We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location & Staff were 5 star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Holland Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Holland Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Holland Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175 12th Street, Jersey City, NJ 07302 (Formerly Holland Motor Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Jersey City
Brampton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Location & Staff were 5 star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The hotel is located in an awesome location. 5 minute walk to the Path train to either the World Trade Center or 33rd st and Broadway. The staff are amazing and helpful, Free Wifi for everyone staying, Free parking, Free continental breakfast. entire hotel is very, very clean couldn't find a spot of dust anywhere. Hotel is dated but very adequate especially for the savings in price, everything else makes up for the age. Newport mall located directly across the street with movie theatre, Macy's etc. location is great however the Holland tunnel is also across the street so there is a constant flow of traffic outside so if you can, try to ask for a room facing the parking lot, it's a lot quieter, however during the night you'll be so tired you could probably sleep through it (I didn't have an issue and neither did my family and we stayed on the second floor with a view of the holland tunnel entrance) There is a musky smell in the hallways but this seems to be from the constant washing of the carpets. Again location is very clean. I strongly recommend this hotel as long as you can put up with a little noise from traffic and the slight smell in the lobby and hallway.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    187
    41
    8
    11
See reviews for
147
109
27
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, oh
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is a great place for home base if you want to see NYCity and save a few to spend elsewhere. We are next to the PATH and the river so far we have had a great stay. Everyone is really helpful, and the place, while basic is really clean. Can spend the money we are saving on food and goodies.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This beats driving into NY City any day. The hotel is small (hope you like stairs) but comfortable and nice. It's a bed and a shower and you can walk to the PATH which gets you into NY City. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate new york
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here for viewing of the fireworks from the Jersey side. The hotel was pretty basic, we were on the parking lot side, which was pretty quiet. However noise traveled from the rooms into the hallways, but once in your room was quiet. Staff was very helpful and friendly, were able to walk to pub/mall but not a scenic walk. : ) Parking lot was well lit and FREE. We felt that our car was safe.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This was stop #1 on our family road trip. It wasn't a horrible place. Small and no frills. We had a room on the street side and yes, there was noise from the traffic, but it didn't bother me at all. The a/c unit drowned out the noise but if you are someone that needs absolute quiet, then this wouldn't be for you. The room was small with the 2 beds in it, but it was clean and what we needed. The continental breakfast were pastries from a local bakery and were delicious! The walk to the PATH was not too far but after a long and tiring day in the city it seemed to take forever. Friendly service at the desk. If ever needed I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Parking lot side if you want quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hawkesbury, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Decent room and free parking, I checked reviews on here to find a place with free parking and the bus tours to New York came right to the Hotel which was awesome! Plus the free breakfast was good in the Lobby on your way to the tour we took.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This place is great if you want to save a little money and not stay right in the heart of Manhattan. This hotel is located right at the Holland Tunnel in Jersey City and 5-10min walk from the PATH system that takes you right to 33rd near Penn Station or to the World Trade Center.

The Staff goes out of their way to make sure you know where you are going and they give the cheapest options on getting there along with maps.

Rooms are comfy and clean. Its not the Ritz but if you are planning to just use the room to sleep/shower why pay $300+ when you can get this room for like $140 (what we paid on a Tuesday the price probably varies).

Previous people complained about street noise. Its really not bad. Our room was on the Main street beside the traffic lights and we heard almost nothing other then the sirens of emergency services when they went through the intersection.

If you like Mall shopping there is one right across the street.

Next Time is go to NYC I will be staying here again....Did I mention the FREE PARKING and FREE Continental Breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Holland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holland Hotel

Address: 175 12th Street, Jersey City, NJ 07302 (Formerly Holland Motor Lodge)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Jersey City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Holland Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Agoda so you can book your The Holland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Motor Hotel Jersey City
Holland Hotel Jersey City
Holland Motor Lodge
Holland Jersey City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Holland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.