We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 4 days in a B+B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jersey City Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Jersey City Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Jersey City Bed & Breakfast
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   442 Mercer Street, Jersey City, NJ 07302   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Jersey City B&B and Inns
Powell, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My 4 days in a B+B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

My partner and I spent 4 days at the bed and breakfast and it was a wonderful stay.
the room was clean and comfortable all of Lonnie's staff were very friendly and knowledgeable
related to the new york and new jersey area. Also the breakfast was wonderful and cooked to
order. We spent from June 21-25 2012 . And this was by far one of the best experinces we have
had staying at a bed and breakfast. Do not change a thing just keep on doing the wonderful job
your doing Lonnie and a special thanks to your fabulous employees Keisha and Ron .

Sincerly

John and Michael Powell ,Ohio

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    15
    3
    6
    3
See reviews for
11
21
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

The best part of this B&B is that it provides a good location to commute into NYC from...15 minute walk to the PATH (train) station, quick train ride into the heart of NYC. The B&B itself and the location were disappointing. It seemed more like a hostel-type "crash-pad" than most B&Bs we have stayed at. It wasn't the cleanest and that area of town was even worse. Our room consisted of a computer desk and 2 beds, a bathroom with on-going self-help projects, and shelves with books filled the hall and closets. Breakfast was good, but the best part was conversing with guests from different countries.

Room Tip: We were in the bottom room and kept hearing the noise from above and the front door. I would recomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Stayed only one night at this B&B. Arrived late from the PATH (taxi ride was $5) at around 4 am and as it was promised the keys were in the mailbox so I could enter. I stayed in the Queen room which had one queen bed and a twin size bed, a computer with internet, a cooler with refreshments and water. Bathroom was ok, nothing fancy, it just worked for me. Breakfast with Ron was pretty good, he would cook anything you want from french toast, pancakes, eggs, everything. The day I left,Lonnie was kind enough to give me and my friend a ride from his place to the Path. Overall a good place to stop by, maybe not suited for someone looking for an extended stay, but great for someone just stopping by. Book thru Lonnie's website or call the B&B and you will get better rates.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011 via mobile

Jersey City B & B

It is always a "Catch 22" when you find a place like Jersey City B&B.  On one hand you want to let the world know what a diamond in the rough you have found, on the other hand you want to keep it to yourself and guard it like a secret pirate treasure.

Nestled away in a sleepy neighborhood near Journal Square in Jersey City, New Jersey.  It is only a few short blocks to the PATH trains that will take you to  Manhattan ($5.00 Taxi Fare $2.00/person PATH).  On arrival you find an unassuming "duplex" style townhouse with a gated driveway (parking is available however why you would want to drive in these cities is beyond me).  There are three rooms available for Guests, we stayed in the "King Suite" which is the only room on the main floor.  This "room" is the size of a small apartment, there are two beds, one King Bed (with a beautiful Memory Foam Mattress - perfect for the weary road warrior) and a double bed at the far end.  The room is equipped with a water cooler, small fridge, complimentary beverages, telephone, computer, complimentary wireless Internet (with decent speed,  I might add - too many places advertise Internet only to provide substandard speeds), and as irrelevant as I may view it, two televisions with fully featured digital cable.  There are two other suites available on the third floor, similarly outfitted just a bit smaller.  The second floor is where you will find the kitchen/dining area...  and Ron.  Ron manages the B&B's daily happenings, he is friendly, happy, genuine, and makes a deadly breakfast.  Ron is an invaluable resource for the international traveler, need a shave? Tailor? Shoe Repair? Transit Advice? Ron knows the city and can accommodate almost any request.  Ron is a master of friendly, genuine conversation, always wearing a smile and his heart on his sleeve.

Lonnie (the owner) and his twin sons live on-site though you wouldn't know it, save for the pictures of the family artistically distributed throughout the home.  

Jersey City Bed & Breakfast provides a quiet, comfortable, welcoming, oasis of tranquility in the biggest city in the world.

Without question the best Bed & Breakfast that I/we have ever had the pleasure of visiting.  My wife and I both look forward to returning.

- About the author - 

My wife and I are in our late 30's, middle income, self employed, and parents to three small children.  We live a "Normal" life in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada.  We don't stay at the "Hilton's" of the world, never travel "First Class", we navigate on public transit with ease, and know the value of hard work.  I don't wear a suit, we don't shop at Gucci or Prada, and I believe that if guys wear pants that show their underwear and white rimmed sunglasses they are probably duchebags.  So when you read my reviews, know that  honesty, integrity, respect and value are the major mitigating factors.  Minor details with reference to building maintenance, "name brands" of products, and 1 billion thread count sheets have very little weight in my reviews.  

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011 via mobile

Stayed at this b&b for 5 nights. As advertised it is 10 minutes walk to the PATH and then 10 minutes into Manhattan. Free soda, free computer, printer and office supplies, free box office movies, free phone calls to anywhere in the USA and free cooked breakfast are also provided. We stayed in the suite on the top floor which also had a large sitting room separate from the bedroom.
The manager, Ron is very friendly and is happy to please guests. He will cook you a great breakfast and will make you feel special.
This b&b is not the Hilton but it is cosy and homely. For $95 a night it is a great bargain. The money we saved staying in Jersey meant we had more to spend on having a good time in NYC.
The area is safe. We even walked home from the PATH each night after dark and did not have any problems.
Would stay here again if visiting NYC.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venlo, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

If you don't want to spend a lot of money for a hotel in New York City this is the place for you! The rooms are very well equipped with more stuff than you can imagine. The breakfast is very good. Lonnie and his staff are friendly and helpful. It is about 15 minutes walking to the Path train station which will bring you in about 15 minutes to Manhattan. From the B&B you can walk to the Statue of Liberty State Park, where you can see the skyline of Manhattan. Near the B&B is little India where you can eat nice Indian food if you like it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trier, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

I stayed at the B&B in November 2011 for a couple of nights to visit New York city and the overall experience was OK. It was not as excellent as some reviews indicate, but as I was traveling alone, the price was an important factor. The rooms were basic, a bit out-dated and not very tidy, but the bed was very good and the pc with internet in the room was super great. Also the TV was nice, even though I did not have much time to watch it.

Breakfast was OK but I was not sure how fresh some of the stuff was, so I did not try everything. The guy who made pancakes was funny, he had all kind of stories and seemed to have visited all the possible countries...It was entertaining but don´t take him too seriously, maybe he´s repeating what he heard from the other travellers...

The location was not great since as a single traveler I did not feel safe to walk alone from the path station after dark. OK, taxi was not expensive, but 5-6dollars more everyday + path tickets makes you think if a place closer to Manhattan would have been worth after all. As a couple this would have been probably fine.

Overall I was satisfied with the place as I did not have high expectations. The owner was helpful and the B&B provided me a comfy bug-free bed, internet and nice breakfast with a reasonable price. If you want to stay in a family home type of accommodation and don´t mind the distance to manhattan, this place is for you.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jersey City Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jersey City Bed & Breakfast

Address: 442 Mercer Street, Jersey City, NJ 07302
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Jersey City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Jersey City Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Jersey City Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jersey City Bed And Breakfast
Jersey City Hotel Jersey City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jersey City Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.