We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a motel, not a b&b” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Millrace Pond

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Inn at Millrace Pond to your Saves list
Inn at Millrace Pond
313 Hope Johnsonburg Road, P.O. Box 359, Hope, NJ 07844   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hope B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fine for a motel, not a b&b”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

We were slightly disappointed with the Inn. It's located right off a pretty noisy street, so not as quaint and charming as it seems in the pictures with sounds of cars going by. The grounds are nice, but the rooms themselves feel more like a motel than a cozy b&b. The rooms are pretty clean but small and a little run down. Service is courteous but not very nice. Service at the restaurant was very slow - an hour and a half for a meal with a young child was a bit much. The food, at least, was decent which is a relief since there's not much else in the vicinity. The only plus is the proximity to the Delaware water gap. All in all, overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
9
22
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NYC, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

This was our second trip to the Inn at Millrace Pond, and our first with the new owner. It was nice and quaint a few summers ago, but even better this time around. Our winter stay was beautiful with snow covered grounds, a cozy fireplace in the room, and superb service. We didn't think it was possible for the staff to be any nicer than last time, but we were wrong! The new owner is charming and easy-going, and the staff reflect his personality. Valentine's day dinner in the main dining room was elegant, refined, and absolutely delicious! ( And the all-inclusive dinner was both a feast and a bargain.) Do not pass up the lobster pie or the duck or the artichoke bottoms, or the flourless chocolate cake... Yummy! Parts of the Inn were built in 1769, so expect atmosphere and antiques-not ultra modern rooms. The emphasis is comfort and history and service. Even our Lhasa Apso dog gives this place five paws!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

My husband and I and another couple spent the weekend at this Inn a few weeks back and had an overall great time. Mid-October is a beautiful time of year in that part of the country, and the quick access to hiking at the Delaware Water Gap (about a 10 minute drive away) was great. The rooms were simply decorated (to be expected for that period of decor) but clean and just enough space. They also had a complimentary mini fridge and microwave on the landing outside of our room stocked with water/soda/juice as well as breakfast bars and popcorn - a great idea. The town is quite small but there are a few antique shops and buildings with nice architecture to walk around. We had dinner at the restaurant in the Inn, and while the food was nice, the service was quite slow and it wasn't filled to capacity. We enjoyed ourselves anyway, but hoped to have dinner in time to catch the live music in the tavern and didn't quite make it - we were eating for about 2.5 hours (with no dessert). Breakfast was very nice, not the expected basket of pastries but had a nice selection for a full American breakfast. The staff are all very friendly and were helpful in finding a pumpkin patch to visit as well as the local hikes. The property is beautiful with adirondack chairs to sit on throughout, and some outdoor tables for drinks if you choose. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a quick getaway from NYC or surrounding areas and also definitely recommend a drink or meal in the tavern (instead of the restaurant) which is a beautiful space with beamed ceilings and fireplace.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

My wife and I were celebrating our 10th anniversary and just wanted a night away, nice dinner, breakfast. We had gone to an inn in Vermont when we got married, but now with 2 kids, it's hard to really get away for more than a night. Here we could get a 1 night accomodation, which is often difficult on a weekend at an inn.

Dinner was great...the butternut squash soup especially.

Breakfast was perfect.

Only wish we had occassion to sit and enjoy the downstairs tavern more....too little time. Next time will eat down there.

My wife and her friends had stayed a few years back and enjoyed it then as well.

Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Various
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed at the inn in September of 2009. The service was really nice: everyone - the inn keepers, the bar tenders and the waiters - were great, though a little preoccupied with some parties that were taking place at the facility. Keep in mind that the place is old, and the rooms are anything but modern. If you're ok with the smell of old houses and with staying in a room that is from the 1800's, feels old and dusty, and has poor lighting, you will enjoy your stay there. Some people chose to see the place as true to its "historic" roots, others see it as a lack of an effort to renovate and improve the place.
There is much excitement in the reviews about the food, however we did not find it particularly impressive, granted we're not particularly demanding. It was ok but nothing exceptional. If it wasn't for the people who work there, we would not consider this inn worthy of the 2-star rating we gave it.
Although the place is near an interstate highway (rt 80), it is quiet. At night, we could hear the cars passing by on the road next to us but not the highway traffic.
The place is pricey. We spent about $400 for one night for two adults plus an infant. This included a simple dinner and drinks, plus breakfast the next day. Definitely overpriced.
The area has multiple farms where you can pick you own fruits and vegetables, or buy them. The inn and the surrounding area offer a good break from the routine for people who live in the NY area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millrace, Manager at Inn at Millrace Pond, responded to this review, October 10, 2009
We are indeed an historic Inn as our website accurately depicts. Buildings built prior to the Revolutionary War are seldom renovated simply to be perceived as sleek, modern or contemporary. We appreciate reviews describing our facilities so potential guests expecting to stay at a new motel won't be disappointed when they arrive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

I used to stay here every month back in 1999 - 2002. I live in Canada and when another business trip to the area came up, I requested our corporate travel agent to book me at Inn @ Millrace Pond.

I was unaware the Inn had changed ownership (2007) and was pleasantly surprised upon arrival. They have made some positive changes. I really like it before but LOVE it now. This place has a great restaurant with excellent wine / bar menu along with a beautiful bar in the stone lower level. I recently chose to follow a vegan diet and was very happy to hear that the chef could create a meal suited to my dietry needs. I have stayed in most of the historic buildings over the years and really like the antique-filled, private, rooms. Before the change of ownership, internet access was limited to phone line. They have no invested in free wireless...just what the business traveller needs.

I am able to travel absolutely beautiful, winding roads into Hackettstown (my travel destination) in 15 mins and avoid 80.

I will be promting this location within our business as a choice destination.

Please contact me if you have any questions. I am in no way affiliated with this Inn but love it so much I want to spread the news.

Paul

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

Visited the Inn at Millrace Pond for a wedding, spending one night. The rooms were nice, really interesting old building. The entire staff was very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Millrace Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Millrace Pond

Address: 313 Hope Johnsonburg Road, P.O. Box 359, Hope, NJ 07844
Location: United States > New Jersey > Hope
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Millrace Pond just 10 minutes from the Delaware Water Gap. The Inn is a restored stone gristmill. Antique filled guestrooms feature either queen or twin beds with cable tv & free wireless internet. Some with fireplace & whirlpool tub. Zagat rated, traditional cuisine in the gracious Dining Room. Fireside Tavern features casual fare, cocktails, handcrafted beers & a breathtaking wine cellar. Upscale event catering a specialty. Dedicated conference facility for up to 40 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Inn at Millrace Pond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Millrace Pond Hotel Hope

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Millrace Pond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.