We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL, RUDE Front-Desk Staff !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Woodbridge at Metropark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Woodbridge at Metropark to your Saves list
Hotel Woodbridge at Metropark
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Wood Avenue South, Iselin, NJ 08830-2709 (Formerly Hilton Woodbridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Iselin
cooldadmark
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“GREAT HOTEL, RUDE Front-Desk Staff !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Bottom line, this hotel has a lobby that rivals any 5 star hotel, seems like a high end hotel from the minute you walk in the door. HOWEVER that experience was totally ruined as soon as we reached the front-desk and was rudely greeted by a clerk who obviously hates her job and seemed preturbed to have to check us in.
Our room was VERY clean, very spacious, looks like it was just recently remodeled, if not, was well maintained. SERIOUSLY comfortable beds and clean new looking linens. Shower was clean, bathroom was what we expected.
The entire experience was ruined by the rude staff at the front-desk, their attitude was unacceptable, we were treated more like inmates than welcomed guests. Hilton Honors members no-less. The clerk at the front-desk was quick to remind us that we were only Silver level Hilton Honors members and not GOLD members. So I guess she was justifying her substandard treatment of us.
GREAT hotel, if you are speaking of the accomedations and property itself, impressive for this particular area. NOT so great if you are speaking of the front-desk staff.
To the owner, if you would hire front-desk staff that know how to smile and treated the guests like they appreciated the business, you would have a home run.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with the rooms. Naturally the further away from the elevator, the less noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    74
    59
    27
    20
See reviews for
42
35
30
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My husband and I were in town visiting family. Our biggest issue with this property was the way I was treated by the management. We were kept up all night because a group of people decided to continue their party in their room(s). Although this is a non-smoking hotel, the guests were smoking and the smell was coming into our room. I called down to the front desk to let them know, but it does not appear that much was done. The noise got worse and at one point about 10-15 people were hanging out in the hall in front of my room at about 2:00. I needed to be up early and could not sleep. I had to call down 2 more times before the party broke up. When I tried to talk to the management during the day about the incident, no one seemed to know anything about it. I was very concerned about their lack of concern. I was offered a $20 credit for the night of the incident. I have to say, I probably won't be back again. This was a large hotel and it was not sold out. If you have a wedding party staying on one floor, why would you put me and my family near them to begin with?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I'm a HH Gold and traveled to Iselin by train on a business trip. The building was probably built in the 60s but the room had been renovated so had the modern conveniences one would want and was very spacious. The desk space and fast internet allowed me to work comfortably and the huge gym gave me an opportunity to get in a few workouts. The breakfast buffet was good and then the hotel shuttle dropped me off at the Iselin train station. Good service, great gym and everything I needed for a great business trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, NJ
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and I were there for my Nephews wedding. The Hilton staff did a great job with a room for the ceremony, and the reception event was second to none! The food and service were impeccable! The wait staff were very attentive to peoples needs and wants. Even making a special meal for my great nephew that has just about every food intolerance there is. Our hotel room was well equipped, but could use some modernizations in the interior decor.
The only thing that happened that bothered us a great deal was that after the reception we all went to the hotel bar. We had a great time there, and our charges the next day were correctly documented on our receipt, but when my wife checked the bank account online she noticed they took and extra $85! When she called the hotel to inquire what it was, they explained that a "Mr ?" had charged it at the bar, after hours. The hotel never asked us if anyone else could charge to our room, nor was this person a guest of the wedding. They did give us our money back, but having used an ATM Visa, it takes MANY days for the money to reappear.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

As a Hilton Diamond I have stayed at at least 70 different Hilton properties worldwide, and this BY FAR is the WORST Hilton property I have ever stayed at. Lets start with the room, if you would like to know what the room looks like, just turn on that 70's show. Because it is obvious (with the exception of a flat screen tv) the rooms haven't been updated since this property was put in service. The wallpaper is separating everywhere, and I cannot describe the hideousness of the bathtub, it literally is that bad.

The hotel advertises itself as a full service hotel, but that is more of a suggestion. The bars close before the closing times, the room service also decided that the hours they were supposed to work were more like suggestions, so they left as well. The one meal I have had here was a breakfast buffet that was so bad that the continental breakfast at a red roof inn would have been better.

So, my advice...STAY AWAY...unless you want to walk down memory lane and stay in the 70's.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonWoodbridge, General Manager at Hotel Woodbridge at Metropark, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with the look and feel of your guest room and the quality and convenience of our dining options. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments into consideration as we work to improve our on-property experience. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.

Thank you,

Anne Baykowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed in this hotel last month during our trip to US Canada. Its a very good hotel, clean, comfortable. However, we were a part of a tour group. The Tour company had probably arranged for the group to be served breakfast separately, and the hotel did that. Of course this is probably the tour company's fault, but then the poor quality of the breakfast reflects on the hotel too. There was no bread or cereals or fruits even. It left a bad impression on us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed on a Friday and Saturday...Can't complain about anything. Hotel was a great place to stay, just what I would expect from a Hilton. Rooms were clean. Only complaint I had was specific to our room location. We backed up to the elevator and the ice machine was steps away from our door. Needless to say, it was a little noisy. We probably would have been accommodated if we had asked to change our room but since we had just got off a 10 hour flight from Europe, had a SNAFU with our rental car out of JFK and had to take a shuttle to Newark to get a car (at 10PM) we were exhausted. Next time...I will make sure our room isn't near the elevator.

Room Tip: Ask where the room is in regard to the elevator and stay at the other end!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Woodbridge at Metropark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Woodbridge at Metropark

Address: 120 Wood Avenue South, Iselin, NJ 08830-2709 (Formerly Hilton Woodbridge)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Iselin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Iselin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Woodbridge at Metropark 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Hilton Woodbridge, The Hotel Woodbridge at Metropark features 200 elegantly appointed guestrooms, three on-site restaurants including our famous Bogarts Lounge, Spats NY Style Steakhouse, Le Cafe Metro and The Terrace Lounge. Our hotel also features a state-of-the-art Health Club with spa and massage center, indoor pool and Jacuzzi. You simply won't find these kinds of amenities in such a premium location anywhere else in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Woodbridge at Metropark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Woodbridge Hotel Iselin
Hilton Hotel Iselin
Hilton Iselin
Iselin Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Woodbridge at Metropark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.