We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply pathetic” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Jersey City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Jersey City to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Second St, Jersey City, NJ 07302   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Jersey City
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Simply pathetic”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Lets start with the good bit...the price at about $230 nightly was reasonable.The room,bath and living area were okay, but the sheer lack of courtesy and decency shown by the front desk was disgusting. As a platinum member of PRIORITYCLUB, I was horrified when I was advised i was going to be charged half a day's rate for a checkout for even a minute past two pm ...Checkout was supposed to be twelve midday! And this on a Friday afternoon with the hotel facing a quiet weekend! I had a broken shoulder and ribs from a ten-day-previous riding accident so was in no position to assert myself physically with the smooth-talking front desk manager either, he deserved more than my quiet acceptance of his lousy terms! And this after staying three nights without a single courtesy afforded to me for my membership status! NO cleaning service, no fresh towels or soap, no refill of coffee sachets, no person at the front desk much of the time! This is quite sincerely the WORST hotel I have ever lived at, the management attitude ensured that! A blot on the otherwise good name of IHG hotels!! I have reviewed tons of hotels on TRIPADVISOR without ever giving a terrible rating,( or even a poor!) this is a sad first for me!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear gammo,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Jersey City.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    136
    47
    18
    17
See reviews for
59
86
21
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minsk, Belarus
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Ordinary hotel with almost nothing to remember, good point is to have studios with kitchen, but it's all positive about it. The rest is pretty ordinary staff. In some rooms there is a great view on Manhattan, but that's all good about it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Oleg O,

I appreciate your feedback about our property. I am pleased that you found the kitchen in our rooms to be good for your needs. We take all feedback seriously, and your additional comments will be used to further enhance on what we can offer.

Again, many thanks for the review and we hope you give us a chance in the future to host you again.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St louis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stay at this hotel at least once a year. I like the convenience of being able to park the car and walk half a mile to the PATH station and be in Manhattan in 10-20 minutes. Takes some of the hassle of city traffic and parking off. Rooms are always clean and staff is courteous.
The only thing is that they started charging $10 a day for parking but it is still a steal compared to what you have to pay in the city to park.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for three days in May, and we where very satisfied with the hotel.

The rooms are big, and it is not a problem to stay 3 people in the room. There is a small kitchen and a refrigerator, which is very nice as well.

The rooms where clean and the reception was helpfull if we had questions.

The only thing people should be aware, is that it is very diffecult to get a taxi from New York to New Jersey. Some of the Taxi we asked, where not willing to go over the bridge. Therefore I suggest that you land in Newark in stead of LaGuardia as we did.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitges, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I'm not sure I want to share this hotel with anyone else because it may become too popular and make getting a room difficult!
Anyway I stayed twice, once for two weeks and then a second time for a weekend. On both occasions I found it a perfectly good hotel. Large rooms, well maintained, good internet service.
Staff all pleasant and helpful and the cupboard for snacks and drinks very useful. It's location is excellent. 5 minute walk to the train to NYC, the journey takes 5 minutes and leaves you at the WTC.
During the day there are a lot of places to eat, as the area services the business community in and around the riverside business district. A bit sparcer at night, but still adequate with a Chillis around the corner and a great Irish bar 7 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindon, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at the Candlewood Suites Jersey City for an extended stay of 8 days! The service was great and the folks at the front desk did a great job of taking care of whatever need I had. The property is within walking distance to the PATH for very easy access to NY!

The suite was very nice and had a feel of not just a room but an apartment!

This was a great value!

The property was also very secure!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Ohio
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Candlewood. The desk staff were all very friendly and helpful. You do pay $10/night parking for short stays. There is mixed web site information, some saying it is free, but that is not true. Parking is easy and convenient. The hotel is in a nice area and is very quiet. Not much activity here during the weekend. We were able to check in early and the room was spacious and clean. We had basic kitchen utensils and dishes and a 4cup coffee maker. Full size refrigerator had an automatic ice maker. We had a large desk with 3 chairs, a recliner and a fold-out sofa bed with a separate bedroom (suite). Nice flat screen TV. Large bathroom with full tub/shower. Housekeeping does not come daily, which was fine for us. We had plenty of towels to last 2 days. Very roomy accommodations for the NY/NJ area. No pool or restaurant on premises.

Room Tip: There is an AP grocery very close to stock up the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Jersey City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Jersey City

Address: 21 Second St, Jersey City, NJ 07302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Jersey City 2*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home bedding collection.The Candlewood Suites Jersey City is the only all suites hotel in the heart of the financial district of Jersey City, 214 suites, 8 floors, conveniently located near Harborside Financial Center, Exchange Place and Newport Financial Center. If New York City is your destination, the hotel is conveniently located between Exchange Place and Pavonia Path Stations. These trains will take you directly to midtown or lower Manhattan. Each spacious suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over-sized executive desk with free high-speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and VCR. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. Whether your trip is for business or pleasure, our hotel can offer you the best value in the Jersey City and New York City area.Check out our special 'City Pass Package', which focuses on making your New York vacation more affordable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Jersey City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Jersey City Hotel Jersey City
Candlewood Jersey City
Jersey City Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Jersey City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.