We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite steakhouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edward's Steak House

Edward's Steak House
239 Marin Blvd, Jersey City, NJ 07302
201.761.0000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Edward's Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 508 Restaurants in Jersey City
Price range: $25 - $75
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: York & Grand Streets
Transit: Grove Street - Path Station Marin Blvd - Light Rail Station Colgate Ferry Terminal - NY Waterways
Description: Edward's Steakhouse is located in an 1870's townhouse. Very cozy bar area and 2 dining rooms upstairs are nicely appointed.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Our favorite steakhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Yeah, yeah, we go into the city to the big steakhouses, Yes, I've been to Peter Luger's and the others. But I have to say, Edward's NY sirloin is consistently, consistently perfect. They do it right. I love the atmosphere, the old brownstone feel, the beautiful old bar downstairs. Service is always knowledgeable, friendly, and attentive. The wine list is good; it changes and they always have a big bold chewy red to recommend to us. There's no reason to go anywhere else for an awesome steak. (yes, I am local). I can't really speak to other menu items, because when we go, we always get the steak, even if we go in with the intention of trying something else.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delavega1, Owner at Edward's Steak House, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. It's nice when customers go out of their way to compliment instead of complain. We will continue to ensure that all your future "Sirloins" meet your expectations !!! Thanks you and look forward to seeing you again soon...

Dan de la Vega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    9
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“not all that..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

After reading other reviews they must be local. Atmosphere was ok, nothing special. I am in the area couple times a year but the 1st time at dining here. Definitely a neighborhood charm. Wine list was good. Service was slow, as was getting dinner. After all the tables that came in after us got their dinners first, locals, the server couldn't do enough for them. I had to ask why we still hadn't been served. No apologies. Dinner was good but if there is a next time I will bring my "local" friends.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Closest thing to a real NY Steakhouse experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

There is no shortage of cavernous, overpriced steakhouses boasting their NY heritage as validation for thier obscene egos and prices. This is the real deal except it is as much about quiet , unassuming, almost speakeasy like elegance as it is about the excellant food and service. From the moment you walk into the ground floor dark and homey bar area filled with all the really important people, you know this place is going to be different than all the posers out there. Food is everything it should be and service to match. I am a big fan of the Steak Au Poirve ar Raouls' in NY's West Village but this place on the opposite bank of the Hudson is comparable and a comparative bargain. If in Jersey City or nearby, Don't miss this place.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delavega1, Owner at Edward's Steak House, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
I am glad you enjoyed your meal at Edward's Steakhouse and I wanted to thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review of my restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again at Edward's Steakhouse!

Daniel de la Vega
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Best Steakhouse in JC and Beyond!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

I live 1 block from Edward's and have dinner there about once every 3 months. Great Service, fantastc food, you really can't go wrong.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Traditional, reliable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

I'm not particularly fond of the atmosphere at Edwards, but the quality of the food is always very good. The dishes are prepared to perfection and the service is really attentive. The wine list is quite good and overall I always had a great experience every time I ate here.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edward's Steak House also viewed

 
Jersey City, NJ
Jersey City, NJ
 

Been to Edward's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edward's Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.