We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Holland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Holland Hotel to your Saves list
The Holland Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175 12th Street, Jersey City, NJ 07310 (Formerly Holland Motor Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Jersey City
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Awesome Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This beats driving into NY City any day. The hotel is small (hope you like stairs) but comfortable and nice. It's a bed and a shower and you can walk to the PATH which gets you into NY City. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    195
    46
    9
    13
See reviews for
153
116
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here for viewing of the fireworks from the Jersey side. The hotel was pretty basic, we were on the parking lot side, which was pretty quiet. However noise traveled from the rooms into the hallways, but once in your room was quiet. Staff was very helpful and friendly, were able to walk to pub/mall but not a scenic walk. : ) Parking lot was well lit and FREE. We felt that our car was safe.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This was stop #1 on our family road trip. It wasn't a horrible place. Small and no frills. We had a room on the street side and yes, there was noise from the traffic, but it didn't bother me at all. The a/c unit drowned out the noise but if you are someone that needs absolute quiet, then this wouldn't be for you. The room was small with the 2 beds in it, but it was clean and what we needed. The continental breakfast were pastries from a local bakery and were delicious! The walk to the PATH was not too far but after a long and tiring day in the city it seemed to take forever. Friendly service at the desk. If ever needed I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Parking lot side if you want quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hawkesbury, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Decent room and free parking, I checked reviews on here to find a place with free parking and the bus tours to New York came right to the Hotel which was awesome! Plus the free breakfast was good in the Lobby on your way to the tour we took.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This place is great if you want to save a little money and not stay right in the heart of Manhattan. This hotel is located right at the Holland Tunnel in Jersey City and 5-10min walk from the PATH system that takes you right to 33rd near Penn Station or to the World Trade Center.

The Staff goes out of their way to make sure you know where you are going and they give the cheapest options on getting there along with maps.

Rooms are comfy and clean. Its not the Ritz but if you are planning to just use the room to sleep/shower why pay $300+ when you can get this room for like $140 (what we paid on a Tuesday the price probably varies).

Previous people complained about street noise. Its really not bad. Our room was on the Main street beside the traffic lights and we heard almost nothing other then the sirens of emergency services when they went through the intersection.

If you like Mall shopping there is one right across the street.

Next Time is go to NYC I will be staying here again....Did I mention the FREE PARKING and FREE Continental Breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Located next to Holland Tunnel, it has great connectivity to NYC. However, I would say this is good place if you are considering a clean and conveniently located place just to spend the night after spending day in NYC. As compared to NYC hotels, this can be termed a "budget" hotel but it too comes at about $180 a night price tag.
If you have AAA membership, do call hotel directly to get better rate. I booked through booking.com from their own website and got to know at checkout that I could have saved about 15-20 a night if only I had called hotel instead of booking online. I wish they had still honored AAA rate as their own website asks to book through booking.com.
There was some kind on construction going on in the parking lot but fortunately there wasn't any noise during night. I must admit that we could NOT hear any traffic noise in room even though hotel is located just off the busy road. The funny thing though was that we could hear people talking in the hallway clearly in the room.
The hotel property doesn't have a very nice look from outside but the insides are better. They have limited but tasty (not very healthy) breakfast options but no space in the lobby so you need to carry and eat your breakfast in your room.
The front-desk staff seemed a little rude at first but were helpful later. I had a little chat with the owner though and he seemed very good and friendly.
The only bad thing I would like to point was -
The room windows only had thick blackout curtains but no sheer curtains. Closing the thick curtains would absolutely darken the room while opening them would loose privacy to all traffic passing off the adjacent street.

Room Tip: Although you won't hear any traffic noise, choose rooms on Parking lot side. No elevator so ment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My husband & I stayed at the Holland Hotel on April 11 to April 14th for a long weekend in NYC. We went not knowing where to stay and stumbled upon this great hotel. Lydia & Natalia at the front desk took such good care of us our entire stay. This was the perfect location less than a 10 minute walk to the Path Train. We were in NYC in no time. The hotel is very clean & spotless. The continental breakfast with 24 hour coffee service was an added bonus. We walked at night and always felt very safe. Burger King, Dunkin Donuts, Liquor Store, all within a short walk. Our room was on the second floor on the tunnel road side but was quiet & never had any noise problems. We will definitely be back the next time we travel to New York City! The price & location cant be beat!! Go Yankees!!! =)

Room Tip: We were on second floor road side. No elevators but that was fine with us. Cant imagine a bad room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Holland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holland Hotel

Address: 175 12th Street, Jersey City, NJ 07310 (Formerly Holland Motor Lodge)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Holland Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Holland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Motor Hotel Jersey City
Holland Hotel Jersey City
Holland Motor Lodge
Holland Jersey City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Holland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.