We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hurricane-tastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   515 Route 1 South, Iselin, NJ 08830   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Iselin
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Hurricane-tastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

I was stuck here after my flight home got cancelled as a result of Hurricane Irene.
Despite being in the path of the hurricane the hotel staff remained very unphased didnt even attempt to create any form of panic or hysteria despite the behaviour of some locals in nearby stores.
A note advising us what to do in the even of a smashed window was given to all guests along with reassurances that back up generators and food would be available throughout the storm.
At the end of the day I felt as safe and comfortable as I would expect from a very professional group of empolyees at this very comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceWdbrdgeGM, Director of Rooms at Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear Irishstandards,

Thank you for your kind response and comments about your wonderful stay experience with us. Our team is dedicated to ensure that each guest experience is wonderful regardless of the events around us. At the renaissance you are home.

We look forward to inviting you back to the hotel so that you may find something wonderfully new at the Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel.

Team at the Renaissance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    116
    74
    19
    22
See reviews for
46
32
25
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

I stayed here previously when it was a sheraton, and did not really rate the hotel. However due to its convenient location, and with a change of brand i thought I would try it again, and I am pleased i did.

My one night stay was very good, the front desk staff, and especially the manager on duty were excellent in helping me when i misplaced my phone, and were always smiling and greeting you everytime you walked through the lobby.

The restaurant served simple but nice food, and the breakfast was the usual siolid buffet experience that you expect from US marriotts.

The room was a good size, nothing special from a design point of view, but clean and functional. There was wired internet that was of avergae speed and a very comfortable bed.

I would certainly come back here

Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceWdbrdgeGM, Director of Rooms at Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear Anon_Brit99,

Thank you for your kind comments about the Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at the hotel. Our spacious newly renovated rooms are a great option for your travels whether travelling on business or just for pleasure.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance. No matter where or why you travel, there is always something wonderfully new to be found.

Team at Renaissance Woodbridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

it was a very hot and sticky weekend. My boyfriend called me from work that Saturday (July 23, 2011) morning and said, "find a hotel, not too far away that has an outdoor pool." I went on the internet and found this little gem. The place was very clean! They had both an indoor and an outdoor pool. The pool was open to 11PM. Since my boyfrined didn't bother to change or eat we were able to have room service deliver to the pool area and charge it to our room. The food wqs good chickeb quesideas and sngus steak burgers. We were even able to get margaritas, which were very nice! Across the driveway was a Kona Grill, but thats another review ( a great one BTW). Anyway this place was very nice they has a very nice bar with many lounge areas and the staff was exceptional. we will absolutely be staying there again! sorry I didn't take any pictures. We were just having too much fun!

Room Tip: Clean, large, with hair dryer, Ironing board, everything you could need
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceWdbrdgeGM, Director of Rooms at Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear jenni7,

Thank you for your kind comments about the Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at the hotel. We are the perfect location for a weekend getaway! Our indoor and outdoor pools, room service and complimentary shuttle to the local malls call for adventure! And if you are looking to go to the city, our shuttle can take you to the Metro Park train station! Our spacious newly renovated rooms are a great option for your travels whether travelling on business or just for pleasure.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance. No matter where or why you travel, there is always something wonderfully new to be found.

Team at Renaissance Woodbridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I have stayed in a lot of renaissance hotels and normally praise them highly. Not so with the Woodbridge, New Jersey, very average, nothing to complain about as such but nothing to love either. Middle of the road, bland business hotel that looks like it has had a cheap 'changing rooms' makeover.
The room service was poor and expensive. Breakfast was fine. I am aware that this is a boring review full of platitudes, boring comments and cliche. But that sums up this hotel perfectly.
Didn't hate it, didn't like it. If forced to go to woodbridge again would stay here without complaint, but wouldn't recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceWdbrdgeGM, Director of Rooms at Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear Ms lolaroseGlasgow,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel. We are delighted to have you stay with us. Thank you for your business.

Our ambassadors are dedicated to creating a unique guest experience for all out guests. Our Navigators Program can tailor a trip that will highlight the hidden gems of our local. From our restaurant to the best micro brewery in town, we have it all. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance where there is always something wonderfully new to be found.

Team at the Renaissance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakmont, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stayed here when visiting friends in New Jersey. The location was perfect and the staff is accomodating.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceWdbrdgeGM, Director of Rooms at Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear Lex142,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel. We are so excited to have you stay with us and are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Team at Renaissance Woodbridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

I stayed at this hotel with my husband and family and was very impressed by the hotel and the standard of service we received. The staff were very helpful and friendly, in particular Mark, the front desk manager, who went the extra mile to make sure that everyone was O.K. in this very busy hotel. Breakfast was delicious and our waiter Mendis? was absolutely excellent at his job. I would say both Mark and Mendis are a credit to The Renaissance Group of hotels.I would thouroughly recommend this hotel to anyone who is going to Newark or New York (its only 45 mins by train). Thankyou once again Mark for being so helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceWdbrdgeGM, Director of Rooms at Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear UKlibby,

Thank you for your kind comments about your recent visit to the Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel. We are so delighted that you had a wonderful experience at the Cool and Chic Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel.

Our ambassadors are very dedicated to ensuring that our guest’s are having a wonderful experience and that they are having fun! We are very excited that Mark, our Reception Manager and Mendes, our Server in OLIO restaurant were able to successfully create great memoires for you, memories that lead to such wonderful stories.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Team at Renaissance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I have stayed at this property several times in the past six months and it is by far the best hotel in the woodbridge / edison/ new brunswick area. Modern wide lobby, great bar + lounge area, outdoor deck make it very welcoming. It features indoor and outdoor swimming pool and a real fitness center. It is very well located, minutes to 2 big malls, walk to several restaurants and close to several highways.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceWdbrdgeGM, Director of Rooms at Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear travelador,

We are so excited that you have had such a wonderful experience at the Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel. Thank you for your business and your kind words. As you mentioned, we are located with in minutes from the some great restaurants, our complimentary shuttle is available to our guests to go to the two malls located in close proximity. A quick ride on our shuttle to the train station will give you access to the trains to NYC with in half hour! Or if you just want to relax, out OLIO restaurant has mouth watering options delivered straight to your bed. The perfect way to relax after a dip in our heated indoor pool!

No matter where or why you travel, there is always something wonderfully new to be found at the Renaissance.

Team at the Renaissance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel

Address: 515 Route 1 South, Iselin, NJ 08830
Location: United States > New Jersey > Iselin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Iselin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 311
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodbridge Hotel Iselin
Sheraton Iselin
Iselin Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Woodbridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.