We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fire & Oak - Jersey City

Fire & Oak - Jersey City
479 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310
2016109610
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fire & Oak - Jersey City is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 508 Restaurants in Jersey City
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Marin
Transit: Light Rail stops just outside our Restaurant at the Newport Mall
Bayonne, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was my second time at Fire & Oak and I loved it both times. I went on a Wednesday night and the place was packed and very lively. Great bar crowd too. Our server was great and she really knew the menu very well, including the different types of wine from different regions. The food was AMAZING!!! I started with a fabulous salad and had the hummus sampler for dinner. I can not eat certain things, (butter, oil, and dairy ) and they accommodated my every need. Valet parking was a huge plus! Loved it here!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    62
    15
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food! Awesome sushi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Go here for lunch with coworkers - dozens of times at this point. Great service. delicious Food. Tried everythong on the menu at this point. Burgers and salads are fresh and Always great. Hesitated to try sushi here - incredie stuff! One of the best sushi ever. The pastas are good but not as good as yhe other stuff. Never had a bad meal. Expensive for lunch though - most lunches will run you about 17-20$.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Gets busy at lunchtime”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were on holiday with the family and went for a late lunch, glad we didn't go earlier as it was rammed at 1pm, but soon emptied out. Mainly full of local business people.

Food was okay, nothing brilliant, but tasty; my little lad (4) wasn't so keen on his burger as it was very chargrilled. Had a lovely bottle of red from parcel 41 (which was go good I picked some up at a local supermarket for back in the hotel when the kids where in bed).

Service seemed pretty good. We all shared the humour platter as a starter and we really liked it but needed to order some more bread as there wasn't enough (which we were charged for).

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, CT
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great service and tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This place does not feel like a hotel restaurant. The service is top notch and the ambiance is great. All of the food is quite good, though in keeping with the higher end Westin hotel, portions are on the smaller side. That being said, Fire & Oak holds it's own against other restaurants of this caliber in the area, despite being in a hotel, and I think the attentiveness of the staff puts it ahead of other restaurants nearby. I'll be going back and you should give it a try if you're in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
700 helpful votes 700 helpful votes
“Affordable Westin restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is one of the most affordable restaurants at a Westin Hotel that I have dined at. They have a REAL happy hour from 4-7 pm M-F that includes $4 Beers, $5 Cocktails! Can't beat that!!

The restaurant seems a bit small for a hotel restaurant but that also adds to the charm. I had the pleasure of dining here on a busy Friday night but it felt intimate. The service was very good and I did not feel rushed at all. I really enjoyed the seared ahi tuna but I wish it was served with less spice (not 7) and without the oily soba noodles. Other than that, the apps were good and the selection and price of wines was very reasonable.

I will def come back here when in the area.

FYI- Self-Parking is complimentary up to 4 hours in the garage next door. Just ask the the hostess for a validation ticket upon entering the restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fire & Oak - Jersey City also viewed

 

Been to Fire & Oak - Jersey City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fire & Oak - Jersey City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.