We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An easy and fun day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Land of Make Believe

Land of Make Believe
Great Meadows Road - Route 611, Hope, NJ
(908) 459-9000
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Hope
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
Attraction details
prague
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An easy and fun day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

My kids, 8 and 4, love this place. It's not glamorous or huge, but it's safe and clean. Maybe it varies from year to year--but on our visit we saw staff constantly picking up trash that people carelessly throw all over the place. The staff were friendly for the most part--some were indifferent but on a very hot day, I probably would be too. Apparently some small child left a deposit in the main pool area so they had to clear it out for cleaning. They seemed efficient and professional about that. There are lifeguards everywhere and they did seem to be enforcing rules and watching out for safety. It's an older place, very kitschy, but cute. They could probably cut back on all their "don't do this" signage, and the whole policy against visa and MasterCard is ridiculous, but if you know ahead of time and plan accordingly, it's not a big deal. Again, my kids loved it and my husband and I found it to be an easy place to navigate and enjoy the time with our kids.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    74
    32
    15
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice place, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Good clean family place to go for a day. Went on a Monday , no lines no waiting for anything. My 8 loved it, my 13 just liked it. It's better for kids 12 and under but there are water slides for older kids. Will go again next year.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Old-Fashioned Fun for Little Kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This place has a very retro feel, nothing high-tech or modern, just old-fashioned type boardwalk amusement attractions. Our three-year-old granddaughter loved the plethora of kiddie rides: a carousel, cars, airplanes, mini roller coaster, spinning dragons, flying fogs, etc. The rides are perfect for little kids but older ones would find them too babyish. The water park was a disappointment because we went there on a 95-degree day and the huge wading pool was only a few inches deep so you couldn't really cool off. The big water slides looked like they would be fun for older kids. There's free parking and a picnic area. Not a bad low-key option if you're in the area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for families with young children.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We've been to Land of Make Believe a few times. It's fun for families with very young children. My son who is 9 is starting to outgrow it. He likes the lazy river, a pirate ship with water shooting out everywhere and an enormous bucket of water that regularly empties out on groups of people standing beneath it. There are 3 fun water slides and lots of amusement rides for little kids. There is also a huge wading pool that is great for toddlers. The park is small, cheap and close enough that you can go a few times in a summer. There are lots of picnic areas (none in the shade) so most families bring their own food. The last time we visited it was insanely crowded so if you go make sure you get there early (when it opens) so you can get a lounge chair in the shade.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Smaller Than Expected...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I came for the first time with my family recently. My 10 year old brother, who doesn't really like big rides, enjoyed the park but thought it was small and there weren't enough rides. Of course, it isn't really meant for teens, but it would be nice if they added some kind of ride a teenager would enjoy. My little 4 year old cousin loved it. The food was awful. Cheap, but awful. The fries were loaded with grease.. I couldn't even finish it. Overall, it wasn't a bad experience, but they could add some more rides and maybe something bigger a teenager would enjoy. Also, the food needs improvement.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Land of Make Believe also viewed

Bushkill, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Delaware Water Gap, Pocono Mountains Region
East Stroudsburg, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Land of Make Believe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Land of Make Believe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.