We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Views - Why the Nightclub?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of W Hoboken

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added W Hoboken to your Saves list
W Hoboken
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 River Street, Hoboken, NJ 07030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hoboken
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
winchester
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Views - Why the Nightclub?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I'd never stayed off Manhattan when in NYC, so decided to do something a bit different. The location is fantastic and having to get the PATH train onto Manhattan was no bother (if that's where you plan to go most days). The hotel was trendy, and the room wonderful. However, our whole stay was marred by our check-in experience:
We booked into a superior room for the space and balcony. However, on check in the first thing we were told was that "your room might be noisy because of the nightclub". Erm, what? This is a hotel, right? A place where people pay for rooms to sleep in?! We immediately protested and were told "the website says it's a lively hotel, some people like the noise" - both unhelpful and patronising. We were told that we could downgrade our room, and would be compensated with vouchers. This was infuriating as the main reason we'd chosen the hotel was for the views of the Manhattan skyline. Eventually, after a LOT of talking and negotiating, we were told that we would be upgraded for our last night which was when the nightclub was at its loudest. Our stay was fine and the last night was very special. However, the staff weren't very friendly (especially compared to the other east-coast hotels we stayed at during our holiday) and the hotel lobby felt a little cold and industrial. I'd recommend it for the view and room size, shame about the service and the fact that 'W' can't decide whether they want a trendy nightclub or a decent hotel - It's obvious they can't do both.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWHoboken, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for taking the time to review your W Hoboken experience. While I am glad you decided to do something different and give us a try, I am terribly sorry that we missed the mark during your visit. Thursday-Saturday nights our hotel does have a livelier vibe and as our Cool Corner Suites are within close proximity to LULU's, we make every effort to re-emphasize this to guests who are staying with us over the weekend. Please know that I completely understand the importance of a restful evening and fully appreciate your feedback. I must also apologize for the unfriendly attitude you describe from your interaction with our talent team. This is unlike our Whatever/Whenever philosophy and my hope is that you won't judge us solely on the basis of this experience. Hope you can give us another chance in the near future to provide a more optimal stay from start to finish!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    176
    53
    27
    18
See reviews for
173
292
65
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place made me and my girl friend feel like We are in the Caribbean island.
upon arrival We felt so welcomed
We were given a room upgrade. the room had a gorgeous view of the city of New York and the Hudson river combined
The entire staff are so friendly including the housekeeping they made sure We had what ever We need it in the room
And the front desk staff was there to help with everything needed
We will definitely come again and my advice to anyone that does not wish to travel far to choose this hotel as a romantic relaxing place

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWHoboken, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for your fabulous review of the W Hoboken! I am thrilled that you were so blown away from the minute you arrived. It is so enriching to be compared to something so exclusive as being in a Caribbean island. I appreciate you letting us know how much you enjoyed your escape-we hope to welcome you back again on your next romantic getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A great property in a perfect location. I booked our room online and then upgraded it once we arrived. For an extra $50 we upgraded to a beautiful balcony suite with a stunning view. Staff were terrific. Helpful and very friendly. The location in Hoboken so close to the subway terminal was very handy. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Upgrade to one of the mini suites with the balcony. They are located at the end of the building and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWHoboken, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for your glowing review of the W Hoboken! To hear that you had such an amazing stay with us is beyond gratifying. I am so glad you enjoyed the phenomenal view from your upgraded Suite and that our talent team sealed the deal in making your experience a memorable one. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stylish, friendly staff, good food, very comfortable room, excellent bed, quiet, near to the PATH so it is very easy to go to Manhattan and the amazing views. Ok, it not cheap but you can't have all :-)

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWHoboken, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for your rave review of the W Hoboken! I am so elated to hear that you enjoyed the W vibe, comfort of your room, breathtaking views, and service received throughout your stay. Hope to have the opportunity to deliver another stellar experience in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was clean, beautiful and staffed with very friendly people. The price was a bit high, but given the location, understandable. I would stay there again. From the front door, to the hall cleaning staff, everyone was very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWHoboken, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for sharing your W Hoboken experience! Your review clearly shows that we were able to WOW you from the moment you arrived. I sincerely appreciate your kind words about the hotel's cleanliness and our talent team. Our team works hard to exceed the expectations of our guests and I will make sure to share your accolades with them-hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumford, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the W with my wife and kids and can't say enough about the incredible views of NYC. We had a corner room and it was modern, well kept and had that perfect view.

The hotel itself allows for various methods of commuting into Manhattan but it's very hard to manage in cold winter months so if you are expecting to travel to and from the city I wouldn't recommend this spot.

The restaurant food was awesome, the front desk staff very friendly and the location in terms of Hoboken was nearly ideal. (2 block walk to hip shopping, Carlo's Bakery, bars etc...)

I found the lobby and surrounding area to be a bit uninviting, no real great sight-lines and not much of a buzz to it at all.

If Hoboken is your destination I would stay here. If NYC is, then I would reconsider unless it's very nice weather.

Room Tip: Get room facing NYC
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWHoboken, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us! I am so delighted to hear that you were impressed by the NYC view from your guestroom and equally happy that you explored the Hoboken area during your visit. I also appreciate your candid feedback regarding the Living Room area and regret that we weren't able to set the stage for that extraordinary experience we strive to provide all our guests with. Hope to welcome you and your family again next time your travels bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If I could buy those pillows here at home in the UK I would - they were incredible. The bed was phenomenally comfortable as well.
We were given a complimentary upgrade with stunning views of the Manhattan skyline and the room was delightful, with a recliner to sit by the window to watch the ever-changing scene.
The service was great and we ate breakfast there but walked into Hoboken to eat dinner.
It's no cheap option but a lovely place to stay and I hope we can return one day. Many of my work colleagues stay there on business but I was travelling for pleasure and we chose the W because it is near to my Head Office, which we visited during our stay.
It's quirky and stylish, a nice place to be. If you can get a high floor, it is a good idea - less noisy. We were lucky.

Room Tip: free wi-fi if you are part of their loyalty scheme. Ask for a high floor away from street and bar/c...
See more room tips
Green Features: Apparently they do go the extra mile on green practices but as our stay was short we didn't see much.
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWHoboken, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for your fantastic review of the W Hoboken! I am truly delighted that you enjoyed the comfort of our W Beds and that were able to take in the stunning views of NYC from the comfort of your guest room. It is one of the features that many of our guests are really WOWed by and I am so glad that this was the case with you. I would like to share with you that our W Bedding sets and accessories are available for purchase through our W Store online. Hope you can bring some of that comfort back home but most importantly, W Hoboken hopes to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Hoboken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Hoboken

Address: 225 River Street, Hoboken, NJ 07030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Hoboken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hoboken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Hoboken 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Hoboken Hotel awaits, where you'll do it your way in our 225 rooms, with celebrated comforts such as the signature W bed, state-of-the-art entertainment, fully wired technology and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Amex, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your W Hoboken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Hoboken Hotel Hoboken
w Hotels Hoboken
w Hotel Hoboken

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Hoboken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.