We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always excellent food, ambiance but it's the desserts that are the showstopper!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthorse Tavern

Lighthorse Tavern
199 Washington St, Jersey City, NJ 07302-4527
201-946-2028
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lighthorse Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 507 Restaurants in Jersey City
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Morris Street
Transit: Light Horse Tavern is conveniently situated next to several public transit stops. The Essex Street stop on the Hudson-Bergen Light Rail is two blocks from the restaurant. The Exchange Place Path station is a 10 minute walk. The Paulus Hook Ferry terminal is a 10 minute walk. The Grove Street Path station is a 15-20 minute walk.
NYC/NJ
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Always excellent food, ambiance but it's the desserts that are the showstopper!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I can't get enough of Lighthorse Tavern. The food is always excellent and the desserts are to die for!! It has a really cool vibe & the ambiance is great for just about all occasions, whether you are having a romantic dinner out, drinks with friends or a relaxed family meal. They are kid friendly, the food is upmarket, the martinis are excellent and the staff are very friendly. We've been coming here at least once a week almost for the past 7 years!!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    62
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hermosa Beach, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere, GREAT food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I ripped out a page from the SkyMall magazine on the flight over to Jersey for a business trip and decided to try some of the recommended Jersey City "to-dos". This place is a quaint, swanky restaurant with live music nearly every night and incredible food. I would rarely order chicken at a restaurant but it was recommended to me and it was EXCELLENT. The menu is a little pricey but you're paying for quality food - and the staff was friendly and improved the experience even more.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“cute place, nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Can't rave enough about the burgers, fries, calamari. Yummm. Years ago, we started going to Lighthorse and liked it immediately but quickly found that we had to restrict our visits to drinks. BUT somewhere, sometime, that changed and they have someone in the kitchen that knows what they are doing and it is absolutely worth a trip for the food. The space is inviting and (a big deal for me) appears to be clean. It is a place that we feel comfortable taking friends from NY who turn their noses up at JerseyCity - yeah, there are still some of those that don't get it... Anyway, we enjoy going there but we have learned that we need to be there at off hours as the place gets VERY noisy later and you just can't have a conversation with anyone. Of course, if you go alone and you just want to watch the tv's, then that's not a problem. Also, they frequently have music on weekend nights so worth checking out. Definitely would recommend this well managed establishment.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, NJ
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great pub atmosphere, delicious food, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This is a great neighborhood pub and the burgers are not to be missed! I used to work in the area and come in for lunch at least once a week. Now I use any excuse to come hang with my ex-colleagues for dinner or Sunday brunch. The interior is airy and beautiful and both the food and service are consistently good.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great steaks, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

As usual, big portions but well presented in this popular neighbourhood restaurant.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lighthorse Tavern also viewed

 
Jersey City, NJ
 

Been to Lighthorse Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lighthorse Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.