We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and a convenient location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Jersey City Newport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard Jersey City Newport to your Saves list
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   540 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Jersey City
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good value and a convenient location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We did a fair bit of research into hotels before visiting New York and this hotel seemed like a good choice. Well we weren't disappointed !!
We had a family size room for two adults & two teenage kids which consisted of two double beds & a sofa bed with a decent sized bedroom. the room was clean with towels etc. being replaced daily & bedding every other day unless you request otherwise. The reception staff were very polite & helpful, they also seemed to have good knowledge of the area & Manhatten, (thanks Ashley).
This worked out at about $200 per night for all of us, which, compared to the cost of a similar hotel on Manhatten island, is very good. Less than 100 metres from the hotel is the PATH train, which is another underground network that will take you into Manhatten as far as 33rd street (Grand central station is on 42nd street), a return trip will cost you $5 each & is a quite a quick journey. I'll do a seperate review of the train, so as not to bore those who don't want or need to use it.
Walk a little bit further around the corner and you'll find some nice restaurants and bars near to Jersey city harbour. The walkway alongside of here has probably one of the best panoramic views of Manhatten island that you'll ever see, especially at night.
It's only a half hour cab ride to Newark airport which cost us $45 at 5am.
Finally, my only gripe was that the air conditioning unit was a bit noisy at times & the pillows weren't very comfortable but hey for this price you can't have everything.

Room Tip: The views aren't stunning,(infact it was mostly of a multi storey carpark) but there were some v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    173
    43
    9
    10
See reviews for
169
85
23
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Just stayed here on NYC marathon weekend since just about all hotels were booked up in Manhattan. We always stay at Marriott hotels since we belong to their rewards programs and never have been disappointed, until now. The heat and A/C unit woke us up every time it started up. Needless to say we got very little sleep. Walls are paper thin as well so we heard tv in the next room and door slamming in the hotel hallway.
The room was very nice and large and location of hotel very convenient but it's all for naught if you can't get any sleep in your room.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay here with us.
We are so sorry to hear that you had problems with the A/C Heating in your room and noise from other occupants. I wish you had brought the issues to us right away so that we may have had the opportunity to address and resolve immediately or relocate you to another room.
We appreciate your business and hope you will try us again in the near future.
Sincerely,
John Rojan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This was a great price, with everything you need for a good night sleep, and took us only 10 minutes to get there from Greenwich Village. We usually prefer a hotel in NYC, but being there at NYU parents weekend, made it a challenge to find something. This hotel was surprisingly short drive from our parking location, had a very nice room, with really everything we needed (try to find a spacious 2Q bed room in NYC). For breakfast we found a great Cafe nearby, and loved the neighborhood. I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Easy drive to Newark, and just across the tunnel from NYC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The location of this hotel is great, a few steps out of the main entrance and you take a PATH train to Manhattan. Compared to the NYC hotels the rate is very convenient.

The room was spacious and clean, breakfast was excellent and the service is quite good (we asked a Lady at the Reception if they had a scale in the Hotel and she looked us like if we were asking something crazy!!)
Despite this the our stay was good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay here with us.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our convenient location to New York City and the local attractions. Please accept my sincere apology for the member of our staff reaction when you asked for a scale. I will certainly review with all of them proper procedures to follow in the future.
We appreciate your business and hope you will visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
John Rojan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We selected this hotel since the hotels in Manhattan are really expensive. Our selection was really right. The price was very reasonable and the facility was very good. The shopping center many restaurants are in is walking distance, very convenient. The room was also big and cozy. My husband and daughter enjoyed the indoor pool. The PATH traing station is just beside the hotel, one-minute walk (and it takes only 15 minutes to the midtown of Manhattan!) It became a good memory in New York.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our hotel. So glad you and your family enjoyed our convenient location with easy, convenient access to New York City, the Newport Mall and all the local restaurants with walking distance of the hotel.
Please come and see us again on your next visit to the area.
John Rojan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loysville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great hotel with excellent views of Freedom Tower. Located right next to Path Train and can be in Manhattan in 10 minutes. Safe walking area and lovely to see yachts on water and walk next to dock. Room was on top floor and was very clean and newly renovated. Staff friendly and breakfast was delicious and reasonably priced. Will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon Michigan
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We checked in with my group of 11 people - 6 rooms. Once again John and Rose are running an excellent hotel. John the GM has got everything under control and the hotel is as clean and nice as you could possibly want. Rose the asst GM ... she is amazing. You come down the first morning and order a coffee and the next morning she calls you by name and wants to know if you want that same coffee today. We needed a place to store our luggage for the last day and rose gave us a conference room for the day.

I love this hotel for its cleanliness, its staff, the room size, and the location. The staff will do whatever they can to make your stay perfect. If they can, they will. The rooms are very large compared to NYC hotels and you can easily have 4 in a room without feeling cramped. But the best part of the hotel is the location. You come out the front door turn to the left, walk around the bushes, and there is the entrance to the PATH station. This is the PATH that you can take either to World Trade Center or to 34th st Manhattan. The station at World Trade is right at Vessy St and a short 4 blocks from the entrance to the 911 Memorial. The 34th street station is 34th at 7th and a short walk to the Empire State Building. Take the N/QR train uptown 1 stop and your at times square. How convenient is that.

This hotel has a wonderful café where you can get some breakfast, lunch or dinner. Prices are a bit high but then your in NYC. The pool is nice but we never have time to get in it because we are too busy enjoying NYC.

The neighborhood around the hotel doesn't seem to be there at all. You walk on the streets around this hotel after dark and you probably wont see many people at all. There are no bars, no resturants, nothing but a lot of parking garages. Its extremely quiet in this area in the evening.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor. you can see the NYC Skyline from the high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, General Manager at Courtyard Jersey City Newport, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Geogh3,
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback about your group recent stay here at the Jersey City Courtyard by Marriott. Rose, I and the staff are so glad that we were able to meet your expectations about the hotel and all the amenities that we have to offer such as our convenient location to New York City. Let us know if we can do anything in advance of your next visit so that we can make you stay even more memorable.
John Rojan
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Jersey City Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Jersey City Newport

Address: 540 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Jersey City
#3 Business Hotel in Jersey City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Jersey City Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Jersey City Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Jersey City Newport Hotel Jersey City
Jersey City Marriott
Jersey City Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Jersey City Newport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.