We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Jersey City, Newport

Save Saved
You added The Westin Jersey City, Newport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Jersey City, Newport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   479 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Jersey City
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Good value outside NYC. Views are better at the W Hoboken but for the price the westin is fine. Got complimentary upgrade to a higher floor room. Clean and very spacious rooms for the NYC area. Bathroom was also spacious. Did not eat here but heard the bar is nice.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    471
    291
    62
    32
    20
See reviews for
244
201
59
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Longwood, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I, along with our 5 and 21 month old sons, stayed at the Westin Jersey City in for a weekend in mid-June. A fire alarm went off at 6:15 am on Sunday morning, and guests of several floors (including mine, the 14th) had to evacuate their rooms. So my husband and I proceeded to walk down 12 flights of stairs carrying our sons, who had been peacefully sleeping until that time (not always the case with the 5 month old!). We then sat outside on the curb with the babies for the next hour, watching the fire trucks come and the firemen enter and exit the hotel. We realized at some point that the lobby was apparently not closed, but by that time all of the seats in the lounge were taken. Not once did we see a hotel representative come outside to speak with the guests to apologize, give an update on the situation, offer water, a breakfast croissant, or ANY COURTESY WHATSOEVER. My husband at one point did go inside and get 2 clean diapers for the boys from the concierge (we did appreciate that they were available), and we changed them out of their dirty overnight diapers using bar napkins on the sidewalk outside of the hotel.

We were given the OK by the firemen to go inside after about an hour, and they informed us as we were in line to go up the elevators that the alarm was cause by an air conditioning unit on the 12th floor which had burned out (a hotel maintenance issue). Once again, no explanation or apology from the hotel staff. I expected a credit on our bill for the inconvenience, but did not receive a copy of the bill under the door the night before checkout to verify whether that would be the case, and when I checked out Monday morning and inquired about a credit with the hotel representative assisting me, she said no credits were being offered. I did not have time to ask to speak with the manager at that point, so I told her I would reach out to hotel management to express my unhappiness with the situation upon my return home.

I e-mailed the hotel outlining this experience the next day after returning home, and requested a response. I received none. I called the hotel a week later and spoke to the assistant to the general manager of the hotel. She denied receiving my e-mail (although she pulled up one I sent to the same e-mail address with an inquiry prior to the trip). She acknowledged that the situation was poorly handled, and stated that there is a plan to retrain staff to respond to situations like this one, but that no compensation was being given to the guests for their inconvenience.

I travel fairly often both personally and for work, and have stayed at Westin hotels a number of times with good experiences. I am extremely disappointed in this case - I did not expect such a cavalier response from a Westin hotel to a SIGNIFICANT inconvenience to their guests. We will certainly not be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie T, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin Jersey City, Newport, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Melissa R.,

Thank you for your feedback. The safety of our guests is of the utmost importance to us. We do apologize for the delay in communicating to guests when to return to their room until we were confident it was safe to do so. We appreciate your feedback and will take it into account while improving our procedures. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to redeem your faith in our service. Please feel free to contact me with any further comments at leslie.thompson@westin.com.

Sincerely,

Leslie Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponce, Puerto Rico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Easy Acces to the hotel, Available Transportation, Room are big enough,Bathroom with all amenities. Excellent Conference rooms and the snacks were delicious.
Complimentary w-ifi in most cases The staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Westin is the first choice when visiting the NY/NJ Metro area. The staff, service, food, and lodging are top notch in the area. I recommend the premium room with the NY City skyline view and soaking tub!! Excellent location for access to NY or NJ.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have excellent NY City views and soaking tub with separate shower and double sinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just back from a recent business visit to New Jersey, stayed in the Westin NJ for 4 nights. I found it a really nice hotel perfect for our groups needs The manageress Karen we dealt with could nt have been more helpfull. The rooms were beautifully furnished, big with a very comfortable kingsize bed. We were lucky to have the rooms that look out over the Hudson and New York City and the views from the 16th floor were just amazing esp at night when the new Freedom Tower is all lit up. The location of this hotel is perfect for anyone who wants the peace and quiet of a beautiful neighbourhood but then is only a short train or cab ride to the heart of the big apple. The breakfast was very tasty and plentiful and the serving staff were attentive and very plesant. Anothe plus for this hotel is its location to the new marina and the large shopping mall next door complete with Macys etc etc.
If I was returning to NJ I would definately stay in this hotel but with the heart of NYC beating so close I would have to go the extra and stay in Manhattan. But it is an excellent hotel and gets top marks from me.

Room Tip: look for a room on a high floor that over looks the Hudson with the NYC as a back drop well worth th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie T, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin Jersey City, Newport, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear ciaran m,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am delighted to hear that you and your group enjoyed your stay and the service we provided. I will be sure to forward your comments to our Management Team so that they may acknowledge the staff on a job well done.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon for another enjoyable stay.

Sincerely,

Leslie Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja, Nigeria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I don't like the fact that we were charged occupancy /tourism at the rate of $2.41, state tax at the rate of $16.88, city/local tax at the rate of $14.47 and additional $2.00 that we know nothing about . All these taxes were charged on daily basis. They should have told us there are hidden charges. Otherwise, the room was neat and comfortable. Debbie was very nice and helpful, but the concierge was rude.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie T, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin Jersey City, Newport, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at our property. Please allow me to address your concerns. I am sorry if you feel you were charged incorrectly for your stay. In addition to the room rate, by state law, we are required to collect a total of 14.0 Percent for applicable taxes as follows:

Occupancy:
6.0 Percent Per Room Per Night

Municipal State:
1.0 Percent Per Room Per Night

Nj Sales Tax:
7.0 Percent Per Room Per Night

These charges are collected for State tax purposes and are not retained or utilized by the hotel. I hope this information is helpful in explaining why you were charged as you were.

I would also like to apologize if you felt you were not treated well by someone on our staff. Please be assured that I have forwarded your comments to our Management team to review in order to ensure better service in future. I have also forwarded your comments regarding our Front Desk agent to her Managers so that she may receive the recognition she deserves for a job well-done. Thank you again for your feedback. I hope we have the opportunity welcome you back soon for a more enjoyable stay.

Sincerely,

Leslie Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is my 2nd trip to this hotel for business and will not stay anywhere else. I made a mistake and booked at another location for a previous trip where I had some time to myself (you can read in one of my other reviews) and the Westin turned what started as a horrible trip into a fantastic one.

Location - It's situated very close to the PATH making it easy to get to and from both the Train and Airport. It's close enough that walking to it with my luggage was not a big deal. There are also a lot of restaurants, bars and a shopping mall within walking distance making it a very good location to do everything without having to go far. As a bonus, it's right across from the NYC skyline making for some amazing sunsets.

The Hotel - Check In was quick, pleasant, informative and they generally have enough people on staff to keep there from being a wait. They have a bar in the main lobby, little store by the elevators in case you forgot anything or wanted something small.

The rooms are terrific! Updated, stylish, nice bathroom, comfortable bed, new LED TV's, and clean (important). The soaps & shampoos are all great (I generally use my own when I travel because I don't care for most at the hotels) and the fact that I'm bothering to even mention it says something. They also offer a service where you can get workout clothes/shoes on loan so you can workout without having to bring your own stuff, which if you travel like me and only bring a carry, it's a blessing to not bother with extra shoes, and extra sets of workout clothes for each day.

I could go on and on about this hotel because I was really impressed with the staff, the hotel itself, amenities and location but I'll let you judge for yourself. As I mentioned in the title, when I have to go to Jersey City for business, this is the only hotel I stay at.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room overlooking the Hudson
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Jersey City, Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Jersey City, Newport

Address: 479 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jersey City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
#4 Family Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Jersey City, Newport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Jersey City Newport is close to Newark Liberty International Airport, Wall Street, Manhattan's World Financial Center, Greenwich Village; Union Square; Midtown Manhattan, and Times Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Starwood, Amex, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Westin Jersey City, Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Jersey City, Newport Hotel Jersey City
Westin Jersey City Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Jersey City, Newport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.