We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Jersey City

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Jersey City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Second St, Jersey City, NJ 07302   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Jersey City
København
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for three days in May, and we where very satisfied with the hotel.

The rooms are big, and it is not a problem to stay 3 people in the room. There is a small kitchen and a refrigerator, which is very nice as well.

The rooms where clean and the reception was helpfull if we had questions.

The only thing people should be aware, is that it is very diffecult to get a taxi from New York to New Jersey. Some of the Taxi we asked, where not willing to go over the bridge. Therefore I suggest that you land in Newark in stead of LaGuardia as we did.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    125
    44
    17
    15
See reviews for
50
75
19
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sitges, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I'm not sure I want to share this hotel with anyone else because it may become too popular and make getting a room difficult!
Anyway I stayed twice, once for two weeks and then a second time for a weekend. On both occasions I found it a perfectly good hotel. Large rooms, well maintained, good internet service.
Staff all pleasant and helpful and the cupboard for snacks and drinks very useful. It's location is excellent. 5 minute walk to the train to NYC, the journey takes 5 minutes and leaves you at the WTC.
During the day there are a lot of places to eat, as the area services the business community in and around the riverside business district. A bit sparcer at night, but still adequate with a Chillis around the corner and a great Irish bar 7 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindon, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at the Candlewood Suites Jersey City for an extended stay of 8 days! The service was great and the folks at the front desk did a great job of taking care of whatever need I had. The property is within walking distance to the PATH for very easy access to NY!

The suite was very nice and had a feel of not just a room but an apartment!

This was a great value!

The property was also very secure!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Ohio
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Candlewood. The desk staff were all very friendly and helpful. You do pay $10/night parking for short stays. There is mixed web site information, some saying it is free, but that is not true. Parking is easy and convenient. The hotel is in a nice area and is very quiet. Not much activity here during the weekend. We were able to check in early and the room was spacious and clean. We had basic kitchen utensils and dishes and a 4cup coffee maker. Full size refrigerator had an automatic ice maker. We had a large desk with 3 chairs, a recliner and a fold-out sofa bed with a separate bedroom (suite). Nice flat screen TV. Large bathroom with full tub/shower. Housekeeping does not come daily, which was fine for us. We had plenty of towels to last 2 days. Very roomy accommodations for the NY/NJ area. No pool or restaurant on premises.

Room Tip: There is an AP grocery very close to stock up the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hubby and I visited NYC in September 2012 and we searched long and hard for a good place to stay that was easily accessible to Manhattan but away from the craziness of NYC! We lucked out with Candlewood Suites Jersey City. Only a 5 minute walk from the PATH station which gets you right into the world trade centre stop in about oohhhh 5 minutes - awesome. Great, clean, safe area to stay and parking is included which is fabulous. the rooms are spacious enough and are all suites so you can bring your own groceries if needed. The only flaw I found was that whoever had been in our room before us had cooked some very strong smelling food which made our room smell pretty terrible the first day but I dont see how the hotel could have done anything about that! We will be back here on our next visit :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed at this property between Christmas and New Year. The heater in the room went out and it took a full day to fix it, Ended up getting sick from being so cold. I noted to IHG, Holiday Inns parent company who asked me not to post a negative review and allow them a few days to take care of . I agreed and waited for them to reply. April and nothing from them.

A frustrating issue I had was the manager had a deal cut with a private shuttle company who did not use a meter. I asked the front desk for a metered taxi and only got the private driver. When I confronted the front desk staff why they would not get a metered taxi for me, they said it was the manager who decided. The difference in fare between the metered cab and the private car was about 40% per trip.

The room was clean.
Front desk staff were great.
Location to transit to NYC is ideal.

The manager needs to be contacted by IHG and reviewed.
IHG needs to keep their commitment to contact me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear raymondo2012,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. We are pleased you appreciated our front desk staff and the location of our hotel. I am sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed there during Easter week-end. Hotel is very clean, modern and comfortable. For stays that are shorter than a week they will not clean the room but you can get clean towels any time if you ask for it. Given the price of the room, we do not mind having no housekeeping for a few days. Hotel is less than 10 minute walk to Newport Path station that takes you in manhattan in less than 15 minutes. Walking is safe as it is a very nice area. There is also a grocery store on the way to the Path. We will definitely be back to this hotel that is very conveniently located. Free and secure parking is also a major advantage.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites Jersey City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Jersey City

Address: 21 Second St, Jersey City, NJ 07302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Jersey City 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home bedding collection.The Candlewood Suites Jersey City is the only all suites hotel in the heart of the financial district of Jersey City, 214 suites, 8 floors, conveniently located near Harborside Financial Center, Exchange Place and Newport Financial Center. If New York City is your destination, the hotel is conveniently located between Exchange Place and Pavonia Path Stations. These trains will take you directly to midtown or lower Manhattan. Each spacious suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over-sized executive desk with free high-speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and VCR. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. Whether your trip is for business or pleasure, our hotel can offer you the best value in the Jersey City and New York City area.Check out our special 'City Pass Package', which focuses on making your New York vacation more affordable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Candlewood Suites Jersey City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Jersey City Hotel Jersey City
Candlewood Jersey City
Jersey City Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Jersey City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.