We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of attractions for all ages” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Six Flags Great Adventure

Six Flags Great Adventure
Route 537, Jackson, NJ 08527
732 928 1821
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Attractions in Jackson
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This park truly is a great adventure for the whole family, which features 100 rides, shows, special events and theme areas such as Boardwalk, Frontier Adventures, Fantasy Forest and Movietown.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
South Brunswick, New Jersey, Usa
1 review
“Lots of attractions for all ages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My family has had season passes to Great Adventure for the past 10 years and my children never tire of going. There are rides and attractions for all ages, from preschoolers to adults. On nice summer days, especially on weekends, the lines for the big attractions can be exceedingly long....2 hours for a roller coaster. It is always best to come early in the week, when the park first opens, or on a day when the weather looks questionable.... people tend to stay away then. Food & drinks can be quite costly, so start the day with your own water bottle for each person in your party. If you have young children I would also come with a bag of snacks. The sign says no outside food but I've never had it taken away. You have to put all items in a locker at each coaster, nothing can be brought into the line with you, so be prepared with dollar bills for each locker.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,892 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    834
    460
    173
    134
    291
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“You need to see this place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

If you're not scared of heights. This park was amazing! so much to do and see.
The entrance fee wasn't too expensive neither was the busride over. But in order to avoid spending 2 hrs in line i recommend upgrading to flash passes to cut the waiting time. Now this adds 50-150 dollars per ticket depending how high you want to upgrade it. And for those eating healthy..good luck..i spent hours looking for a salad..i found one..it was fried.

But for the thrillseekers..pls visit this park!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fords
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing concert experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I brought my 7 year old daughter to see Bridgit Mendler at Six Flags on 8/25/13. After waiting for 90 minutes in line to enter the theater, during which time we saw NO security, they allowed us to begin to enter the arena and everyone from the park who had not waited on line was allowed to just run up and cut the line and enter first. During the show, people were sitting on the staircase and hovering in the aisles and not once did a security person come and discourage them. My daughter was unable to see the performance and we actually had to leave early. NEVER AGAIN!!!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parlin, New Jersey, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Looking for a Fun Day; Avoid Six Flags !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Excessive parking and admission fees
Entrance is too far from the parking lots
No shuttle busses for families who park miles away
Unfriendly guest relations and security
Long.......Lines at all rides

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good coaster lineup”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The park is great with their large selection of roller coasters but I stopped going because i got tired of huge crowds that frequent the park and the constant begging for cash the whole time your there. I love Kingda Ka. It is one of my favorite steel roller coasters because of the sheer size, speed, and layout. Overall a good place but too crowded.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Six Flags Great Adventure also viewed

 

Been to Six Flags Great Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Flags Great Adventure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.