We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owner Refuses Refund Despite Hurricane Sandy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jersey City Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Jersey City Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jersey City Bed & Breakfast
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   442 Mercer Street, Jersey City, NJ 07302   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Jersey City B&B and Inns
Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Owner Refuses Refund Despite Hurricane Sandy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My friend and I redeemed some free airline awards and were looking forward to a couple of days in NYC. We were supposed to arrive today. As everyone knows, Hurricane Sandy left airports closed, evacuated cities, flooding, power outages, etc. Obviously our flights were cancelled. Jersey City remains without power as I write this, but Lonnie refused to give me a refund despite his place not having power or heat citing his NO REFUNDS policy. Well, his policy also states 100% satisfaction guaranteed or your money back. So, even if I could make it to Jersey City, I would not be satisfied staying somewhere with no power or heat, no transportation, and near flood zones! Where is his commond decency? When I finish posting this, I'm calling the Jersey City Chamber of Commerce, the BBB, and whomever else I can think of!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    12
    3
    6
    3
See reviews for
8
19
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maple Ridge, Canada
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

When we arrived, we thought we were in the wrong part of town. We entered the building, and were surprised at the state of disrepair and the cluttered look of the rooms. We occupied the bottom floor as well as the top floor "suite". The stairs were extremely steep and we had to search for someone to help us with the bags (we are all seniors). The patio on the bottom floor was filthy with no lighting, a shopping cart crammed in the corner and generally speaking not a place that you want to converse and share a bottle of wine. We had to wipe the table and chairs and replace the light bulb before we could sit there. My children would have done a better job cleaning the bathrooms. The shower in the suite had little or no water and when we mentioned it, an attempt was made rectify the situation. Band-aid repairs were made to the accommodations. The beds were very comfortable even though the bedrooms were extremely cramped. The only saving grace was the wonderful breakfasts that Ron prepared for us. We only saw Lonnie once during our stay. We had a lengthy discussion among ourselves whether we would cut our losses and search for alternate accommodations elsewhere. I don't believe that we are hard to please or have unreasonable expectations but this was unbelievable based on the information provided on the B&B website. We decided to stay but basically only slept there and left right after breakfast to spend the whole day in Manhatten. The old addage is true, you get what you pay for. If this is voted the best B&B in New Jersey, then I would suggest that you stay in New York.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpang Ampat
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We arrived at LaGuardia airport which is very far from this place. We should have gone to Newark airport, which I think will be closer to this B&B place. Within walking distance to PATH Journal Square (USD2 per ride per person), about 10-15 minute walk, you will get to the 33rd station into the heart of New York city and close to Penn station to take the subway. There is a convenient store at the Journal Square station. Our room got a faulty lamp and Loonie have it replaced the next day. Ron is a great chef and prepared hot breakfast for us. The room has everything that you need, including a computer with Internet access ready, printer and some stationary and a reading glass. We came back on Sep 11 at night around 7pm and saw the two towering beams of light shining up into the sky of New York city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at Jersey B&B whilst visiting New York, it is a cost effective way to stay close to Manhattan using the local PATH train (Journal Square 10-15 minutes walk) for $4 return into town. Lonnie and his staff were helpful and cheerful.

Complimentary breakfast options include a full cooked breakfast which is prepared whilst you wait, as well as fruit, cereal, pancakes, juice, coffee, etc.

We had arranged to leave our luggage at Jersey B&B and collect it at the end of our final day before travelling to the airport. The number for the taxi service we had was no good so at the eleventh hour we asked Lonnie for an alternative taxi firm. He stopped what he was doing with his family and gave us a lift to the station. New York was suffering the tail end of hurricane Isaac at this time, and Lonnie proposed that if our flight was cancelled he could accomodate us that evening. This is way above and beyond what was is ever expected at a B&B, and we cannot praise them enough! Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

My partner and I spent 4 days at the bed and breakfast and it was a wonderful stay.
the room was clean and comfortable all of Lonnie's staff were very friendly and knowledgeable
related to the new york and new jersey area. Also the breakfast was wonderful and cooked to
order. We spent from June 21-25 2012 . And this was by far one of the best experinces we have
had staying at a bed and breakfast. Do not change a thing just keep on doing the wonderful job
your doing Lonnie and a special thanks to your fabulous employees Keisha and Ron .

Sincerly

John and Michael Powell ,Ohio

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

The best part of this B&B is that it provides a good location to commute into NYC from...15 minute walk to the PATH (train) station, quick train ride into the heart of NYC. The B&B itself and the location were disappointing. It seemed more like a hostel-type "crash-pad" than most B&Bs we have stayed at. It wasn't the cleanest and that area of town was even worse. Our room consisted of a computer desk and 2 beds, a bathroom with on-going self-help projects, and shelves with books filled the hall and closets. Breakfast was good, but the best part was conversing with guests from different countries.

Room Tip: We were in the bottom room and kept hearing the noise from above and the front door. I would recomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Stayed only one night at this B&B. Arrived late from the PATH (taxi ride was $5) at around 4 am and as it was promised the keys were in the mailbox so I could enter. I stayed in the Queen room which had one queen bed and a twin size bed, a computer with internet, a cooler with refreshments and water. Bathroom was ok, nothing fancy, it just worked for me. Breakfast with Ron was pretty good, he would cook anything you want from french toast, pancakes, eggs, everything. The day I left,Lonnie was kind enough to give me and my friend a ride from his place to the Path. Overall a good place to stop by, maybe not suited for someone looking for an extended stay, but great for someone just stopping by. Book thru Lonnie's website or call the B&B and you will get better rates.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jersey City Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jersey City Bed & Breakfast

Address: 442 Mercer Street, Jersey City, NJ 07302
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jersey City Bed & Breakfast 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Jersey City Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jersey City Hotel Jersey City
Jersey City Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jersey City Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.