 minute walk. The Grove Street Path station is a 15-20 minute walk.
Dacula, Georgia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We love the menu. Lots of variety. They also serve comfort foods. Service was great. The only reason I did not give 5 stars is the menu is prices.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    62
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood, reasonable menu, expensive beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Expect good service with a thoughtful menu at reasonable prices ($16 fish and chips, $18 orecchiette pasta with sausage and broccolini). The atmosphere is comfortable and feels a bit British to me. The neighborhood is one of the best in Jersey City and offers a cute gelato shop across the street for dessert. The only drawback is the price of beer... they offer a unique selection but I believe they're all at $8 or higher.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“A Great Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a nice neighborhood spot that certainly is popular as it was packed. The restaurant does a great job however of getting you seated and providng good service.

The food was good, wine was good, atmosphere was good, no complaints at all. I'm not a really picky eater; while the food was good and we really enjoyed it, it wasn't so fabulous we'd recommend dropping everything to make it here......but if its convenient, absolutely go visit.

I'd suggest asking for a table upstairs on the railing, gives a nice over-view of the place where you can see all the action happening on the first floor.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Top local eatery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Wife and I lives between hoboken and jersey city. We have quite a number of restaurants within 1 to 2 miles radius. We support local businesses and eat out once or twice a week. Light horse tavern has become our favorite in the past couple of year. This pub/ restaurant is quite charming with a beautiful wood bar, exquisite ceiling , overall very good looking. Interesting selection of beers, full bar , the basic. As for food, we have never been disappointed. Every time we order a new dish, it is alway good. We have been there with family, with friends, at least a dozen of time with alway satisfaction and good services. The cons? Of course i would like it a little cheaper; 30-50$ is about right for a full dinner. But you can have one of my favorite from the bar menu, 5 delicious pork ribs with a beer for under 20$. Parking can also be a drag. Few of our favorites: raw seafood platter, grilled octopus salad, steak and frites, lobster gnocchi and more. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rawbar very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Although the dry rub lobster dinner sounded enticing, I decided to wait to order that when my husband joins me next week. I ordered the raw bar and side of brussel sprouts and a glass of chardonnay- delicious. The ambience was only enhanced by the wonderful guitarist who played- be sure and tip him well, as where would the world be without music?

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lighthorse Tavern also viewed

 
Jersey City, NJ
 

Been to Lighthorse Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lighthorse Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.