We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay for vacation in New York City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Jersey City, Newport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Jersey City, Newport to your Saves list
The Westin Jersey City, Newport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   479 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay for vacation in New York City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The trip to New York city and stay at The Westing Jersey City was fabulaous. The hotel is just "wow" for kids. The pool was so relaxing after day long trip in New York City. Food, Drink and room service is great... planning to stay then go for it...my 2 thumbs up.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    365
    75
    38
    22
See reviews for
314
250
70
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. Is an easy way when you want to go to New York City. The hotel is a very short walk to the Path train that will take you into 33rd street (Times square) or into the world trade center (lower Manhattan). The rooms were spacious and clean, love the bed. Staff was very attentive. and overall had a pleasant stay. We would stay again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhumika B, Executive Assistant at The Westin Jersey City, Newport, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hello MariaMercedez,

Thank you for taking the time out to review our hotel. As we strive to achieve excellence in customer service, it is wonderful to receive such encouraging comments from our valued guests, and I will be sure to share your comments with our staff. I am delighted to hear that our hotels location perfect for your trip to NY/NJ.

Thank you for your loyalty. We look forward to welcoming soon for refreshing stay and providing you with the consistent service you deserve.

Sincerely,
Bhumika Bharucha
Executive Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel and I would definitely return again. Upon arriving (early nonetheless) I was given a friendly greeting and allowed to check in immediately. The public areas of the hotel were very clean and modern looking. The elevators are secured with your room key and operate very efficiently. Upon arriving at my room I found it to be clean and proper. The bed was amazingly comfortable and the size of the room was good. The location of the hotel is great, with a PATH train station one block away that allows easy access to Manhattan.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhumika B, Executive Assitant at The Westin Jersey City, Newport, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hello ptconner,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at hour hotel. As we strive to achieve excellence in customer service, it is wonderful to receive such encouraging comments from our valued guests.

We look forward to welcoming soon for refreshing stay and providing you with the consistent service you deserve.

Sincerely,
Bhumika Bharucha
Executive Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights beginning August 1, 2014 with my husband and two sons. We were greeted by the valet staff who immediately took charge of our vehicle and luggage. Check in was quick and easy. Within minutes of our arrival we were greeted with a welcome tray of cake pops (which the kids loved), a dessert glass of mixed nuts, bottles of water and a bottle of Cabernet. Our room was a standard room with two double beds. It was spacious and clean. We had a fridge which made it nice for keeping waters and sodas cold. The bathroom was clean with a rain shower. My only complaint regarding the rooms was the lack of vanity lighting in the bathroom. The lightening was not conducive to applying make-up...this may sound trivial but it is something that is important to me. The pool was a lap pool but a decent size and my younger son thoroughly enjoyed himself. The pool was clean and there were always fresh towels available. There was a whirlpool tub as well. I was not impressed with the cleanliness of the whirlpool and in fact, my husband said it was rather dirty when he finally witnessed someone cleaning it. We did not eat any meals in the hotel. The restaurant looked attractive but I cannot say that I saw many people eating there. There is also a bar that never had more than a few people at it. There is a mall adjacent to the hotel and well within walking distance that we went to for shopping and for dining as we were traveling with youngsters. It is also within walking distance to the PATH which provides great service, traffic free into NYC. We were impressed with the attentiveness of the staff and overall had a pleasant stay. We would stay again.

Room Tip: rooms above the 6th floor (we were on the 15) require you to insert your key in the elevator in orde...
See more room tips
Green Features: Think it is a great idea! If you choose to NOT have your linens changed while you are there, you either receive rewards points or a 5.00 off voucher for meals in the restaurant. You simply hang the placard on your door handle before 2:00 a.m.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights July 27-30/2014. We arrived early and could not check in early as they were sold out the night before however we were able to park and go about our travels. The hotel is a very short walk to the Path train that will take you into 33rd street (Times square) or into the world trade centre (lower Manhattan). The staff were helpful and friendly. There is a grocery store just a couple blocks away and a great path/trail along the water front. The rooms were spacious and clean but only have double beds instead of queen. This is something the hotel should change as the rooms are large enough to accommodate. The cost of a coffee in the morning was crazy $2.80 at a grab and oh station in the lobby. We never ate any meals at the hotel so cannot comment on the food. The pool is a large lap pool, only 4 feet deep, but very warm water. The hotel is also adjacent to a large mall where there is no tax on clothing or shoes! The biggest downfall for the hotel is there is no free wifi in the rooms. For a luxury hotel and the price of the rooms this should be included. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhumika B, Executive Assistant at The Westin Jersey City, Newport, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hello Michelle B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time at our property. It is also good to hear that you were able to take advantage of the local area and the hotel amenities. Please know that I have forwarded your comments about the free Wi-Fi to our management staff so that they may review it further.

We look forward to welcoming soon for refreshing stay and providing you with the consistent service you deserve.

Sincerely,
Bhumika Bharucha
Executive Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The Westin is a wonderful place to stay, the quality is outstanding as are the staff. The room we had was a king with an extra bed for our son. The facilities were high standard. The hotel had a gym and pool which we didn't use but it looked good even though the pool did look small. Its based in Jersey and has great transport links to Manhattan, We were on room only but the hotel had restaurant which looked good. There were many restaurants and cafes around. Just behind there was a shopping mall with a great variety of shops. All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in January 2011. We couldn't fly out as originally planned due to snow storms on the east coast so could only arrive two days late.

So my firsts direct dealing with the hotel was to see if I could get a refund on the two days we couldn't get there. And I was very happy when I got my full refund with no hassle.

So we eventually arrived after a late long drive from Washington. The reception was pone through the night so was able to book in at 1:30am!

Absolutely shattered we were taken up to our room which we were more than satisfied with, and an enormous bed, which I believe May have been a Caesar! Being 6'3" tall, this was a very welcome sight! All three nights we slept very comfortably!

We only had a room so cannot comment on food. However we did venture into the restaurant one night and had a fantastic steak!

The staff were all very good. Very welcoming and a helpful.

The hotel is well positioned for New York in my opinion. To avoid paying sky high prices we decided to stay here and it worked for us. We didn't have everything on our doorstep but that was no issue. The metro was only over the road and we were into the city very quickly. And that runs pretty late too.

Also, around the back of the hotel is a good shopping mall. As we found out, Jersey taxes are lower so it was possible to pick up some bargains there.

We would certainly return again. Loved our time in New York and this hotel certainly made our stay special.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jersey City
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 11 in Jersey City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,972 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#3 of 11 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 stars 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 11 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#5 of 11 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 stars 488 reviews
1.1 mi away
W Hoboken
W Hoboken
#1 of 1 in Hoboken
4.5 of 5 stars 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Jersey City, Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Jersey City, Newport

Address: 479 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jersey City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
#4 Family Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Jersey City, Newport 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Jersey City Newport is close to Newark Liberty International Airport, Wall Street, Manhattan's World Financial Center, Greenwich Village; Union Square; Midtown Manhattan, and Times Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Westin Jersey City, Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Jersey City, Newport Hotel Jersey City
Westin Jersey City Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Jersey City, Newport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.