We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Union Avenue, Irvington, NJ 07111   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Irvington
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

i came to this hotel and i loved it because the of the customer service. My name is Alfonso Robayo i am a sweden citizen and i always had help from the front desk and the manager miss Carolina. she has always given me good attention and good customer service.

Room Tip: the room i was in was 203 and it is a clean and very neat. the services of the house keepers is flaw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkwayhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank You Alfonso for taking the time to write us such an astonishing review. I'm overjoyed and extremely excited to know we were able to meet your standards during your stay with us. I'm glad you enjoyed our spacious, clean, comfortable rooms and that our friendly staff was able to provide you with the necessary attention you deserve! I Thank You once again for choosing our property and hoping you had a great trip back to Sweden, I would love to invite you back the next time you're in New Jersey to make your next stay even better than the last!

Best Regards,

Viridiana A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    39
    24
    13
    42
See reviews for
38
34
19
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Good parts; free shuttle picked us up at the airport following our midnight arrival, inexpensive, room was large. Bad parts; surrounded by "gentlemen's clubs", registration clerk was behind glass similar to a currency exchange, I have no idea what that stuff was on the wall next to the bed, despite assurances from the clerk who checked us in we left 30 minutes later than we asked for to return to the airport for our International connection.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkwayhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank You for taking the time to share your recent experience while staying at our property. I'm extremely sorry to hear your standards weren't met on your last visit. Our value friendly hotel is often chosen by the quality of our rooms, cleaning standards, and quality service our guests experience. Nevertheless we continue to maintain and improve the quality of our rooms by fixing the problems as soon as they are reported. We have taken note of the issues you encountered with your room and are in the process of being fixed. I Thank You once again for initially choosing our property!

Sincerely,

Viridiana A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

My flight from Newark to Mumbai was on next day and chose to stay in this hotel. I stayed in a room with 2 queen beds. Room was big, wifi was working fine. The lady at the reception was very helpful. Shuttle driver was good too. The main door lock screws were loose. You can feel the shake if someone in other room walks in his room above you. The hotel is a value for money for sure but is a bit far away from airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkwayhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank You for taking the time to write us your valuable insight. I'm extremely glad to know we have met your standards and that you find our services value friendly. I will defenately take notice of the loose screws on the main doors of every room to ensure the best quality stay. I'm sorry to hear about your thoughts regarding our property distance from Newark Airport; it's often our proximity to the Airport what our guests enjoy the most. Nonetheless I'm more than glad to know your overall stay was pleasant. I thank You once again for choosing our property and would love to invite you back the next time you visit NJ!

Sincerely,

Viridiana A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I visited the place couple of days back.Full of bed bugs.Couldn't sleep all night coz of beg bugs.Only advantage is it's shuttle service to EWR. I wouldn't recommend anybody to stay at this hotel, its horrible

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkwayhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank You for taking the time to share your experience with us. I would like to offer my most sincere apologies regarding the events of your stay. Our property monitors pests on a daily basis to ensure the best quality stay possible. As soon as our staff received notice of this post I took action and ordered a professional pest inspector to investigate. As a precocious measure the rooms where quarantined until we received a positive feedback from the inspector. I Thank You once again for choosing our property.

Sincerely,

Viridiana A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

More than what I paid for! Everything was clean, comfortable, and the room was huge! The hotel is within a couple blocks from a major bus station - we were able to take the 107 straight into NYC every day we were there!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkwayhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank You Abigail for taking the time to share your recent experience while staying at our property. I'm extremely excited to know that we've met your expectations and that our rooms where clean, comfortable and up to your standards. I'm also glad to hear the trip to NY was a breeze! with such a beautiful city so close by it's hard not to go there every time it's possible! I would like to Thank You once again for choosing our property and would defenately love to invite you back the next time you're around!

Sincerely,
Viridiana A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Again, this was booked for temporary accommodations. I had a very early flight out, and needed to get my rental car back and get checked in by 5:30am, so I needed someplace close and cheap. This place was close, and it was cheap, but you get what you pay for, I guess. In this case it was probably a half a grade up from a no-tell motel. The lock and deadbolt on my room was not in good shape, so I ended up spending the entire night in the room for fear I'd have to pack up all my electronics and take them with me if I went out for dinner. Considering it isn't the greatest neighborhood, I wasn't comfortable with that choice, either. The place reeked of whatever disinfectant/deodorizer they use. I heard fights going on around me, and the desk clerk was behind about two inches of bullet proof glass.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkwayhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank You for taking the time to share your recent experience while staying with us. I would like to also take the time to offer my most sincere apologies because the situation with your room could have been completely avoided by changing you to a more appropriate room. There is nothing I want more than for a guest to feel secure and comfortable inside our hotel walls. I can personally assure you this is the first and last time a room with any damage at all is rented without being properly inspected . I thank you once again for letting us know of the issue and for choosing our property.

Sincerely
Viridiana A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I booked this hotel because they had the best rate during the christmas holiday. I had a poor experience while staying at this hotel.

When we arrived into EWR to get a shuttle pickup from the airport, I was told the shuttle runs every half hour, and we ended up waiting for an hour and fifteen minutes to be picked up, when the hotel is only 3 miles away.

I booked a room for 5 people, and we only had a set of two towels in the room, so i called down to request more and they told me that they wouldn't deliver anymore towels, so I had to go downstairs and demand more towels while they questioned why i needed more.

The hotel was located outside the city and the cheapest route to get into the city was to take the hotel shuttle to the city bus stop and then from there to the train station into the city. Well, the next day, we had tickets pre-booked to go see the rockettes at radio city downtown, and we were ready to leave an hr and a half prior to the show, since that was more than enough time, since it only takes 35 min with all the routes to make it downtown. Well the shuttle once again was 40 min late picking us up and we ended up being 30 minutes late for the show.

The night van driver was rude and unprofessional, they were always late and it was terrible customer experience. I wouldn't recommend anybody to stay at this hotel, its horrible.

Room Tip: Do not book with this hotel if you are used to staying at nicer hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkwayhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Jocelyn I would like to Thank You for taking the time to share you recent experience while staying with us. I'm extremely sorry to hear about the experience you've had with our drivers. The shuttle tries to maintain a schedule but at times unpredictable events such as traffic, road blockage, etc. may delay our drivers. I understand how important time management is and because of that I would like to offer my most sincere apology. The driver who has shown you lack of professionalism and other staff members at fault have all been verbally warned. I thank You once again for choosing our property.

Sincerely,

Viridiana A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport

Address: 100 Union Avenue, Irvington, NJ 07111
Location: United States > New Jersey > Irvington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Irvington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn at Newark International Airport is located less 10 miles from New York City and only four miles from the Newark Liberty International Airport (Airport Code - EWR) with free 24-hour shuttle service from Terminal P4, making the hotel ideal for lodging accommodations while visiting New York City or the Newark area. Our hotel is near downtown Newark and the local educational and health care districts. We also offer easy access to famous New York City attractions like Times Square, Central Park, Ground Zero, Theatre District, Empire State Building and the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center. Our hotel is minutes from Newark attractions like the Meadowlands Arena (Giants/Jets Stadium), New Jersey Performing Arts Center, Statue of Liberty, and Jersey Gardens Outlet Mall, the area's largest outlet mall. All guest rooms come equipped with desks areas, irons, ironing boards, cable television with premium channels, including HBO and ESPN, free wired and wireless high-speed Internet along with free phone calls anywhere in the U.S. Refrigerator, microwaves and rollaway beds are also available. A deluxe complimentary continental breakfast is served daily from 6am - 9am. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, Americas Best Value Inn at Newark International Airport provides the ideal lodging accommodation for all who arrive in the Newark/New York area. Our friendly, experienced and courteous staff is available 24-hours and is eager to make your stay with us a memorable experience. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, BookIt.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport Hotel Irvington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn @ Newark Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.