We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Jersey City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Jersey City to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Exchange Place, Jersey City, NJ 07302   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wicklow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a view!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel for my husband and I as it was our first time visiting New York/ New Jersey and It looked like a lovely hotel on all the websites. The location really sold it to us with views of the Statue of Liberty and the Manhatten Skyline. I have to say that we were not disappointed, although we did request to change rooms when we arrived at the hotel. We got a room on the first floor but we were very uncomfortable with all the joggers going past our window. Now we live in the middle of the Wicklow Mountains so that would have wreaked our heads entirely!!!!! My advice to anyone staying at this hotel would be to request a room on a higher level, at least the 4th floor and you won't be disappointed. Anyway, the lovely receptionist promptly moved us to a higher floor and we were delighted. I'd highly recommend this hotel if you are taking a trip to New York yet you don't want to be in the madness of Manhatten 24/7. I have to congratulate all the staff in the hotel as being second to none in terms of their first class service and professionalism. Breakfast was super and again the service sublime!!!!! I also loved the fact that you could just pop down to the lobby and grab a starbucks coffee to go if you didn't want a full breakfast which could work out to be very pricey for an extended stay ( there is a great deli behind the hotel and a lovely deck to sit on and watch the world go by with your coffee and a croissant....). The Restaurant Vu is also super but quite expensive, having said that, we did feel like millionaires dining out with that view, well worth it for one night of the holiday. I'd like to recommend Bertucci's Brick oven for something cheap and cheerful otherwise ( fab food, wine, pizza and service on the Newport Path stop or a 15 minute walk north of the Hyatt, near the Westin Hotel). All in all a fantastic break in one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. Congratulations to the Hyatt on the Hudson, you did not disappoint!!!! We hope to be back, Joan and Kevin

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattJerseyCity, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jersey City, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Joan and Kevin,

Thank you for your amazing review! So happy that you felt like millionaires during your stay. Please contact us when you plan on returning so we can look for you!

Kind Regards,

Megan Gederian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,087
    542
    112
    58
    31
See reviews for
575
492
105
384
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wilmington, de
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Spectacular views of lower Manhattan with easy access into that part of the city. The hotel is situated right on the river and overlooks the World Trade Center and lower Manhattan. The public area of the hotel is nice and well kept. You can take in the views of New York from the restaurant, lounge or common area's.
Our room was on the 4th floor and had an obstructed view due to the buildings facade. We could look out and see partial views of the river towards the Statue of Liberty. Please do not be fooled about views of the Statue, it is so far in the distance it's very difficult to make out. The room itself was decent but far from great. The furniture was in ok shape but the windows were filthy making our already poor view even worse.
In the bathroom is where I had the biggest issue. There is a vent in the shower area and it had significant mold on it. The maid staff came twice during our stay and nothing changed. They clearly had no intentions of cleaning.
In addition to the mold, I ended up being served nearly raw pan seared chicken at dinner in the Vu Restaurant.
Overall, I was somewhat disappointed with my stay. The hotel is in a great location and has very simple access to lower Manhattan (World Trade Center, Wall Street) and as far north as 33rd st via the PATH right next to the hotel. The view cant be beat the the hotel can do better whether it's in their rooms or the dining experience. In the end, I would pay the extra money and stay up towards Central Park for the experience.

Room Tip: request a high floor, the 4th floor has obstructed views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

With the gorgeous location of this hotel, I has such high hopes. I'm a Hyatt loyalist, and I needed a place to stay 2 nights a week for 8 weeks during a project. I cancelled all future reservations here after my first stay.

First, the room was filthy. Permanent and disgusting stains on the carpet and sofa. The pillowcases were ~filthy~ and had to be changed. The remote to the tv barely worked. When my room was made up by housekeeping they removed all of my soaps and shampoos and left no new ones. Bizarre.

I had package messengered to me at the hotel. Took them an hour to find it and get it to me. Then they charged me a service fee. Disputed it and was told it would be removed. It was still on my bill at checkout.

The restaurant service was terrible at breakfast. Forgot an item I ordered and didn't apologize.

Not worth it. Too many other options.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattJerseyCity, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jersey City, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Westchestertravel,

I hate to hear that you have cancelled all your future reservations based off your first terrible experience. Please feel free to contact me directly at megan.gederian@hyatt.com so we can try to rectify the situation. We certainly do not want to lose you and would love to discuss more. Hope to hear from you soon!

Kind Regards,

Megan Gederian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BROOKLYN
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This first class hotel offers large rooms and courteous service. It's proximity to the PATH train (into Manhattan) is ideal. The lobby is a large open space and the ballroom on the top floor gives a great view of Manhattan. It's not cheap , but seems to be worth the few extra dollars.

Room Tip: rooms on the higher floors give a better view of Manhattan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed 4 nights over St. Patrick's Day weekend. As stated in the title, from check-in to check-out we had a great experience! We arrived earlier than planned and feared that we wouldn't be able to get in to our room to freshen up before hitting the city for St. Patrick's Day, but were plesantly surprised when not only was our room ready, but Megan G. at the front desk had upgraded our room! Off and running, the surprises kept coming. After having told Megan that this was or first trip away together after having been married and a newborn baby, she made the extra effort to ensure a memorable stay. Chocolate & champagne, turn down service, a beautiful breakfast and helpful ideas for activities and "must see's" during our stay, she really surpassed her responsibility to us the guest by truly making our stay a special one. The location of the property is ideal if you plan on spending time in NYC, as others note, it's a quick stop away on the Path; easy access to the city without the dowtown hotel price tag, a great value. We're already looking forward to making this an annual destination and will most certainly be staying with Megan G. and the rest of our new friends at the Hyatt Regency Jersey City! Thanks for the memories!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 7 nights at this great hotel so handy to the PATH trains at your door step and just across the river from downtown Manhattan . Rooms , food, service was suberb. Gym and pool was a great add on and meals that was supplied to the seminar I attended was just great. Would definitely visit again .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during a good friend's Wedding. We loved the location and the views, but the staff truly set it apart. Everyone was friendly and went out of their way to greet us. We had an issue with our room, given the wrong beds, but that was corrected instantly and with a smile after a quick call to the front desk. They also honored an early-check in since we were in the Wedding party and got to the hotel before check-in time. Specifically, Megan and Liza at the front desk were wonderful.

The staff was also superb throughout the Wedding, often asking if we needed anything and checking in on our entire group. The food and ballroom at the Wedding were also great. Breakfast the next morning was nice, but nothing special (except the pancakes!).

The bed was comfortable, room was clean, gym and pool were both very nice. I don't know many hotels that are truly worth $300+ a night outside the city, but at the rate we paid for the Wedding, we were very happy!

Room Tip: The higher floors on the front end of the hotel are best, but you'll have a decent/good view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Jersey City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Jersey City

Address: 2 Exchange Place, Jersey City, NJ 07302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Jersey City
#1 Green Hotel in Jersey City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
#1 Business Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Jersey City 4*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in July 2002, the Hyatt Regency Jersey City reflects Jersey City’s cultural renaissance and increasing value as a premier business center. Located in the heart of “Wall Street West” and just minutes away from New York City, this stunning property offers you the perfect venue for your corporate affairs while benefiting from the most remarkable skyline views Manhattan has to offer. Our full-service luxury hotel embodies the most modern elegance, unparalleled culinary experience, and outstanding service. Offering over 20,000 square feet of function space and 351 deluxe guestrooms with breathtaking views of Manhattan, the Hyatt Regency is the quintessential event location. The hotel is easily accessible by cab, ferry, or the PATH and is just a short ride away from Manhattan. Hyatt Regency Jersey City offers a combination of style and excellence that make for a truly memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Jersey City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Jersey City Hotel Jersey City
Hyatt Jersey City
Hyatt Hudson
Hyatt Regency Hudson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Jersey City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.