We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location! Decent service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Jersey City, Newport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Jersey City, Newport to your Saves list
The Westin Jersey City, Newport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   479 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Jersey City
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location! Decent service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was our second stay at the Westin in Jersey City. First, I have to say we LOVE this property for it's proximity to Manhattan and ease in getting wherever you want to go. We also love the size of the rooms and cleanliness.
For this trip we scored a great rate (non-refundable though) by using the promos of buy 2 nights, get the 3rd free. The hotel is in a good, clean and safe part of Jersey and extremely convenient to important things such as the PATH (Jersey's subway), mall shopping (within two blocks) and many eateries and coffee shops. Depending on what side of the hotel you're on - there are great views of the Manhattan skyline and the river.
The beds are comfortable and the room size is wonderful. You won't find a room this large for a great price in any of the hotels near Times Square or much of Manhattan.
We were impressed by the fitness room and size of pool - even more impressive is for $5 per day you can basically "rent" New Balance brand workout clothes and shoes if you forgot your gear or just decide to use the facilities on the whim. They offer complimentary ear buds and towel service in the workout room with many machines and treadmills to use.
Wi-fi is not included with your room which is unfortunate as most hotels of this calibur include that in their rates.
Our issues this visit revolved around poor billing and follow-up when we raised the issue. To take advantage of the promo our room was prepaid. Upon arriving and checking-in, we were charged again. When we called the front desk to find out why the second charge we were told it was for incidentals which we fully expected however not to the tune of $150 per night - especially when the room was already fully paid for. When we questioned why the large amount we were told by the front desk that the "bank must've entered in the wrong hold amount". We work in the banking industry so we knew this was false. The hold placed on cards is whatever amount the hotel keys in. The manager was supposed to correct the charge and give us a follow-up call. We never heard anything again. As of today we still have two charges on our account and no follow-up. This issue and the shock of a bottle of hairspray costing $16.95 were the only negatives to this stay.

Pros: Location, ease of getting into Manhattan, room size, views of skyline, walking distance to mall, Starbucks, various eateries, cleanliness and again, location - all of these are the reasons why we wouldn't hesitate to stay here.

Cons: pretty outrageous prices in their sundries store, overcharging our card with nothing said or done to rectify the situation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie T, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin Jersey City, Newport, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear gina34,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. Although I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your overall stay I am sorry that you experienced an issue with your billing. I would like the opportunity to investigate this further so that I may make sure you receive an explanation regarding the charge you mentioned. Please feel free to contact me directly at leslie.thompson@westin.com to discuss further.

I look forward to assisting you further.

Sincerely,

Leslie Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    367
    75
    38
    22
See reviews for
316
253
70
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakton, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Had the pleasant experience of staying at the Westin in Newport while visiting family. Instead of staying in Manhattan tried NJ this time and was a very cost-effective and pleasant experience. Our room overlooked the Hudson River and had a beautiful view of the Freedom Tower. Easy access by PATH over to Manhattan. So we were able to easily access the City without the exorbitant cost. Also, we staying on points which were a fraction of the number of points needed by night as compared to the Westin in the City. Room service was on time and pleasant and staff were top rate. Even the NJ taxi drivers to and from Newark Penn Station were friendly! This is where we will be staying in the future when we visit NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Freedom Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secaucus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a university 80th Gala reunion with Dinner and room stay outlandish hotel! It was such a memorable time with all amenities at hand.Medical necessities are at hand if any personal emergencies arise! The hotel staff are there to please. Our room had a cathedral ceiling effect
which made the room so much more spacious and roomy! Spa products are given in a basket for all guests with cost of room. There is a classiness to the whole hotel and it gives you a feel of an old art deco movie from the 1940 era! What a Dream! A Definite Westin to enjoy the New York Skyline and a boat marina close by! You can rent a boat to sail! A nearby mall for shopping is just down the same street..Macy's and JCPenny among the many! A great choice
of restaurants within the the hotel is available which are there also for room service! A full gym
is also located within the premises! Enjoy a quiet stay that are,within its internal stylish sophisticated walls but a lively time in this modernized port city of New Jersey right across a short ferry trip to old New York! Have a Grand time!
'

Room Tip: A view of NYC on a higher floor1
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie T, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin Jersey City, Newport, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Anna C,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and our signaure Heavenly Spa amenities we provide for our guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon for another enjoyable stay.

Regards,

Leslie Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Splurged on the upgraded Newport room and couldn't be happier. The view was spectacular, the entire NYC skyline was on display and was just magnificent at night. Overall, the service was top-notch and the amenities were high quality. It was great to stretch out in the standalone tub and relax to the NYC skyline at night, an unforgettable experience, even for just the one night. Staff was friendly and attentive and the hotel was conveniently located nearby NYC, but not at NYC prices.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie T, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin Jersey City, Newport, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear shoe416,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our property. We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay in one of our Premium Newport King rooms. The Premium rooms' skyline view and spacious bathroom featuring the standalone soaking tub are a wonderful escape at the end of a busy day of business meetings or sightseeing for guests who reserve them.

We hope you will have the opportunity to enjoy another relaxing stay soon.

Sincerely,

Leslie Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions and have never been disappointed. The rooms are clean and spacious, and the staff from check in to check out are always friendly and helpful. The location is perfect just outside of the Holland tunnel, you can drive into NYC or take the path which is a short walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie T, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin Jersey City, Newport, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Nick K,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. We take pride in our property and customer service and are glad to see that our efforts are worth it.

Thank you for your loyalty as a guest and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon for another enjoyable stay.

Sincerely,

Leslie Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

There are 2 things going for this hotel: location and great concierge staff.

It is a 4 minute walk to a low-volume PATH station (Newport). Nothing much in the vicinity. But there is a Shop Rite supermarket 500 meters behind the hotel.

Concierge staff were very helpful and friendly.

Downside was poor, terrible front desk service. We checked in at 3 pm and front desk said there was no room available, although we had reservations. We came back an hour later, and still no room! We asked what time the room would be available and was given a shrug.

Expected better service and manners for the rates they charge.
Will not go back. For the same price, you can rent an apartment in the area with 2 baths, washing machine, kitchen, 3 bedrooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie T, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin Jersey City, Newport, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Marino-7,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. On behalf of the General Manager, I apologize for the disappointing experience you had upon arrival. Please know that what you experienced was not typical of our high standard of customer service. I have forwarded your comments to our Management team to review so that we may avoid similar occurances in the future.

Please feel free to contact me directly if you have any further comments or concerns at leslie.thompson@westin.com.

Sincerely,

Leslie Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the UFC fight that was in town recently. Checked in at 11am and the room was already ready for us. Super clean, nice bathroom, fridge, and iPod dock.

We really enjoyed the hotel bar and the restaurant, Fire & Oak. Outstanding food their. And they had Chimay on tap, which is rare. Try the banana foster French toast. WOW.

Every staff member we came in contact with wa pleasant and helpful. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jersey City
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
Hyatt Regency Jersey City
#1 of 11 in Jersey City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,978 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Jersey City
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
Courtyard Jersey City Newport
#3 of 11 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 stars 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
Candlewood Suites Jersey City
#6 of 11 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Holland Hotel
The Holland Hotel
#5 of 11 in Jersey City
4.0 of 5 stars 489 reviews
1.1 mi away
W Hoboken
W Hoboken
#1 of 1 in Hoboken
4.5 of 5 stars 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Jersey City, Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Jersey City, Newport

Address: 479 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
#2 Business Hotel in Jersey City
#3 Family Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Jersey City, Newport 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Jersey City Newport is close to Newark Liberty International Airport, Wall Street, Manhattan's World Financial Center, Greenwich Village; Union Square; Midtown Manhattan, and Times Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Westin Jersey City, Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Jersey City, Newport Hotel Jersey City
Westin Jersey City Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Jersey City, Newport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.