We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for our Anniversary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Hoboken

Save Saved
You added W Hoboken to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
W Hoboken
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 River Street, Hoboken, NJ 07030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Hoboken
GreenLeadersBronze level
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great stay for our Anniversary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in June for our 13th anniversary. We arrived early on Sat morning expecting simply to drop our luggage and go to the city, however Jonathan was able to check us in despite it only being 10AM and when he heard about our special occasion he changed our room to give us one with a southeast view overlooking lower Manhattan. Breathtaking view of the skyline both day and night. The Hotel is about 300m from the PATH station so very convenient to get to NYC. The hotel is right on the waterfront, a nice park nearby, lots of bars and restaurants nearby. Carlos bakery is two blocks away, for the Cake Boss fans. Room was beautiful, nice king bed and a nice sofa in the window to sit on while gazing over the skyline. A bit of confusion over billing for multiple wireless devices but the front desk took care of it. Great service, front desk arranged a nice SUV trip to EWR for our early morning flight. We loved the hotel, my only minor complaint is the noise issue everyone mentions. We were on the seventh floor and it seems not to far above the disco in the hotel, which lead to fairly loud music until 5AM on the Sat night. Other nights were perfectly quiet, but if you are a light sleeper like me, this may be an issue as it seems to be a lively spot on the weekend.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPedroDias, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your outstanding stay with the Trip Advisor community! I'm so delighted that we were able to deliver such exceptional experience during your celebratory visit, and I am glad that you were able to take advantage of all the wonderful things the City of Hoboken offers. I must apologize for the noise disturbance you experienced and thank you for providing your valuable feedback. When your travels bring you back to the area, we look forward to welcoming you and your wife back to W Hoboken! -Pedro D, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    510
    151
    42
    21
    17
See reviews for
153
262
65
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I just stayed at the W Hoboken, a repeat visit, and it has pluses and minuses you may want to keep in mind.

Pluses:
- Decor and service are very high quality. Front desk, valet parking staff, room service, all performed to a high level. I can only say good things about them.
- Very nice rooms, much much better than the boring rectangular box of most chains. We upgraded to the "Wonderful" room, which is spacious and had that fantastic view of Manhattan.
- Location is unbeatable - you have the view of NYC, are walking distance to restaurants, shops, and the PATH.

Minuses:
- The W really looks to the hip, party crowd. Nothing wrong with that in general, but it means that the night club is open and loud till late. On the 8th floor you could hear the thump thump thump of the base till 2am. Not too loud, but still a distraction. Light sleepers will want a high floor or even look elsewhere where there isn't a nightlife orientation.
- What happens when the club closes? Well, the people at the club make their way upstairs. If they are drunk or having an argument you'll find out about it at 2am - as we did on both nights on this recent stay. Other reviews have commented about noise so it looks like this is an ongoing issue. It wasn't terrible this weekend, but it did interrupt sleep and detracted from the experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for quiet, and consider an upgrade so you can get the view of NYC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPedroDias, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent W Hoboken experience. Guest satisfaction is very important to us so thank you for sharing both your positive feedback as well as areas for improvement. While I am thrilled that you enjoyed so many components of your visit, I am sorry for the noise disturbance you experienced as I understand this is not what our guest's expect when they come to stay with us for rest and relaxation. It is precisely through our guest's feedback that we are able to continually monitor our guest's expectations and again, many thanks for sharing. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon! -Pedro D, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Clean, modern, no complaints. Would stay again for a cheaper alternative outside NYC. Got the SPG gold gift of bonus points without even having to ask for it! ( I am a gold member but usually have to bring up myself)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPedroDias, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks for sharing your stay on Trip Advisor! We love when our Starwood Preferred Guests stay with us and I would like to thank you for letting me know how impressed you were with the service you received. Hope to welcome you back again soon-Pedro D, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

The first time we stayed here the place was so noisy we complained. Three year since;they keep the party-rooms with noise on the lower floors and have a sign at the desk requesting people be respectful and quiet so guests can sleep. I guess enough people complained that they put up the sign. We were on the 15th floor this time and were able to sleep. They are building on the lot next door so in the morning there is a little construction noise, and the fantastic view of the city may be cut off some. The second time around was better.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPedroDias, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hello Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent W Hoboken experience! It's always great to have the opportunity to welcome our guests back, and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and felt comfortable in your accommodations. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and your comments are much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to W Hoboken in the near future! -Pedro D, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

It's been a while since W Hotels have entered the scene. You'd think that by now, most people who'd bought into the "party/place-to-be seen" factor of the W Hotels had gotten it out of their system. I am still very irked about the stay. Front desk was ok as we checked in. Valets did their job...Living Room was ok for drinks. It's more the knuckleheads staying at the hotel. I got "0" hours/min. of sleep, AND I went to bed near midnight. People loudly started going back to their rooms after 2 AM and the club was pounding the music until the sunrise. The idiots in 515 kept the entire floor up by shouting out their play-by-play bad porno fantasy for HOURS. To top it off, at the crack of dawn, they started screaming/fighting with ea. other. I was raging mad. I wanted to pound on their door and call front desk, but I had two little kiddies sleeping next to me & was mortified they would wake up crying or ask what they were saying. On the other bed my dead tired husband who'd been driving over 6 hours - if I woke him and told him what was going on, it would not end up pretty for those guys. Waking any of them up was not an option for me. Their slumber was more important. Miserable night. The bathroom was also dirty. Towels were old and floor filthy. With babies or toddlers who love to play on the ground, cleanliness matters. I always wipe down the bathroom floors so I KNOW it hadn't been cleaned for some time. Also some mold in shower.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPedroDias, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hello Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent W Hoboken experience. My sincerest apologies for the noise disturbances you experienced with your family. I know this is not what you expect when you stay with us for rest and relaxation. I must also apologize for the condition of your guest room. This is certainly not typical of our hotel so thank you bringing this to our attention. I truly wish these concerns would have been mentioned during your stay as we did not have an opportunity to recover from your experience. At W, we do strive to uphold the highest levels of service and I must apologize for falling short of that goal. Should you wish to discuss your experience in further detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at gmpedro.dias@whotels.com. Our guest satisfaction is very important to us and I do hope to welcome you back to W Hoboken to show you a more perfect hotel experience. -Pedro D, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Meeting location at the Meadowlands had me stay in a different location than my usual hotels in the area, and this was a great find. Used to live in Jersey City on the cliffs overlooking Hoboken and NYC, and this hotel is ideally situated. Location a few blocks from Washington St gives you lots of local restaurants within a minute's walk, and the location a block off the water gives spectacular views. NJ has one thing NYC will never have, and that's great views of NYC. Many rooms have angular windows that jut outside the building acting like a picture frame of the city.

Staff was polite and friendly, room service arrived when requested and restaurant dinner was enjoyable. Would definately return.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPedroDias, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hello Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent W Hoboken experience! I’m delighted to hear you discovered our hotel! Guest satisfaction is so important to us and I am so glad you enjoyed your overall experience and enjoyed the breath-taking views of Manhattan from the comfort of your guest room. Hope to welcome you back again soon! -Pedro D, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, PA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I knew the w would be great but had no idea how cool Hoboken is. What a fun little get away. Great hotel, including the staff, especially Ashley! Loved everything about the hotel and area! There are so many cute places to eat and drink. It's also fun to walk around the area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPedroDias, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Hello Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent W Hoboken experience! Guest satisfaction is very important to us and I’m so glad you were impressed with the hotel and our amazing hotel staff! Your comments gives us a wonderful chance to celebrate! We look forward to welcoming you back to W Hoboken! -Pedro D, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to W Hoboken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Hoboken

Address: 225 River Street, Hoboken, NJ 07030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Hoboken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Hoboken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Hoboken 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Hoboken Hotel awaits, where you'll do it your way in our 225 rooms, with celebrated comforts such as the signature W bed, state-of-the-art entertainment, fully wired technology and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Travelocity so you can book your W Hoboken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Hoboken Hotel Hoboken
w Hotels Hoboken
w Hotel Hoboken

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Hoboken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.