We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Holland Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Holland Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Holland Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175 12th Street, Jersey City, NJ 07302 (Formerly Holland Motor Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 hotels in Jersey City
Jersey City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

If you need a place to stay while visiting the city and you don't want to pay outrageous Manhattan prices, this is it. I arrived at about 9:00 AM and just wanted to check in with reception to let them know I was parking my car there. I'm sure check-in time is sometime after noon, but they checked and my room was ready, so I was able to unload luggage right away. Very helpful staff gave me clear directions to the PATH train and PATH and subway schedules. After a long day in Manhattan the staff had on hand a menu for a Chinese restaurant that delivered directly to my room.

I would definitely stay there again.

My bed was next to the window on the tunnel side and it did get a little noisy when the rush hour traffic started in the morning, but not too bad, and not any noisier than the birds! Person in other bed was not bothered at all. Don't expect a lot of frills like mouthwash and shower caps, but there was soap and shampoo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    234
    44
    11
    11
See reviews for
136
100
26
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beltsville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Very convenient location for visiting NYC and of course a lot cheaper than staying in NYC, but it's an old building with small rooms, small bathrooms, small beds (doubles), not very comfortable mattresses, very meager breakfast served in a very crowded corner of the lobby, and your room will be noisy if you're on the side of the building facing the entrance to the Holland Tunnel. Some nice furnishings in the rooms, like new TV's, microwave, fridge, and safe (which is nice to have around NYC), and everything is kept quite clean. While everything is maintained fairly well, it all just shows its age in terms of the old tile and plumbing in the bathrooms, and the musty smell in the rooms if you don't keep the HVAC unit running.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the back side away from the very busy street that leads into the Holland Tunnel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The hotel is a good one. The booking and the billing process are flawless, not to mention the awesome hospitality. I have been there twice and did not face any problem at all. Flawless! Its near the SImon's mall in Newport, where you can enjoy the delicious Indian food and also near the Newport Path station - so you can travel to New York in a 15 min journey.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Very lucky to get to go to NYC for the New Year for the second successive year. Having trawled numerous websites as I had done last year I was again after a balance of cost and accessibility into New York. The Holland hotel was recommended highly on tripadvisor and prices were looking favourable giving us spare cash to spend on transport and shopping trips down 5th Avenue. The hotels situation was the only concern as it was at the head of the Holland Tunnel and had been told to have a room at the back as it would be quieter. We had a room at the front disappointingly but as we had spent every day walking from dusk til dawn in the city of New York we returned extremely tired and quickly fell to sleep in very comfortable beds. We were awoken only because of an odd siren. If you are a light sleeper this could be the only reason I can think of for not recommending this hotel. As other guests have said friendliness and cleanliness epitomise this hotel. What lovely helpful staff! When searching for hotels within our budget most had no breakfast options but this hotel had a free breakfast bar which though small had great choice of cereals, muffins, doughnuts, porridge, fruit and fresh coffee with tea and hot chocolate options. You had to take it back to your room to eat but again another money saving option!!! Getting to New York is so easy from here too. Walking 10 minutes to Newport Path station and straight through to 33rd Street. We paid for a 10 trip pass for our 5 days at a cost of $17 and then a 7 day unlimited subway pass in New York for $29!! So saving money staying out of New York with a great hotel in Jersey City is a complete no-brainer if you're keen on staying on a budget. Great shopping Mall this side too in Newport- the children enjoyed buying goods and spending $'s in there!!

Room Tip: Others have suggested rooms at the back away from the traffic will obviously be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas Va
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I was very impressed with this hotel. First off if you are looking for fancy bells and whistles this is not the place for you. If you are looking for friendly, clean and a great price this is your hotel. It is close to the Holland tunnel but you can’t hear anything even with the honking at 2am. The reception is wonderful, very helpful and friendly staff. Every time I turned the corner someone was cleaning. The rooms are a little small but not tiny. The is place is a little dated but not in disrepair. It is super clean!! I am a nurse so trust me clean is my thing. I want with family and we all fit comfortably in the room. The free breakfast was wonderful. The free parking is unremarkable close to NYC. Overall it was great, I will be back again, can’t beat this price as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is just past the tunnel, so it is not far from NYC at all. It's close to the train station which is on the other side of the nearby mall, we walked for about 5 mins. Though the breakfast is done in the lobby, which is very small area, they are diligent in refilling the items. Only gripe is that the bed could have been a big wider.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have stayed at the Holland Hotel at least 6 times over the last few years with stays of 1 to 6 nights in length. Overall, we were satisfied with this hotel as long as we were willing to make certain sacrifices. At this point, we feel as if we might not return again.

The rooms are reasonably priced for the location but you get what you pay for: rooms are small, some (we discovered) have no bath, some are in the basement and have very small windows near the ceiling, the water temperature always fluctuates while you shower in the morning (often getting very cold) and is not the most pleasant of experiences, and finally, it does get fairly noisy with Holland Tunnel being right next to the hotel.

We appreciated the hotels proximity to the PATH train which normally runs 24 hours a day (so it was before Hurricane Daisy), the Newport shopping center, and Hoboken with its lovely restaurants, and all of these within walking distance. The staff, overall, has been very friendly though over time, we feel, this has changed as well, where has Michael gone?

Now, we would no longer stay there for more than a night because of what was noted above but in a crunch this hotel is good value.

Last time we stayed, early November, there was no hot water on our arrival. We were not told about this at check in. After an eight hour drive, we would have really appreciated a shower. When we inquired over the phone, the front desk said it would be a matter of 30 minutes or so. The next morning, we still didn't have hot water. Again, the front desk said it would be a matter of 30 minutes or so. We checked out and drove another 7 hours without having been able to shower at all during our stay. When we were checking out, other guests (one couple had a young child) were complaining about the fact hot water was not readily available for the past 2 days. Regardless, of the reason for the lack of hot water, it should have been mentioned at check in, a realistic timeline for the repair should have been given, and people should have been given the choice to check in or not (without penalty given the circumstances). I don't think there was any bad faith involved but this situation was definitely poorly managed and has tainted our experience with this hotel.

We will think twice before going back but will not put this hotel on our black list yet.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Holland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holland Hotel

Also Known As:
Holland Motor Hotel Jersey City
Holland Motor Hotel
Holland Hotel Jersey City
Holland Motor Lodge
Holland Jersey City
Address: 175 12th Street, Jersey City, NJ 07302 (Formerly Holland Motor Lodge)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Holland Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Holland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Holland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.