We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of walking, lots of good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mangia Hoboken! The Hoboken Food & Culture Tour

Mangia Hoboken! The Hoboken Food & Culture Tour
Hoboken, NJ 07030
+1 201-653-1500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Activities in Hoboken
Type: Historic Walking Areas, Tours, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hoboken Tours announces 'Mangia Hoboken!', The first weekly Hoboken Food & Culture Tour.Mangia Hoboken! Celebrate's the food and culture of Hoboken, NJ with guided walking tours exploring the world-class Italian food establishments that have been in business for decades. "We offer a weekly walking tour for small groups that features a behind-the-scenes look at the world-class food establishments which highlight historic Hoboken's Italian heritage." Said Tour Director Avi Ohring. "The tour will focus on family-owned businesses, where everything is still made by hand and you have a good chance of running into the owner.
Berlin, Connecticut
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lots of walking, lots of good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Enjoyed this alot. Made stops for pizza, canollis, cupcakes, coffee, fresh mozzarella, and much more. Bring comfortable walking shoes, the tour was about 3 hours with very interesting information of the area and history of the shops.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    35
    8
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Experience the BEST of Hoboken through food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Even in the EXTREME heat wave of June/July 2012, this tour was well worth the walk! ...and no worries-you will walk off the calories!

Compare fresh Mozzarella at Fiore's and Lisa's Deli (which included spectacular sandwiches!), brick oven fired bread at the Antique Bakery, BEST pizza at Grimaldi's Pizza, cream cheese topped red velvet mini cupcake at Sweet, frozen hot chocolate at Empire Coffee & Tea and start to finish at the famous "Cake Boss", Carlo's Bakery with mouth-watering cannoli! And if you're lucky (like we were) you might just catch a glimpse of some of Carlo's family and the cast of Cake Boss (the line was approx 10 minutes to inside for us), with a bonus of Frank Sinatra highlights.

Our guide Pat (female) was informative, upbeat, well-organized and FUN...even carried a jug of water with cups the entire tour for us due to the extreme heat and made a pit-stop in air conditioning for our benefit for the longest walk portion!

Terrific food, some history, amazing architecture and fun stops. We enjoyed this so much, we would do it again! We likely would have bought more food selections from some of the stops, but due to the heat, didn't...maybe next time! FANTASTIC!!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mangia Hoboken”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Bought my dad a ticket for a father's day gift since he loves everything Italian. The stops we're great as well as the food samples. Lisa's Deli was definitely the best where we saw fresh mozzarella being made. We enjoyed the food and the walk, however the tour guide was awful! He took all the leftover samples in a plastic bag for himself after every stop. He was not very knowledgeable about anything (several questions he could not answer) and he was not very personable... actually a bit awkward. He pulled a cutting board and knife from his backpack to cut mozzarella samples at a stop and when everyone was finished, we saw him wipe the cutting board with a tissue and put it right back into his backpack (it was gross) so do not eat off of the cutting board! also a little disappointed with Frank Sinatra's "house".. wish they told you it was just a star on the ground... not very exciting. Overall the idea was genius since there are so many great Italian eateries in Hoboken but the mangia tour was just okay.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I brought my wife this tour pack for her Easter gift. For the last few years she's talked about wanting to go on a Hoboken food tour. I bought the tickets and we had such a great time. We had a great time at Lisa's, their fresh mozzarella cheese is the best I have every had. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone who want to take a nice tour eat great food and see a nice small town in New Jersey. Oh for all the "Cake Boss" fans.......Carlo's Bakery must stop location. Cupcakes are the bomb. And Tony from Lisa's is the "Mozzarella Boss". Thanks.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
2 reviews
“Mangia Hoboken”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

I found this tour just browsing the web and thought it would be a fun time. It was just as promised, information on Hoboken and tasting of food. I knew from the website that it was not a tour to gain access into Carlos Bakery but I was a little discouraged that we didn't even get to go in the back door to peek in. The picture on the web shows the inside of the back of the bakery. Had to wait in line at the end of the tour to get into the Bakery. Our tour guide was very informative and all business. We tried to start up conversations with him but he was right to the point with the answer and that was it. Nothing extra! The food was good and enough to go around for everyone with extras. It would have been nice for Carlos Bakery to do a little more though, after all if I wasn't for his show would their even be a Mangia Hoboken.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangia Hoboken! The Hoboken Food & Culture Tour also viewed

 

Been to Mangia Hoboken! The Hoboken Food & Culture Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mangia Hoboken! The Hoboken Food & Culture Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.