We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Beer hall” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pilsener Haus & Biergarten

Pilsener Haus & Biergarten
1422 Grand Street, Hoboken, NJ 07030
(201) 683-5465
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 247 Restaurants in Hoboken
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Hoboken, New Jersey
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Large Beer hall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Been fantastic ever since opening a few years ago. Outdoor picnic style seating. Expansive indoor areas with standard German wursts and compliments. They have an extensive unique beer selection available,.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    21
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Haledon, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Restaurant was good. Coat check ruined experience.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We went to the Pilsener Haus & Biergarten for New Year's Eve. For a $10 cover we received a table, three pitchers of beer and a plate of sausage. They had a projection screen on the wall, but it had a football game on until about a minute before midnight where they cut to ABC. The atmosphere was pretty much what I expected for NYE. Music was a bit loud.

When we arrived they told us that we had to check our coats for $2 per coat. Their system was to hang everyone's coat in a random spot and paperclip a raffle ticket onto it and give you the other half of the ticket. Now you can imagine that at about 12:30am when everyone was trying to leave it was an absolute nightmare! I was sixth in line and it took me until 1:15am to get my coat. They would let one person at a time go in to the area and look for their own coat, which were just strewn about. Add to that the bunch of drunk people behind me who were all getting really pissed off. A number of times the bouncer had to come over to the coat check line just to reign in the madness. Because of this experience, I probably wouldn't go here again.

I give it a 3 star rating, just because if they knew how to check coats it would actually be a decent place to go.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“And I was a fool to think that the best beer gardens are in Manhattan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Great place. Love their beer garden. The cocktail bar upstairs is awesome too. Although its too loud downstairs its worth a visit. They have good beer selection. Its definitely better than many beer gardens in Manhattan. This is indeed a hidden gem of Hoboken.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good food great atmosheree”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A very nice, very informal spot in Hoboken. If you like German food, I highly recommend this spot. Great wursts, schnitzels, kraut served in traditional beer hall style. Not too expensive and a friendly wait staff.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
1 review
“get there early”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Miss the lines and get there early by 7 00pm so you miss the ID check. Its ok, some of the bouncers are unruly, mostly the big Black guy, Spotted one guy doing drugs outside with no fear of getting thrown out and 2 fights broke out that night that were pretty bad.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilsener Haus & Biergarten also viewed

 

Been to Pilsener Haus & Biergarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pilsener Haus & Biergarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.