We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Jersey City Newport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Jersey City Newport to your Saves list
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   540 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Jersey City
New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room size was good, location is just great becouse its next to PATH station that takes you to New York city easily. There are many restaurants in the area where the hotel is located. Nice hotel, highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    178
    47
    9
    10
See reviews for
173
92
24
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here with my fiancé for a NYE party we attended in New York. This hotel is right off the holland tunnel so it is a good choice compared to most hotels in Manhattan. The bed was comfy, the room was spacious. Although the bathroom counter was small, it served its purpose for my toiletries and make-up. I would stay here again for the price and location.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here to partake in some New Years Jersey Festivities. The room quality was just ok. It really was all about the location.

Pros
1. Amenities in room. Nice Kitchen, tv selection
2. Location, walking distance to waterfront view, restaurants
3. Transportation, near light rail, exchange place, and ferry boats

Cons
1. Rooms were a bit run down. There are signs of wear and tear. Dirt.
Giant hole in the wall behind our bed.
2. Staff was young, a bit immature, and also non existent . We called a few times and went downstairs and there was no one around ?? Staff members were seen a few times chatting up with friends/guests, socializing. However we were in and out so didn't care. Just noticed.
3. Noise. Walls are paper thin. Not sure what kind of guests this place attracts. Shady characters standing around in the hallways, jumping, running. Bizarre.
4. Heat was too dry and strong. An Oven. Turned off we froze...so it was really a no win situation.
5. Not worth the rate. The rate is a luxury rate. This is more of a motel.
6. Bathroom. No water pressure. A drip.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at the Courtyard Jersey City Newport.

As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the deficiencies listed in your evaluation. We have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel team so that improvements can be made as needed.

Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Jersey City.

Sincerely,
John Rojan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here two nights while visiting NYC. Two rooms for my wife, kids, and wife's mom. The hotel itself was clean, modern, quiet, with very nice and helpful staff. The hotel itself was very nice.

What we did not expect is how nice the surrounding area was and convenient to restaurants and public transportation. The surrounding area has a number of very nice apartment buildings - high end. When we went walking at night we were pleasantly surprised at how safe it was and how much activity there was around (other people walking with their kids, dogs...). There were a number of restaurants within walking distance or via a short drive if you prefer, a great walkway near the river to enjoy a night-time view of the city, grocery store, drug store.... In addition it is literally right next to the Path train station so it is super easy to get to NYC.

We really enjoyed this area and would absolutely stay here again when visiting NYC. Although slightly expensive, when compared to other hotels in the area and NY hotels, it was a good value.

Room Tip: Any room is fine. Note that there are not views of the city from the hotel, but within a short walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I currently live in NYC, but I stay at the Courtyard Jersey City Newport when my parents visit for the holidays (location is great, friendly Guest Services Team, and I can get to work via the PATH in 20 mins!). BUT this visit was less than perfect! We encountered such a horrible experience with the valet overnight representative on Dec.24th- Dec.25th. I could not believe how rude and disrespectful this man was when we informed him we were not using the valet services for that night. He even told us, we were "free" to leave the lobby and go to our room. On another note, a HUGE THANK YOU to Darnell for being so welcoming on Christmas morning and taking charge of the situation!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Jaret P,
Thank you for letting us know about your experience with our valet service, and also our staff especially Darnell.
Please accept my sincere apology for the behavior of our valet attendant. We have spoken to their management company to make sure the matter is addressed and not to happen again.
We value your business and hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
John Rojan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

I wasn't really impressed with the rooms having sink outside….No views from the room except some apartment complex behind, outdated rooms but the staff at reception made it for all. Staff were soft spoke courteous with human touch. They stored my luggage for a day without any fuss.

free wifi was a benefit and a small sweet shop in the hotel for water chocolates etc, Location is great full of shopping, next to path and some very good restaurants. Good indoor pool can be helpful with kids.

The guy at the restaurant counter shouldn't be in front, he is rude. I don't remember his name.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab, Utah
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Stayed here as a layover for the Thanksgiving Holiday and arrived very late. Staff was very accommodating. I knew it was near the PATH train but didn't realize literally next door. Such an easy walk with luggage. Staff were great - including the Night audit and front desk staff. I had left my laptop (being so tired) in the room and got a call literally within 45 minutes of checking out.

Well laid out lobby and generous size rooms. A great option oberall.

Room Tip: Higher Floor always better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Keith B,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us here at the Jersey City Courtyard by Marriott. So glad you had a great stay and took advantage of our proximity to New York City and local attractions.
We appreciate your business and hope to see you again on your next trip to our area.
Sincerely,
John Rojan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Jersey City Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Jersey City Newport

Address: 540 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Jersey City
#3 Business Hotel in Jersey City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Jersey City Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Jersey City Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Jersey City Newport Hotel Jersey City
Jersey City Marriott
Jersey City Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Jersey City Newport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.