We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticked all of the boxes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Hoboken

Save Saved
You added W Hoboken to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
W Hoboken
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 River Street, Hoboken, NJ 07030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Hoboken
GreenLeadersBronze level
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Ticked all of the boxes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel with great views of the city. I found the service to be excellent, particularly behind the front desk and the door guys. The room was lovely, well finished, clean and the bed very comfortable. We ate at the restaurant 3x and that was great too...good service and tasty food. Can't beat the location either if you're staying in hoboken.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPedroDias, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your perfect W Hoboken experience! To hear we delivered exceptional service and exceeded your expectations in all areas is extremely rewarding and I will certainly make sure to share your review with my team. Hope to welcome you back again soon!-Pedro D, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    510
    151
    42
    21
    17
See reviews for
153
262
65
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

No doubt, the view on Manhattan is superb. Rooms are good, the couch in the corner window comfortable.
However the image they try to build, being a chill hotel, is not aligned with how they treat their customers. For the significant rates they charge, they dare to try to charge 7 dollar handling fee when you have an envelope sent to the hotel. After complaining they took it off the bill, but the fact they tried is unbelievable. First time ever this happened to me in a hotel.
I tried to get a check out at 2 pm rather than the standard noon time. Lady at the reception offered 1 hour extra for free, but staying till 2pm would cost half a days charge. Then she sent me to the manager, who's friendly comment was that he even would not have offered the one hour. The fact we were with a large group and spent significant money on meeting facilities and catering did not the seem to be enough reason to facilitate the 2 pm checkout.
Despite the view, I would be hesitant to go back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPedroDias, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hello Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with the Trip Advisor community. Although I am glad to hear you were content with your room accommodations, I am disappointed to hear that you were not impressed with the service received. Due to our limited storage space, we do have a package handling fee in place however I fully appreciate your valuable feedback and am glad that my team was able to adjust this cost. With regards to your late check-out request, our team goes through great lengths to honor late check-out requests as occupancy permits. I am sorry that we were unable to grant a complimentary 2PM Late Check-out on the day of your departure and again thank you for sharing your comments with us. Should your travels bring you back to W Hoboken, I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again-Pedro D, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have already stayed at the W Hoboken before and had a great stay.

This time our stay was fine, and although there was some minor issue that the room we reserved was not available upon arrival, we did still get a nice room and enjoyed our stay.

GM Pedro Dias was exceptionally understanding and went out of his way to accommodate us until we were 100% satisfied!

Room Tip: Good idea to choose a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPedroDias, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hello Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your W Hoboken experience! My team prides itself in doing everything possible to ensure we deliver a wonderful experience to all our guests. I am so delighted to hear that we were able to turn your experience around and even more thrilled to learn that we were able to restore your faith in us. I look forward to your next visit to W Hoboken! -Pedro D, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

If you are traveling to NYC and have a flexibility with where you can stay, I would definitely recommend you stay here! This is also a great place for locals to visit with a great bar/lounge! I will be having my 30th birthday party here in 2014!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPedroDias, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hello Valued Guest,

Thank you for writing on Trip Advisor! W Hoboken is a wonderful locale and I am so happy to hear that you had such a great experience. We look forward to your return visit! -Pedro D, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I am not sure what I expected but was very pleasantly surprised- we were flying into Newark and needed to stay a night before continuing up the Hudson the next day. We had booked a room using starwood points and decided to upgrade for $30 to next level. When we got there we were upgraded to a fantastic room which was indeed fantastic! Beautiful view across Hudson to NYC, lovely balcony pity the thunderstorm marred the views! The concierge recommended a restaurant just down the road which was good. Only bugbear was the water in room-watch out for the bottle by the bed that says DRINK ME in big letters and $5 in much smaller writing! The manager has responded very favorably and promptly to my comments re this so I am hopeful that will change in future. Would be very happy to go again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPedroDias, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hello Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your W Hoboken experience with the Trip Advisor community.
I am thrilled that you were pleasantly surprised with your upgraded room and enjoyed the fantastic NYC views. It was a pleasure to have made your acquaintance and I fully appreciate the feedback you provided. Thank you again and I do hope to have the oppportunity to welcome you back again soon! -Pedro D, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We recently stayed at W Hotel in Hoboken and it was a great experience. Fantastic views of lower Manattan and lower New York Harbor from our room. Staff was friendly and efficient and overall a great experience and I woulld stay again. Also, near many fantastic restaurants in Hoboken and easy access to NYC by either PATH or ferry.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPedroDias, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hello Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience. It is always so rewarding when we are able to exceed our guests expecations, and I am glad that you enjoyed the amazing views W Hoboken offers and exceptional service from our talent team. I am also delighted that you took advantage of our close proximity to the PATH, and accessibility to NYC. W Hoboken looks forward to your next stay with us! -Pedro D, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty Hawk
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The cells in san quentin are larger t b an their rooms. Not particularly clean or spacious. Kept banging me knees and toes. A new York City hotel in Hoboken that is truly overpriced and not particularly convenient. Not much I can say! I intend to stay away.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPedroDias, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hello Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at W Hoboken! I am greatly disappointed to learn that the size and condition of your guestroom failed to meet your expectations. Cleanliness is of the utmost importance to us and I can assure you that this is not the norm here at the W Hoboken. Should your travels bring you back to W Hoboken in the future, I invite you to explore our Cool Corner and Fantastic Suite guestrooms which offer additional square footage and are highly requested by our frequent guests. Thank you again for your valuable feedback! -Pedro D, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to W Hoboken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Hoboken

Address: 225 River Street, Hoboken, NJ 07030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Hoboken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Hoboken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Hoboken 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Hoboken Hotel awaits, where you'll do it your way in our 225 rooms, with celebrated comforts such as the signature W bed, state-of-the-art entertainment, fully wired technology and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Travelocity so you can book your W Hoboken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Hoboken Hotel Hoboken
w Hotels Hoboken
w Hotel Hoboken

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Hoboken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.