We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best burgers and amazing brunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skinner's Loft

Skinner's Loft
146 Newark Avenue, Jersey City, NJ 07302
2019150600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Skinner's Loft is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 478 Restaurants in Jersey City
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Grove St. & Erie St.
Transit: Grove Street (PATH) and Harsimus Cove (HBLR).
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best burgers and amazing brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This place is amazing. Excellent with kids, very friendly staff and amazing burgers. By far the best in JC. Brunch is always a hit. Tostado ranchera is excellent as are the sliders. For brunch they usually bring by a basket of biscuits / muffins which my daughter proceeds to devour in as little time as possible (who could blame her, they're delicious!) Highly recommend stopping in for a bite if you're in the area

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    34
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yummy small plates”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Service may not always be the best here but the small plates (definitely pricey) are delicious. The waitress provided a beautiful candle contraption for my sister's birthday but expect to pay a hefty price for bday cake.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

Skinners Loft is a small urban gem. The food is wonderful and the atmosphere is upscale yet friendly. I have eaten there many times and I am never disappointed.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“The "fall back" good choice in Jersey City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Always good food, great bar and charming dinning areas

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
439 reviews 439 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Always reliable at brunch time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

The brunch time at Skinner's Loft is always great. The menu changes slightly every 6 months to a year, but always brining new creations and your favorite plates with a twist. I recently had the Steak and egg Pizzeta which was pizza dough with steak and egg. The pizzeta was brought out in a wooden plate/ and I was wondering how I was going to break the egg without spilling the yolk onto my jeans (no crust). Well, there was no problem, the yolk just melted with the cheese, steak and pizza dough.........just thinking about it, my mouth just melts. The pizzeta was not big, but it was stuffed.

I really like this place, the loft decoration/environment looks great. The bathroom is always clean and plenty of room to move around (no stalls). I like the fact, that the bar is located on the fist floor away from the main room upstairs where I can just have a conversation and not be distracted by the tv (there are a few tables on the first floor). My waiter this time was not excellent as I know it, but the food and environment made up for it. The only downsize is parking. The place is located in a busy street in JC. If you can find parking nearby or walk, then leave the car home.

I will definitely come back to have more great meals!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skinner's Loft also viewed

 
 

Been to Skinner's Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skinner's Loft, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.