We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but out of the way and little nearby except a mall” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   515 Route 1 South & Gill Lane, Iselin, NJ 08830   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Iselin
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ok, but out of the way and little nearby except a mall”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

rooms were standard, clean and spacious. There was however very little nearby except a couple of malls. nice lobby area and free in-room wifi. Hotel provide courtesy shuttle to/from Woodbridge and Menlo malls.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    82
    57
    16
    14
See reviews for
27
25
21
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lightwater Uk
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Having stayed at this hotel, it's a pity to report some poor areas. Firstly the positive, a good size parking lot and funky reception area with cool furniture. The indoor pool is of a good size and the fitness centre has numerous cv machines in good working condition, everything you would need for a satisfactory workout. The rooms are of a good size and appear fairly well sound proofed. The bathroom has quality toiletries provided. There are free daily papers available and limited tea coffee in the room, but cheap paper cups. Now for the not so good news, the room condition was poor, the blackout curtains hanging off the rail, a broken wooden luggage rack, broken clothes hanger. The room window opening handle on one side would not close securely so let in a draught and the wind whistle during the night disturbing my sleep. Worse still the attitude of the reception staff, who whilst dealing with me appeared to find me invisible but continued to moan about having to work over thanksgiving. It's not as though most guests are with their family either! This hardly set a holiday atmosphere for anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Poor experience. Room was not properly cleaned as there was evidence of the previous guest ordering room service. The website stated that the suite came with complimentary water. When I called down to concierge to enquirer I was informed that they do not offer such a thing. When I informed her that is stated this on their site she told me I was mistaken. If that wasn't enough one of the amenities was supposed to be a mini-refrigerator. This needed to be requested after I was checked into the room. The final topping on this whole experience was the room over near the desk was crawling with ants.Never again will I stay here nor will I recommend anyone to stay here. STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I really liked this place. It had a great feel about it with contemporary decor and excellent service staff.
The breakfast area and food in the buffet was good and well priced. They even had a 'quick serve' breakfast area at the bar where you could grab a quick coffee, snack and take off.
This place is not really close to anything in particular but as I was working in Metropark was only a few minutes Taxi away from work or the Metropard train station.

The service was one of the best I have experienced where the reception remem bered my name and were able to assist me in all sorts of things. I really appreciated their excellent attention to customer service which really made the business stay a nice one.

The entry area was filled with great modern art and contemporary furniture.

There was a great Gymnasium with enclosed pool as well as an outdoor pool during the warmer months.

There was not a real view from my level 4 but I don't think any room had a good vista. Not to worry, i was there for work and not play.

Room Tip: A great place if you have a need to be near this venue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We are frequently in mid Jersey to visit family and friends, and this time chose the Renaissance Woodbridge for location and price. A room on the 6th floor (upgraded because of Marriott Gold status) was a standard size dbl/dbl with incredible beds, fresh linens, and luxury towels. Black granite counters and floor in bathroom were shining. The club lounge on the 7th floor was included, and the breakfast on Friday was adequate. The Friday evening snacks were minimal. The lounge is closed on Saturday so a voucher for the breakfast buffet in Olio was a real pleasure. Excellent variety and quality of items; good service. All of the front desk Navigators were prompt to greet us each time we entered and always responded quickly to any questions. Built in the 1980's as a Sheraton, the makeover to the Renaissance brand is chic and thorough. Didn't use the indoor pool or gym, but both were above average in size and equipment.

Room Tip: Facing west with a view of the sunset, and away from the Rt. 1 traffic (well insulated so really had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris Q, Manager at Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thanks for discovering us.Glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to you staying with us on your next Woodbridge adventure.

At your service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
202 hotel reviews
Reviews in 155 cities Reviews in 155 cities
348 helpful votes 348 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I have stayed here on numerous occasions over the years. On my most recent visit I noticed how much friendlier the front desk staff were. The shuttle service was also excellent.
The rooms are a little scruffy but have good beds and nice comforters. The pillows had improved since my previous visit. The room has no minibar and a very basic coffee maker. What I did like was the free wi-fi.
The bathrooms are similar to those in most chain hotels. I did like the towels however, and the toiletries include a small tube of toothpaste, which is useful.
The gym is good and the swimming pool looks inviting. The location next to a main highway can be both an advantage and disadvantage. There are restaurants nearby and a shopping mall within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris Q, Manager at Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for noticing the improvements to our service levels. We are glad you found the rooms comfortable. Please continue to let us know how we can make your stays better in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The Renaissance Woodbridge hotel is conveniently located next to US Route 1 not too far from Newark airport. The hotel is well equipped with pool and bar and a good restaurant is located in the front yard. Breakfast is sufficient and good Starbucks coffee is served. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Good beds! The bathroom also is comfortable and clean and good products are available. The hotel staff is great. Friendly, professional and swift. a Perfect choice should you need one in the region.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel

Also Known As:
Woodbridge Hotel Iselin
Sheraton Iselin
Iselin Sheraton
Address: 515 Route 1 South & Gill Lane, Iselin, NJ 08830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Iselin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Iselin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.