We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do it better to sleep in the street” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Starlite Motel

Starlite Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Starlite Motel to your Saves list
Starlite Motel
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   881 Tonnelle Avenue, Jersey City, NJ 07307   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Jersey City
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't do it better to sleep in the street”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

I came to the motel management was nasty and so was the room. They gave me the key to room 18 and when I opened the door it was a strong sent of weed. On top of that the carpet was filthy the bed was not made and it was urine stains on the mattress. I didn't even go in the room I called the cab to come pick me and my family back up. We stayed maybe 10 minutes and that's because we was waiting on the cab. Don't believe the pics you see because there a lie...

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arvindgandhi1946, General Manager at Starlite Motel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize for any inconvenience that you had during your stay at our hotel.

Please accept my apology for inconvenience occurred to you during your stay as per the comments I realize that the stay was very disturbing. Many times it may be possible that our housekeepers have missed a few aspects but it is not in their routine to do so. Please, I apologize very much for such quality since we are doing our best to improve every part of the hotel bit by bit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    2
    1
    19
See reviews for
3
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Don't even think about coming here. Save yourself the bug bites, the disgust, the feeling of terror, spend a few more bucks for a better place. We were able to check in easily, and didn't get too much attitude from the manager. We stayed in room 21. The door locks only from the outside which was weird and the one lock that was inside was broken. The tv had no remote, and some of the buttons were broken. We got quite a .."surprise"when we turned on the tv too. The room was dirty,we found pieces of hair all around, there was blood or a blood like substance on the bathroom wall, the lamp was broken, we got two cups and no coffee maker. The worst part was a HUGE cobweb on the wall and ceiling in the bathroom. We called the manager and he did absolutely nothing to help and even had the nerve to give us an attitude. We gave the maid a 50¢ tip and an instruction booklet on how to properly clean a room. NEVER coming back here !

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Horrible stayec he for thx giving week to visit family in northbergen this has to be the,worst hotel out there flys dirty the room was,slanted tv was,fuzzy bathroom was fikithy they really need to get a health inspector down there to check out these room never,again

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulphur, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Filthy!!!!!!!! half used bottle of shampoo, dirty written on walls, hairball on bed! Broken room phone with food smashed under phone on dresser!! no smoke detector, broken door lock! Had to leave due to filth, and was rufused a refund!!!!

Room Tip: HOJO in Clifton is amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This place was the worst motel I stayed in. The rooms were dirty, not enough pillows, rooms smell nasty. The sheets, tv, mirrors, and refrig was dirty beyond words. There was flies everywhere. I complain with the front desk manager and they refused to help us and spoke with another manager in the morning and complain and he did not do anything either. Both kept telling me to called the 866# I reserved my motel with and complain. I called the number and they also refused to help me with this matter because the rooms were non refundable. On top of that the tv channels suck and they were one channel of porn (there were kids in both rooms under the age of 15 years old). This is the worst motel and I dont recommend this to no one.

Room Tip: sorry but I am from Delaware and I dont know nothing about New Jersey
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ST PETERSBURG
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

This place was a bad choice in a bad area. The room lacked decent air conditioning and had but two threadbare towels, a tv without remote and no hand cloths,glasses, coffee, or any other amenity. I had paid for a room with two queen beds but was given one. W ith only one. The clerk would have argued the matter had I not had the printed confirmation to prove my point. The area is drab, noisy and dangerous. Avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I were visiting New York unaware that President Obama was visiting on the same day. we could not book a room, after we were guided to the Starlite Motel Jersey City NJ This was the worst experience of my life. not only was the room dirty and dingy with bugs and blood on the walls, the bathroom was broken. we asked for our money back, management refused and changed our room next to room # 40 a very tall man who said he has lived their for the past 3 yrs. asked us if we were interested in selling drugs for him. Again we complained to the manager and he said "this is NJ next time stay at the Plaza NY". all night people of all sorts come and go from Room #40. if you value your life! don't stay here. it is a nightmare, Creepy,

Room Tip: stay away !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Starlite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlite Motel

Address: 881 Tonnelle Avenue, Jersey City, NJ 07307
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Jersey City
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Starlite Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Miles from New York City, Manhattan. 4 Miles from MetLife Stadium, Superbowl 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Starlite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starlite Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.