We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Jersey City, Newport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Jersey City, Newport to your Saves list
The Westin Jersey City, Newport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   479 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The Westin is a wonderful place to stay, the quality is outstanding as are the staff. The room we had was a king with an extra bed for our son. The facilities were high standard. The hotel had a gym and pool which we didn't use but it looked good even though the pool did look small. Its based in Jersey and has great transport links to Manhattan, We were on room only but the hotel had restaurant which looked good. There were many restaurants and cafes around. Just behind there was a shopping mall with a great variety of shops. All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    365
    75
    38
    22
See reviews for
314
250
70
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in January 2011. We couldn't fly out as originally planned due to snow storms on the east coast so could only arrive two days late.

So my firsts direct dealing with the hotel was to see if I could get a refund on the two days we couldn't get there. And I was very happy when I got my full refund with no hassle.

So we eventually arrived after a late long drive from Washington. The reception was pone through the night so was able to book in at 1:30am!

Absolutely shattered we were taken up to our room which we were more than satisfied with, and an enormous bed, which I believe May have been a Caesar! Being 6'3" tall, this was a very welcome sight! All three nights we slept very comfortably!

We only had a room so cannot comment on food. However we did venture into the restaurant one night and had a fantastic steak!

The staff were all very good. Very welcoming and a helpful.

The hotel is well positioned for New York in my opinion. To avoid paying sky high prices we decided to stay here and it worked for us. We didn't have everything on our doorstep but that was no issue. The metro was only over the road and we were into the city very quickly. And that runs pretty late too.

Also, around the back of the hotel is a good shopping mall. As we found out, Jersey taxes are lower so it was possible to pick up some bargains there.

We would certainly return again. Loved our time in New York and this hotel certainly made our stay special.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohave Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed here in June, 2014. The room was expensive and not that grand. Parking is 28-33 per night. The beds we're comfortable. The room wasn't very clean. The phone and toilet seat we're broken. Not as impressive as I would've anticipated. I probably wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room with the view of the Manhattan skyline. It was beautiful, but not really worth what yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhumika B, Executive Assitant at The Westin Jersey City, Newport, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hello Jeannine D,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Feedback is our best opportunity to hear the voice of the customer, and to learn the areas in which we can improve our service. Please feel free to email me at bhumika.bharucha@westin.com so that we I can look into your stay further.

Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel to experience the service you deserve.

Sincerely,
Bhumika Bharucha
Executive Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is my second stay at Westin Jersey City. Another excellent experience. Large, comfortable room. Check in was a breeze. Elected to self park in garage behind hotel. Cost $23 as opposed to Valet which is $32 but allows in-out privilege. Room was large, quiet and comfortable. Excellent rainfall showerhead and large fluffy towels. If you don't mind the fact that you will need to take a train into NYC, it is an excellent option.

Room Tip: A room with view across the Hudson River to NYC is nice but will cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhumika B, Executive Assistant at The Westin Jersey City, Newport, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hello SalsaJohn,

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our property. As we strive to achieve excellence in customer service, it is wonderful to receive such encouraging comments from our valued guests, and I will be sure to share your comments with our staff.

Thank you for your loyalty. We look forward to welcoming soon for refreshing stay and providing you with the consistent service you deserve.

Sincerely,
Bhumika Bharucha
Executive Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel itself is very clean and organized with good service. At the same time you have an amazing view to lower Manhattan. Higher the better for views of Manhattan. Don't expect nice skyline view from every room. Will have to pay extra for that but it is worth it for special occasions. Staff was courteous and professional. They don't have dedicated free parking for guests so be ready to pay for parking which is $20+/day for Valet which will afford you anytime in/out privilege.

Room Tip: Ask for the Newport Premium with views of Manhattan -- Will have to pay for the view but definitely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhumika B, Executive Assistant at The Westin Jersey City, Newport, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hello afroze,

I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time at our property and you were pleased with the service. It is wonderful to hear such positive feedback from such valued guests, and I will be sure to share your comments with our staff.

We look forward to welcoming soon for refreshing stay and providing you with the consistent service you deserve.

Sincerely,
Bhumika Bharucha
Executive Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Nice hotel to stay if you want to stay near public transport to NYC. The first room we were assigned had dirty and wet carpet so we had to change our room. They don't have dedicated free parking for guests so be ready to pay for parking which is $20+/day. Don't expect nice skyline view from every room. Staff was courteous and professional. Overall, you could find nicer hotel in cheaper price nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhumika B, Executive Assistant at The Westin Jersey City, Newport, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hello Navdeep V,

Thank you for taking the time out to review out hotel. I am delighted to read that overall you stay met your requirements; however, I am disappointed to hear that the carpet in your room was not up to the standard upon your arrival. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that this may have caused you.

Thank you for your loyalty. We look forward to welcoming soon for refreshing stay and providing you with the consistent service you deserve.

Sincerely,
Bhumika Bharucha
Executive Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I always stayed in NYC during my visits but this time I made the best choice by coming to Jersey City and staying in Westin.

The location is great, why?
It's a clean, modern neighborhood
Next to the subway (15 mins to hear of Manhattan)
Next to water taxi which I definitely suggest to try
Next to the mall, if u have lady with you, it might help.. No TAX

The hotel itself is very clean and organized with good service. At the same time you have an amazing view to lower manhattan. Im attaching the photo I took from my room in the 8th floor. Go higher and get even better views.

We didnt try the food or other services so I dont comment on those.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhumika B, Executive Assistant at The Westin Jersey City, Newport, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hello Alithegreat,

Thank you for taking the time out to review our hotel. I am delight to hear that a wonderful time at our property and, you were able to enjoy the amenities of the hotel. As we strive to achieve excellence in customer service, it is wonderful to receive such encouraging comments from our valued guests.

We look forward to welcoming soon for refreshing stay and providing you with the consistent service you deserve.

Sincerely,
Bhumika Bharucha
Executive Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jersey City
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 11 in Jersey City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,972 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#3 of 11 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 stars 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 11 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#5 of 11 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 stars 488 reviews
1.1 mi away
W Hoboken
W Hoboken
#1 of 1 in Hoboken
4.5 of 5 stars 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Jersey City, Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Jersey City, Newport

Address: 479 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jersey City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
#4 Family Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Jersey City, Newport 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Jersey City Newport is close to Newark Liberty International Airport, Wall Street, Manhattan's World Financial Center, Greenwich Village; Union Square; Midtown Manhattan, and Times Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Westin Jersey City, Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Jersey City, Newport Hotel Jersey City
Westin Jersey City Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Jersey City, Newport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.