We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice accommodations for short or long stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Jersey City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Jersey City to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Second St, Jersey City, NJ 07302   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special New York Savings!
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Jersey City
Ohio City, Ohio
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very nice accommodations for short or long stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Candlewood. The desk staff were all very friendly and helpful. You do pay $10/night parking for short stays. There is mixed web site information, some saying it is free, but that is not true. Parking is easy and convenient. The hotel is in a nice area and is very quiet. Not much activity here during the weekend. We were able to check in early and the room was spacious and clean. We had basic kitchen utensils and dishes and a 4cup coffee maker. Full size refrigerator had an automatic ice maker. We had a large desk with 3 chairs, a recliner and a fold-out sofa bed with a separate bedroom (suite). Nice flat screen TV. Large bathroom with full tub/shower. Housekeeping does not come daily, which was fine for us. We had plenty of towels to last 2 days. Very roomy accommodations for the NY/NJ area. No pool or restaurant on premises.

Room Tip: There is an AP grocery very close to stock up the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    136
    47
    17
    16
See reviews for
57
84
20
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ancaster, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hubby and I visited NYC in September 2012 and we searched long and hard for a good place to stay that was easily accessible to Manhattan but away from the craziness of NYC! We lucked out with Candlewood Suites Jersey City. Only a 5 minute walk from the PATH station which gets you right into the world trade centre stop in about oohhhh 5 minutes - awesome. Great, clean, safe area to stay and parking is included which is fabulous. the rooms are spacious enough and are all suites so you can bring your own groceries if needed. The only flaw I found was that whoever had been in our room before us had cooked some very strong smelling food which made our room smell pretty terrible the first day but I dont see how the hotel could have done anything about that! We will be back here on our next visit :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed at this property between Christmas and New Year. The heater in the room went out and it took a full day to fix it, Ended up getting sick from being so cold. I noted to IHG, Holiday Inns parent company who asked me not to post a negative review and allow them a few days to take care of . I agreed and waited for them to reply. April and nothing from them.

A frustrating issue I had was the manager had a deal cut with a private shuttle company who did not use a meter. I asked the front desk for a metered taxi and only got the private driver. When I confronted the front desk staff why they would not get a metered taxi for me, they said it was the manager who decided. The difference in fare between the metered cab and the private car was about 40% per trip.

The room was clean.
Front desk staff were great.
Location to transit to NYC is ideal.

The manager needs to be contacted by IHG and reviewed.
IHG needs to keep their commitment to contact me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear raymondo2012,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. We are pleased you appreciated our front desk staff and the location of our hotel. I am sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed there during Easter week-end. Hotel is very clean, modern and comfortable. For stays that are shorter than a week they will not clean the room but you can get clean towels any time if you ask for it. Given the price of the room, we do not mind having no housekeeping for a few days. Hotel is less than 10 minute walk to Newport Path station that takes you in manhattan in less than 15 minutes. Walking is safe as it is a very nice area. There is also a grocery store on the way to the Path. We will definitely be back to this hotel that is very conveniently located. Free and secure parking is also a major advantage.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Had a chance to stay in New York for three days at the end of a business trip. When browsing for a convenient hotel I finally picked the Candlewood Suites as my home base this time. Location, room rate and the fact that Housekeeping only cleans the room once a week (if you stay less than seven days they don't come at all) were the main draws.

After I arrived at JFK it took me less than one hour to reach the hotel by public transportation. Got lucky with the room the friendly receptionist assigned me, which was on the seventh floor and had a magnificent view over the Hudson River and Midtown Manhattan! So I was able to say Goodnight to the Empire State Building every night.

The room was clean, large and comfy and included a nice kitchen block, big fridge, desk, lazy boy chair and a queen size bed. The pillows were just a bit too soft, but it did not affect a good night's rest.
The hotel is right in the middle of two Path Train Stations, which either brings you to the WTC area or to Midtown in no time.

Overall a very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, NJ
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel to visit friends in North Jersey and attend a festival in NYC. The price, proximity to public transportation, and ease of parking drew us to this property. The GPS got us a little turned around a couple of blocks from the hotel, but we were pleased to find a secure lot in a nice part of town. Check-in was a breeze and we took the elevator to our second floor room. The hotel was very clean and at a comfortable temperature. The room had a full-sized refrigerator, dishwasher, two-burner stove, sink, a coffemaker, hood microwave, and cabinets with pots, pans, plates, etc. There was a full-sized closet across from the kitchenette. Next to the kitchenette was a desk area with two chairs, plenty of table space and HDtv in the corner. The queen bed was across from the desk. There were two small tables on either side of the bed. There was also a large easy chair next to the bed that was somewhat awkwardly placed. The bathroom was rather spacious with plenty of counter and storage space and a full-sized tub. There was a wall unit heater/air conditioning which we didn't need to use since the hotel was at a comfortable temperature.
We wanted to find a local bar with a friend. The Hyatt by Exchange Place fit the bill. When we got back, we were looking forward to a restful night of sleep. However, various noises kept us from sleeping. The toilet flushed very loudly and often took long to fill. The woman next door was very loud and talked non-stop. People were talking in the halls. If the people above us or next to us ran the water, we heard it loud and clear. As you can see, the walls are way too thin in this place. This is a shame because it is convienently located near public transportation and just minutes from the greatest city in the world. I would stay in this part of Jersey City again, but would likely consider another property first.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Jersey City, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear DSXM,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review highlighting not only the good but also the opportunities to improve. It is pleasing to know that you had an efficient check in and the room that you were given was at par with your expectations. However, I would like to apologize for the noise levels on site that negatively affected your stay. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Recently, I took a quick weekend trip to NYC. Since it is so expensive to stay in NYC, we decided that staying on the Jersey side was a better option. It is conveniently located about a 15 min walk from the PATH (Jersey's subway) that will connect you directly over to NYC. It isn't more than a 20 min ride but you have to make sure that you catch the right train and time or you'll end up sitting there longer than you want. The hotel has a great shuttle that will drop you off at the station too! We got there late Friday night and the staff was beyond great. Helpful, friendly, smiling and especially it being in a big city I really appreciated these small things. Our room was clean and the sheets were new. There were two things that were not top notch. The AC/Heat is a window unit so it is very loud.. but no unbearable so we just turned it off at night since the weather was nice. That way we could open the window - easy fix. The ONE thing that was an issue is the kitchenette..I think the residents before us must have a great time cooking. When we first walked in the room we were hit with the smell of curry. Maybe i am not used to the smell but it was overwhelming. I didn't ask to switch a room because the staff was so friendly and it was something I could bare with since we weren't in our room for more than sleeping. When i came home all my clothes smelled like curry! YUCK. Other than that small little hiccup. It is a GREAT PLACE TO STAY. The area is safe and I don't feel unease walking around late at night. I would totally stay there again (if the PATH was easier) and definitely as a non-curry smell room!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Jersey City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Jersey City

Address: 21 Second St, Jersey City, NJ 07302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Jersey City 2*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home bedding collection.The Candlewood Suites Jersey City is the only all suites hotel in the heart of the financial district of Jersey City, 214 suites, 8 floors, conveniently located near Harborside Financial Center, Exchange Place and Newport Financial Center. If New York City is your destination, the hotel is conveniently located between Exchange Place and Pavonia Path Stations. These trains will take you directly to midtown or lower Manhattan. Each spacious suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over-sized executive desk with free high-speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and VCR. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. Whether your trip is for business or pleasure, our hotel can offer you the best value in the Jersey City and New York City area.Check out our special 'City Pass Package', which focuses on making your New York vacation more affordable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Expedia, Venere, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Jersey City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Jersey City Hotel Jersey City
Candlewood Jersey City
Jersey City Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Jersey City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.