We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice accommodation at a reasonable price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Holland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Holland Hotel to your Saves list
The Holland Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175 12th Street, Jersey City, NJ 07310 (Formerly Holland Motor Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Shawnigan Lake, BC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice accommodation at a reasonable price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at the Holland for 5 days while visiting New York City for the first time in September 2013. We found the hotel to be very clean, comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great as far as a continental style breakfast goes and it was well stocked. I would class it as a very good budget hotel with rates at about half of what you would pay for a comparable hotel in New York. The PATH subway station was a 5 minute, easy and safe walk and a 15 minute ride to the Theater District and less to the World Trade Center station.

Room Tip: Our room was on the parking lot side so no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    227
    50
    10
    14
See reviews for
178
129
30
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Ontario
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Excellent staff, from front desk to security to housekeepers! Great location, close to PATH & shopping. Secure FREE parking made all the difference. Clean rooms. 24-hour coffee plus decent continental breakfast with nice pastry selection, fresh fruit, cereal, tea & coffee. Tiny lobby so we brought our breakfast just outside and sat in our car to eat. There's no elevator but we didn't mind one set of stairs. We would definitely go back again as it is clean, secure, economical, has friendly staff and is two blocks from the PATH transit into Manhattan.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed for 3 nites....it was our 1st time booking a hotel for the trip, we usually stay with relatives...I liked the
Good location, nice staff, clean place...very convenient
Easy access to nyc, path train is right down the street, mall is walking distance
Enjoyed our stay at the holland hotel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Having stayed at this hotel several times over the past few years, I anticipating giving an overall rating of 4 stars consistent with past experiences. But now, it is 3 stars and could be trending down further.

The strong points remain a very good location, 10 minutes walk to the train for commute to NYC, free parking at the hotel, and an above average continental breakfast. Service, by phone and in person was courteous and fast. The bathrooms were very clean, as in the past.

However, the rooms seem slightly dingy now, less clean looking than in the past.

Of three hotel rooms, two had a strong odor of cleaning chemicals, the third, a nonsmoking room, smelled heavily of cigarette smoke. I had to air out the room about an hour to subside the (cherry scented) chemical smell. The air conditioner rattled (all night), and the timer dials malfunctioned- the unit was not in good working order.

The rooms here have always been basic, but sufficient. Now, they seem to be almost spartan.

Small points, but there is no pen and paper in the room as in the past, no plastic laundry bag in the closet, fewer plastic cups (even in a room with two double beds). There were several sales catalogs dumped in the work desk drawer, including two copies of the same one. The hotel guide is not useful- it does not contain basic information about the hotel, such as a "connection charge" for making toll free phone calls.

Another small thing, from a guest convenience standpoint, the mini refrigerator had loose door racks, items would fall out from them, and the shelves were so closely spaced between each other there was not room for even one ordinary "to go" box in there. Why have one?

An odd sight right out the window in the hotel parking lot. A hooded woman and a man pitched a blanket over a couple of parking spots and stayed for a couple hours. It almost looked like camping out in the parking lot. They talked loudly, loud enough to hear from your hotel window. Occasionally they called out to passing by cars in the parking lot. The woman was "petting" the man at times, and visitors came and went, some setting up chairs, coming and going. All this viewable right out the window in the hotel parking lot, near your car.

The downstairs vending machine had candy bars, interspersed with a row of condoms. It did not give leave a good impression of the property.

I would still give this hotel a recommend, but just barely. With several 5 star hotels in the neighborhood for about $25 more, it's worth a second look now if indeed the atmosphere here is deteriorating.

Only time will tell.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quentin b, General Manager at The Holland Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Valued guest Thank You for staying with us, and for the review. I will like very much to speak with concerning your dissatisfaction. I can be reached at 201-963-6200 during normal business hours. I promise to discuss with you every negative you experienced, and make up for it. We are determined to be an excellent property at all times, so please call. Once again Thank You for staying.

Quentin Bristow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Convenient, clean and a friendly staff.
We chose this hotel based on price and proximity to NYC. The rooms are nice and clean, the staff were friendly and helped us obtain Broadway show tickets. The “PATH” train to NYC is about a 10 min walk. I would recommend getting the 7 day “unlimited ride metrocard” for $30. The breakfast is continental, and the pastries are very good. This hotel is not The Ritz Carlton, however the service is 5 star. If you’re on a budget and want a clean room I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Regarding the handful of negative reviews......some people will complain no matter what. This hotel is not the Ritz, and you're not paying the rates of a high class hotel either. We stayed this week for four nights with our kids. The room was clean, the staff were friendly, the breakfast was limited and not gourmet (it's free, what do you expect??), but it was continuously refilled. Our AC was modern and worked fine. The wifi worked fine, the TV and fridge worked fine. It's a 10 minute walk to the train - a little exercise is good for you. The hotel is older, but it's safe and convenient. Good option for those on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

I chose to stay at this hotel with my relatives that we visiting from Germany because the prices are much less then New York City . The rooms were clean, and the employees were helpfull. We had a great visit to nyc. Thank you Holland Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jersey City
1.5 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#7 of 11 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 stars 814 reviews
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 11 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Jersey City, Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 11 in Jersey City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,969 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#3 of 11 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 stars 503 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holland Hotel

Address: 175 12th Street, Jersey City, NJ 07310 (Formerly Holland Motor Lodge)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Jersey City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Holland Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Holland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Motor Hotel Jersey City
Holland Hotel Jersey City
Holland Motor Lodge
Holland Jersey City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Holland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.