We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended for NYC tourists” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Jersey City, Newport

Save Saved
You added The Westin Jersey City, Newport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Jersey City, Newport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   479 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Jersey City
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Highly recommended for NYC tourists”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights over Christmas on our honeymoon from London. We chose the hotel on the strength of the good reviews and because we wanted to stay out of the city centre, and we didn't regret it. We paid to upgrade to a King Room on the 22nd floor, which had a stunning bathroom, a really comfy, huge bed and amazing views of NYC. The only criticism is that the heating unit was noisy and we couldn't seem to turn it off overnight, so it woke us up a few times. The staff were all excellent and room service was great and not too expensive. The pool, jacuzzi and gym were of a very high standard. We did not use the bar/restaurant areas during our stay but they looked nice.

Room Tip: Try to get a room higher up the building with a view of the Hudson River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    435
    277
    62
    30
    18
See reviews for
250
203
59
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed in 5 hotels over 2 weeks in 5 cities, I find Westin my least favourite.

The hotel is great in every sense except service. Professional, definitely. But it doesn't come with a smile and honestly, it came across as if they are just doing their job.

The only time we got a smile was when the lady at the front door to the hotel was surprised when we tipped her for holding the door for us as we lugged our luggage out of the hotel to the limousine they called for us to take us to NYC.

The lack of warmth in service kinda marred our holidaying experience, making it even colder than it already is in NY.

Just for added info - the limousine to walmart cost $30/one way and $58(+toll) to NYC.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie T, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at The Westin Jersey City, Newport, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear tinkilily,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

On behalf of the General Manager, I would like to apologize for the disappointing experience you had during your recent stay with us. Please know that this is not typical of the exceptionally high standard of service that we take such pride in and I do sincerely hope you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience.

Please be assured that I have forwarded your comments to our Managment Staff to ensure that they review them with their teams and that other guests do not have the same experience.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to redeem your faith in our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have just returned from staying 6 nights over xmas in this hotel with 2 children aged 8 and 4. We had a terrific time and the hotel superseded our expectations, which were high due to the previous feedback on trip advisor. The location is very good, the room was large, clean, very comfortable with a great view. The service was exceptional, the food in the fire and smoke restaurant was also very good and reasonably priced. All in all an absolutely brilliant stay and I would also like to Dan on the concierge desk (very helpful), Rowetta on check in, the girls who kept the room clean ( good job) and the door man who arranged our return transport.
My only gripe, is that wifi in the rooms is expensive although it is offered free in the lobby?
We would revisit (no hesitation), we would absolutely recommend and it is easily the best hotel in the area.

Room Tip: Pay for the deluxe rooms for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plant city,fl
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed in this hotel because it was cheaper than those highly exorbitant priced hotels with crappy rooms in NYC.This one was a nice hotel with enough room space. There is no specific restaurants around. Right next to it is a mall with Macy's and in a driving distance is Target. Path station is like 3 mins walking distance from the hotel, if you plan to take a cheaper option($2.25 each way) to get to NYC, if not then you need to pay $50 each way by cab. With the deal I received, I thought it was worth it considering we were visiting NYC

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located in NJ, and also good if your intention is to go to Manhattan, be it by car or using the subway. The rooms are clean and big enough, with all that you expect from a good hotel. The staff was very friendly and the restaurant served amazing food so I would recommend it if you don't mind the price

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This hotel offers upgrades from traditional rooms to deluxe rooms for an additional $10 per night and junior suite for an additional $60 per night, depending on availability. Given these options, SPG gold and platinum members, should not expect any appreciation of their loyalty, such as upgrades to nicer rooms. There are only one junior suite per floor and it offers million dollar views of the Manhattan skyline. From the deluxe room, you get partial views of the water. Note that the junior suite is an open concept room and it does not offer a separate living room and bedroom.

Regarding its half moon restaurant for breakfast, do NOT get the buffet breakfast, which was $18.95 per person plus 18% gratuity. For this price, the selection was very limited, scrambled eggs, bacon, and home fries on the hot side. In addition, they had bagels, cereal, fruits, and danishes. At such a location, one would have expected an omelette station or pancakes. I believe that these options were offered on the a la carte, but I don't know the prices.

Upon your arrival, if you will not be using your car once again, then use the self parking option, which I believe the price was $22 or $24 per day, but no in and out privileges. However, if you will require your car, then use the valet option, which costs $31 per day, as you have in and out privileges, and I did not have any long wait times when requesting my car. When you call for the car, note that you are told how long before your car will be ready. During my stay that was approximately 10 minutes, so expect some lead time.

The hotel is a great alternative to staying in Manhattan, given that prices are lower in Jersey city and the easy access by train to Manhattan. However, if the spg hotels in Manhattan have specials that are close to the cost of staying at this hotel, I would definitely recommend staying at the Manhattan hotel.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the offers from the hotel to upgrade to a nicer room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The location of this hotel is a plus. Right next to the Mall where I will be able to complete my remaining Christmas shopping. The rooms are clean, and run on the Evolve system which preserve energy. Beds are Heavenly as always, and the room is large and spacious with nice decor.

I travel about 30 nights a year across the country, and this is one of the more engaging staffs that I can remember in a long time. Not only did they provide the answer that you were looking for initially, they were able to determine through further conversation what would make your stay more delightful.

I always try to remember names of the people that made my stay a pleasant one. Here they are:

Debbie - she was very friendly and passionate about her work. She was able to locate my Starwood number without a problem or seeming as though it was a bother. Provided the personal service that you would expect from a hotel such as the Westin.

Malika - was attentive to detail in regards to the servicing of my room. Was pleased that my request wasn't taking begrudgingly at all.

Eddie - very engaging personality and made the stay in Jersey City feel as though you were at home.

Bebi - native to the area, and was able to provide the best options and alternatives to getting around locally.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Jersey City, Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Jersey City, Newport

Address: 479 Washington Boulevard, Jersey City, NJ 07310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jersey City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jersey City
#4 Family Hotel in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Jersey City, Newport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Jersey City Newport is close to Newark Liberty International Airport, Wall Street, Manhattan's World Financial Center, Greenwich Village; Union Square; Midtown Manhattan, and Times Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Starwood, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Westin Jersey City, Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Jersey City, Newport Hotel Jersey City
Westin Jersey City Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Jersey City, Newport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.