We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Threats and indifference by staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Land of Make Believe

Land of Make Believe
Great Meadows Road - Route 611, Hope, NJ
(908) 459-9000
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 attractions in Hope
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks
Attraction Details
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Threats and indifference by staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Myself, my son (6) with some friends with young children visited "New Jersey's Premier Family Water Park & Amusement Park" yesterday. I visited there as a child and have fond memories. Not much has changed in the intervening period. Thats both good and bad. It was a little dilapidated and dated looking - but we were excited nonetheless.
However there was an incident in the water park where another parent threatened me, in full view of two lifeguards - and the lifeguards in turn stated that they would call the police - and report both parents. This was puzzling as I asked the staff in question, both, no doubt fully trained and expert staff members - but they only became involved when I asked for management and additional assistance as the situation was becoming quite tense. The "management" in question was a non-native English speaker who's attitude was less than caring and frankly indifferent.

There was no incident report to fill out, no offer of protection nor did any other staff member or parent intervene or offer assistance. I felt like the situation was completely out of control. I would not recommend visiting this park - there are better value attractions available in Jersey. It was disappointing, run-down looking and not at all safe. Its fair to say that myself and my family will not be returning. In general the staff there were less than helpful - and responded to any questions with an audible sigh.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    65
    29
    14
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phillipsburg, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A relatively enjoyable day.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

The majority of the park is gravel making it hard to push the stroller. Alot of the staff seemed annoyed by the visitors. The train kept breaking down but the waterpark was fun. It is a good time for little ones. You can bring your own food but you can't eat it under the pavilion. There are tables in the sun you must use.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris Plains, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't get screwed on credit card”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Bring Cash! Apparently they have a problem with Visa/Mastercard's policy on fraud and so they no longer allow them (or Amex) to be used at the ticket booth. However, they have no problem with you using them at the ATM machine right next to the ticket booth where you can get screwed out of a $5 ATM fee. I don't know what Visa/Mastercard's fraud policy is but I'm pretty sure LOMB's is worse. Not a bad park but this pissed me off.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillipsburg, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Place for the little ones”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Visited today with 2 year old and 6 year old granddaughters. Enjoyed it very much. Bathrooms were clean. Lots of fun rides including the train and hayride. The play at the castle is really fun. They ask for child volunteers and the kids get to dress up. The gift shop when you exit wasn't that expensive. The water park gets crowded and you need to watch the little ones close as the older kids get rammy in the water.Nice country ride there for the locals anyway who dont need to navigate the highways. I would imagine weekdays less crowded. Its not a high tech fancy place but thats what I like about it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“freezing water!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I went to the park on a sweltering hot day, 91 F. I was so excited to get into water, but the water was ICY cold. Even my son (4year old boy) could not get into it. We tread the kid pool area, but couldn't enjoy the slide or other fun things. I told one of the guards about water temperature, but no helped. All my family were shivering from icy water, and ended up leaving after 30 minutes try.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Land of Make Believe also viewed

 
Bushkill, Pocono Mountains Region
Delaware Water Gap, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Land of Make Believe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Land of Make Believe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Land of Make Believe to your Saves list