We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only so-so. Wouldn't go back” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Jersey City

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Jersey City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Exchange Place, Jersey City, NJ 7302   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Jersey City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Only so-so. Wouldn't go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Our family (two adults, two children) spent five nights here after Christmas, choosing it because it had good reviews + was a relatively good deal + was well situated for access to Manhattan. Overall, though, we were disappointed with the experience. Access to Manhattan via PATH is good, but is not easy for Newark Liberty Airport - $60 each way by cab or limo. The view is great but you only get it laterally out of the rooms, which either face north or south - and the Statue of Liberty is a long way off to the south. The decor in the rooms is tired and ours had no comfortable seats, just a rock-hard sofa that did not fit properly. The prices at the Vu restaurant are laughably high - about $85 for breakfast (although fortunately we had coupons for two people) and dinner entrees starting at $25. You are paying for the view, not the food. There was a refrigerator in the room but not much to choose from in terms of local supermarkets, and no liquor stores that we could find. We were paying high season rates (one night the room was nearly $490) so we were looking for value for money, and did not get it. (Why have hotels like this not yet discovered HDTV?) Staff were generally very good apart from obnoxious receptionist one night who objected to my criticism when they did not send anyone to fix the window in our room, which was letting in wind and rain on a very blustery night. In all a disappointment, and while we enjoyed our visit to NYC we would not stay here again, and instead would most likely pay a premium to stay in Manhattan proper, or even rent a short-stay apartment.

Room Tip: The higher the better; rooms on first floor have no privacy from sidewalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,499 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    868
    463
    89
    49
    30
See reviews for
443
397
87
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Varese, Italy
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Hyatt jersey City is fantastic whether you are visiting the NJ area or Manhattan - rooms size is bigger than average and are quite comfortable - you have a breathtaking view of uptown and downtown Manhattan from most of the rooms and from the walkway around the hotel - Path train is just outside the hotel entrance (Exchange Place station) just one stop to World Trade Center where you can catch MTA trains to uptown - Brooklyn and Queens - just fyi during weekends PATH trains are not as frequent as in weekdays - if you don't want to have breakfast in the hotel you have a few places for breakfast within walking distance from the hotel including Au Bon Pain almost across the street.
I felt absolutely safe going around the hotel even late in the evenings
This is really a place to stay and return - you'll enjoy it

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We spent Friday December 30 and Saturday December 31 at this beautiful hotel. Our room was very nice and the view was spectacular. My only complaint is that you don't even get a drink of water included with the room. On Saturday morning, we came down to the lobby to look for a cup of coffee. We found a coffee and tea station just outside of the restaurant. Upon closer inspection, we found (in rather small print) on the sign $3.00 per cup. Even most motels offer the guest a free cup of coffee. Our room had two small bottles of water that sported a sign "For Your Convenience" with another small print $3.00 sign on each bottle. Even wireless internet was $10 a day! I understand that the room rate is high because of the view. I also understand that the room rate is higher because of the Hyatt name. However, very small and inexpensive things go a long way toward a completely satisfied customer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front of the building looking toward the Manhattan skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Stayed at the Hyatt for a week this December over Christmas and trust me if I get my way this is the only place we will stay in the future.

Don't let the location put you off - although it's in Jersey City it's only 4 minutes on the PATH train to the World Trade Center area of downtown. So realistically it's closer to downtown than a lot of Manhattan hotels. Plus for the price you can get this hotel for you'd probably only get a 2* shoebox in Manhattan. Personally we enjoyed coming back to the tranquility of Jersey City at the end of the day and had a great night's sleep every night.

The public areas of the hotel were nice but not in a pretentious way. The only thing missing from the public areas is a Starbucks - I think it would do a good trade, especially if it was on the ground floor to catch commuters getting off the PATH.

The hotel room itself is top notch - contemporary and comfortable, tastefully decorated, spacious and a bed you just don't want to get out of! Our room overlooked the Financial District skyline and the Statue of Liberty and the view was breathtaking. There are always potential improvements however; coat hooks or a rack by the mirror in the entrance hall and lights in the closet would be useful. And I agree with the previous poster about the location of the sink. And free wi-fi would be useful. But if they are the only possible improvements they are clearly doing something right!

The USP for this hotel though is the service and we struck lucky with the service we received from Kevin before we even set off for our holiday. No request was too much and no question too silly. The service we received from other staff too from front desk to the bellmen to the housekeepers was excellent.

So overall it was a top notch stay, in a top notch hotel with top notch service. Try it - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Try Newport Mall just one stop on the PATH or 3 stops on the light rail. No tax on clothes under $12...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, PA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Can't say enough about this hotel. Great location (next to the PATH to lower Manhattan), spectacular customer service, and very clean, nicely-appointed rooms. Also, had a great breakfast at the Vu restaurant, overlooking Manhattan. Loved it and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

My family enjoyed another amazing visit to the Hyatt,Jersey City. The staff is friendly and caring. We go to this hotel twice a year, for a New York City visit. We have been doing this for years, and always stay at the Hyatt. It's the best hotel in the region,hands down! We tried the Grand Hyatt in NYC 2 years ago. They could not come close regarding quality and service,compared to the Jersey City Hyatt. The management of this hotel should be proud of the accomplishment of running a first class,beautiful hotel.
A stay in Jersey allows quick access to NYC,without the noise and hassle. Stay at the Hyatt Jersey City,you wont regret it!
Fondly,
BG.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the NYC skyline view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I don't know where to start!

Before I even arrived, I spoke to a gentleman from the front desk and he gave me tips on how to get to the hotel with using the PATH and subway system. It was so helpful! He even took my needs into consideration when finalizing the hotel.

When I did arrive, the directions on how to get to the hotel were spot on! Our room wasn't ready but then we went to the restaurant to eat. The food was not anything to rant or rave about. To be honest, I would have been ten times happier walking down the street to something else. My boyfriend says thta the best things that the restaurant/room service was that they didn't mess up on the toast or dry cereal. Obviously a joke but to be honest, save your money and find something to eat elsewhere! The room's view was so breathtaking and even the city's scape from the hotel was to die for. The views were spot on with the pictures found here. The room was comfortable and the bed almost was too comfortable that it was hard to get out of it to get to the city. The bathroom was okay but could have been more. I wasn't too pleased with the thin walls but it's okay. The service all around was great. They were willing to give advice and the nice small things like opening doors, making sure we were doing okay and what we needed were spectacular.

One night, my boyfriend and I wanted our left over foods heated up but since they have a strict policy about not reheating things, we found out they give out microwaves for the time of stay. If I had only knew! I would have requested! So note to fellow travelers! MICROWAVE! :D

On the feedback from my boyfriend - One night he went down to the bar to grab me some foil, plates and fork/knives. He said that they gave him horrible service and pretty much ignored him until he came up to someone. After talking to someone, he sat there for about ten minutes and when they returned, they said that they didn't have foil. Now, let's be honest here -- foil? I know, it sounds bizzarre that we'd request it but it was to keep our food wrapped. And for them to say that they didn't have any was just a stupid lie. So obviously he wasn't pleased with that one particular experience but overall, we really enjoyed ourselves here. The views were to die for and the PATH system is literally out the door.

I'd come back if I would, if I could. It was worth every penny!

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room. I think these are located on the bottom floor. Take time to talk to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Jersey City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Jersey City

Address: 2 Exchange Place, Jersey City, NJ 7302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jersey City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
#1 Green Hotel in Jersey City
#1 Family Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Jersey City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in July 2002, the Hyatt Regency Jersey City reflects Jersey City’s cultural renaissance and increasing value as a premier business center. Located in the heart of “Wall Street West” and just minutes away from New York City, this stunning property offers you the perfect venue for your corporate affairs while benefiting from the most remarkable skyline views Manhattan has to offer. Our full-service luxury hotel embodies the most modern elegance, unparalleled culinary experience, and outstanding service. Offering over 20,000 square feet of function space and 351 deluxe guestrooms with breathtaking views of Manhattan, the Hyatt Regency is the quintessential event location. The hotel is easily accessible by cab, ferry, or the PATH and is just a short ride away from Manhattan. Hyatt Regency Jersey City offers a combination of style and excellence that make for a truly memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Tingo, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Regency Jersey City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Jersey City Hotel Jersey City
Hyatt Jersey City
Hyatt Hudson
Hyatt Regency Hudson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Jersey City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.