We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room.....was not ready for us” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Jersey City, Newport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Jersey City, Newport to your Saves list
The Westin Jersey City, Newport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   479 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful room.....was not ready for us”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Beautiful room, tub was amazing with a beautiful skyline view. Only thing was room was not ready for us, towels were dumped in the tub with no washcloths, garbage can was on the counter with garbage in it, found a hot cup sleeve behind the tv. Otherwise was very happy.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhumika B, Executive Assistant at The Westin Jersey City, Newport, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Greetings Mordechai G,

Thank you for taking the time to review hour hotel. I am delighted to hear that you had good stay at our hotel. However; I would love to look into the part where your room was not ready for you. I would love to hear from your. Please feel free to email me at bhumika.bharucha@westin.com so that we I can look into your stay further.

Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel to experience the service you deserve.

Sincerely,
Bhumika Bharucha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    334
    68
    35
    21
See reviews for
288
230
64
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cincinnati, ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Wow. This is one of those nightmare situations that you see in comedies where everything gets worse and worse and more and more complicated, only this is actually happening to me and I don't know what else to do but try to vent and maybe get to the hilarity point. I booked two rooms at this hotel for New Year's Eve. One room I needed for 5 nights and was told if I prepaid it I could get a junior suite for $1620 total for 5 nights. The 2nd room I only needed for 3 nights, no discount for prepaying so that was supposed to be a standard hold reservation. Westin charged my credit card $4360.00 which is full rack rate on both rooms for 5 nights. This was AFTER I received an email confirmation with all the correct details and rates! When I went online to check the reservation, the confirmation number didn't show what was on the email. I talked with Billing, Reservations, Customer Service and even the hotel property's on site manager. No one seems able to adjust this charge to what I was supposed to be charged. I have been told that only one person can amend this reservation and adjust the rate and that person is out sick - indefinitely. When I asked customer service rep what I should do about checking in or not, his response was: "not our problem". How can this be the way a 4 star property handles this type of issue?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Seven of us (family of 5 and grandparents) stayed at the Westin for 3 nights during Christmas while in NYC to go see the Lion King and The Radio City Christmas Spectacular. Our two rooms were big, clean, and very comfortable. The children enjoyed swimming in the pool and relaxing in the hot tub located on the fifth floor after a long day in the City. The Path is next to the hotel and a round trip ride to NY costs $5/person. There are some nice restaurants that are walking distance to the hotel (Bertucci's, Confucius Chinese Bistro) for families on a budget. We avoided the high price of breakfast at the hotel by walking a short distance (5 min) to a grocery store called Shop and Rite located behind the Westin. There is an elegant hotel and a safe choice for families visiting NYC.

Room Tip: Shop and Rite (grocery store) is located right behind the hotel (5 min walk). Great way to get food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhumika B, Executive Assistant at The Westin Jersey City, Newport, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Greetings Viviane V,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Feedback is our best opportunity to hear the voice of the customer, and to learn the areas in which we can improve our service. I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Bhumika Bharucha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The hotel is located just across from the southern tip of Manhattan and easily linked by metro transport to downtown. The station is in 5 minutes walking distance and you can enjoy the spectacular skyline from the hotel room. The hotel is modern, staff is friendly and the rooms comfy. The area is safe, but in the evenings somewhat deserted. The hotel is right next to a large mall which makes for great shopping. The whole place is a lot more relaxing than Manhattan hotels and good for a stay with kids. There is a parking garage adjacent to the hotel which is also significantly less expensive than Manhattan parking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I love this hotel, 'cause u've got a clean and beautiful room with an amazing view out of the window. You just have to walk 5 minutes to the path. The service is very well and nice. I had great days there. When i'm travelling to New Jersey again I would take this hotel one more time.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

It was a fair bit cheaper than staying in Manhattan. Convenient to the city being near the PATH train. Pretty much the usual generic modern decor. The room was reasonably clean. However, there were a couple of noise issues: 1. Noises in the hallway were easily heard in the room. 2. There must be a bar/club across the street that plays music quite loudly on the weekends (not sure about weeknights). It was quite a nuisance and audible several floors up with the windows shut. If you stay here, ask for a room that is NOT on the south side of the building. Also, avoid breakfast. The prices were very high and the quality would have been disappointing at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the south side of the building to avoid noise from bar/club across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhumika B, Executive Assistant at The Westin Jersey City, Newport, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear TH,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regrettable that your experience with is was less than satisfactory due to the noise from the proximity of the restaurant, VB3, located across from our property. We have been in communication with the restaurant’s management for some time regarding this issue and have recently reached a satisfactory solution. Our guests should no longer be disturbed by the music coming from the venue.

Thank you again for you feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for a more enjoyable experience.

Sincerely,
Bhumika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Nice big room (1805) clean on entry, view over Macy's. Was asked if I wanted to 'go green' and forgo daily housekeeping. Really??? REALLY???? Part of the joy of hotels is coming back to a nice tidy room. Anyway, I asked to keep the service and all that seems to get you is a replenishment of toiletries and new towels. Otherwise, no tidy room. Everything exactly where I left it, including hotel bathrobe casually left on chair. Very disappointing. Although have a suspicion that the 'go green' is more about the hotel saving on housekeeping than saving the planet. The phone was sticky, not nice. Nice bar area. asked for kettle as only coffee machine in room, all supplied quickly, no fuss. Quite a good hairdryer. V convenient for path to ny. business trip, given the housekeeping will try elsewhere next time. There's a Marriott 2 blocks away. Folks mentioned expensive breakfast. It's 18$. Really comfortable bed and bedding.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Jersey City, Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Jersey City, Newport

Address: 479 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
#2 Business Hotel in Jersey City
#4 Family Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Jersey City, Newport 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Jersey City Newport is close to Newark Liberty International Airport, Wall Street, Manhattan's World Financial Center, Greenwich Village; Union Square; Midtown Manhattan, and Times Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Starwood, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your The Westin Jersey City, Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Jersey City, Newport Hotel Jersey City
Westin Jersey City Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Jersey City, Newport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.