We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food at a great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surf Taco

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Surf Taco
Jackson, NJ 08527
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 70 Restaurants in Jackson
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night
Toms River, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Decent food at a great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I eat here all the time. I get basically one of three dishes - fajitas, enchiladas or the maverick burrito. Food is pretty good. Service is fast - they give you a number and then bring your food. The chicken fajitas I got yesterday were decent, the chicken was a bit dry. However, the meal, with a soda, was $12. How can you beat that? Last night the place was loud - but that was a Friday night. Also, they have no control over the noise. They have a bar for drinks and there was an ecelectic mix of people and families. You won't be disappointed (unless you hate noise).

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    17
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Commack, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good food in a over crowded atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

This place is divided into a bar on one side and a non waiter/waitress restaurant on the other. You place your food order and it will be brought out to you. The food was brought to the table in a short time and was very fresh and good. Prices are good for what you get. I had a few of the tacos and everyone was tasty. The place is cramp though. Tables are bumped together and people waiting online might as well join you at your table! I would enjoy this place as a take out restaurant

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food, fresh and delicious, large portions, inexpensive.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We love Surf Taco. We used to go to one in Belmar where you could byob. We found this Surf Taco in Jackson that has a great bar. Happy hour everyday 4pm-6pm. Can get a pint of Dos Equis on tap for $2 and Margaritas that are large, delicious and strong for $3.50. Nachos are half price at happy hour and the portion is huge. They are delicious with guacamole, black beans, cheese, salsa, sour cream and chips. The menu is extensive and everything is delicious.The surf tacos with fried fish pieces and shredded cabbage are terrific. We always bring leftovers home that are yummy the next day.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester NJ
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Such a Disapointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were impressed when we walked in, atmosphere was casual and relaxing, no need to dress up. We sat there for at least 7 minutes before we stopped a staff member to ask what the process for ordering was...a nice way of saying,, "hey what do you have to do to get a waitress around here"? We were then told it was counter only, until 5...oh ok thanx for letting us sit here...anyway, ordered Taco salad. Awful! everything was cold, taco beef was ground very fine and tasted like it came from a can. my husbands burrito wasn't wrapped correctly spilled out all over and cold. Fortunately the acoustic entertainment, Billy Hector, was spot on as usual!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson nj
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Our Surf Taco is the Best! The wings are excellent, with Cold Beer. On Wednesdays there is live music.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

You should go to Surf Taco. You can wear shorts and flip flops. Great Food and drink. Wednesday is open mike. You should go!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surf Taco also viewed

 

Been to Surf Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf Taco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.