We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunchtime Favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peasant Grill

The Peasant Grill
21 East Broad St., Hopewell, NJ
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Hopewell
Cuisines: American
Description: The Peasant Grill is an eat-in/takeout restaurant for lunch, and takeout only for dinner. Outshines other restaurants in Hopewell!
Restaurant details
Description: The Peasant Grill is an eat-in/takeout restaurant for lunch, and takeout only for dinner. Outshines other restaurants in Hopewell!
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lunchtime Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

While the dining area is a bit cramped, the food makes up for it. We love trying the specials, especially the soups. Challenging to depart without taking dessert home.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Skillman, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious if a bit pricey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I am partial to the flank steak sandwich, with pesto and mozzarella. It's perfectly grilled and melts in your mouth. The healthier fare is also excellent. Wonderful dessert options as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Homecooked and fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Group of 4 visited for lunch. Total bill: $54.00, no dessert, but plenty of food. Two of us had the creamy tomato soup- amazing. Two had pea soup- also homemade, and had spicey sausage bits so it could have been an entre. We all had the turkey sandwich special that came with 1 side and was served on the softest, freshest pumpernickel, ever. The potato salad was creamy and eggy. The pesto salad very fresh and pesto-y. We all shared the large house salad: nice mixed greens, light dressing, walnuts, tomatoes. Very nicely done and a large enough portion fo r4 adults. Try the nifty ginger ale and the low sugar green tea. We couldn't resist a bag of Joe's potatoe chips.
The servers removed our plates as we finished which was really well done; the owner stopped by with geniune concern that we were happy with our choices.
Look forward to my next visit. Wished I'd taken a photo of how nicely the food was presented.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful for eat-in or take out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

wonderful home style food. Desserts that are hard to pass up and friendly service!
Sandwiches are always mouth watering!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Peasant" Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

On our way from Princeton to New Hope with our out of town guests, we stopped at the Peasant Grill for lunch. We had never been there before but, when we saw the outdoor tables filled with patrons, we figured it had to be good and, wow, we were right! We waited a few minutes and found a table outside and were almost immediately greeted by the staff who explained the ordering procedure. While we waited for our sandwiches, the owner brought out a delightful tossed salad which was gratis, a very nice touch! My husband and I each had the crab cake sandwich (I had the spicy one which was amazing!) and our guests each had the ham and Brie sandwich. Everything was delicious and very fresh tasting. The display case was filled with one amazing looking item after another. They also had scrumptious baked goods so we purchased four of their chocolate chip cookies for dessert. The staff were very friendly and very proud of their establishment - for good reason! We will definitely be going back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peasant Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Peasant Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peasant Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.