We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Hoboken

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added W Hoboken to your Saves list
W Hoboken
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 River Street, Hoboken, NJ 07030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hoboken
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Clean, modern, no complaints. Would stay again for a cheaper alternative outside NYC. Got the SPG gold gift of bonus points without even having to ask for it! ( I am a gold member but usually have to bring up myself)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPedroDias, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks for sharing your stay on Trip Advisor! We love when our Starwood Preferred Guests stay with us and I would like to thank you for letting me know how impressed you were with the service you received. Hope to welcome you back again soon-Pedro D, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    184
    56
    27
    18
See reviews for
180
299
67
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

The first time we stayed here the place was so noisy we complained. Three year since;they keep the party-rooms with noise on the lower floors and have a sign at the desk requesting people be respectful and quiet so guests can sleep. I guess enough people complained that they put up the sign. We were on the 15th floor this time and were able to sleep. They are building on the lot next door so in the morning there is a little construction noise, and the fantastic view of the city may be cut off some. The second time around was better.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPedroDias, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hello Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent W Hoboken experience! It's always great to have the opportunity to welcome our guests back, and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and felt comfortable in your accommodations. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and your comments are much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to W Hoboken in the near future! -Pedro D, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

It's been a while since W Hotels have entered the scene. You'd think that by now, most people who'd bought into the "party/place-to-be seen" factor of the W Hotels had gotten it out of their system. I am still very irked about the stay. Front desk was ok as we checked in. Valets did their job...Living Room was ok for drinks. It's more the knuckleheads staying at the hotel. I got "0" hours/min. of sleep, AND I went to bed near midnight. People loudly started going back to their rooms after 2 AM and the club was pounding the music until the sunrise. The idiots in 515 kept the entire floor up by shouting out their play-by-play bad porno fantasy for HOURS. To top it off, at the crack of dawn, they started screaming/fighting with ea. other. I was raging mad. I wanted to pound on their door and call front desk, but I had two little kiddies sleeping next to me & was mortified they would wake up crying or ask what they were saying. On the other bed my dead tired husband who'd been driving over 6 hours - if I woke him and told him what was going on, it would not end up pretty for those guys. Waking any of them up was not an option for me. Their slumber was more important. Miserable night. The bathroom was also dirty. Towels were old and floor filthy. With babies or toddlers who love to play on the ground, cleanliness matters. I always wipe down the bathroom floors so I KNOW it hadn't been cleaned for some time. Also some mold in shower.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPedroDias, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Hello Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent W Hoboken experience. My sincerest apologies for the noise disturbances you experienced with your family. I know this is not what you expect when you stay with us for rest and relaxation. I must also apologize for the condition of your guest room. This is certainly not typical of our hotel so thank you bringing this to our attention. I truly wish these concerns would have been mentioned during your stay as we did not have an opportunity to recover from your experience. At W, we do strive to uphold the highest levels of service and I must apologize for falling short of that goal. Should you wish to discuss your experience in further detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at gmpedro.dias@whotels.com. Our guest satisfaction is very important to us and I do hope to welcome you back to W Hoboken to show you a more perfect hotel experience. -Pedro D, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Meeting location at the Meadowlands had me stay in a different location than my usual hotels in the area, and this was a great find. Used to live in Jersey City on the cliffs overlooking Hoboken and NYC, and this hotel is ideally situated. Location a few blocks from Washington St gives you lots of local restaurants within a minute's walk, and the location a block off the water gives spectacular views. NJ has one thing NYC will never have, and that's great views of NYC. Many rooms have angular windows that jut outside the building acting like a picture frame of the city.

Staff was polite and friendly, room service arrived when requested and restaurant dinner was enjoyable. Would definately return.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPedroDias, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hello Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent W Hoboken experience! I’m delighted to hear you discovered our hotel! Guest satisfaction is so important to us and I am so glad you enjoyed your overall experience and enjoyed the breath-taking views of Manhattan from the comfort of your guest room. Hope to welcome you back again soon! -Pedro D, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, PA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I knew the w would be great but had no idea how cool Hoboken is. What a fun little get away. Great hotel, including the staff, especially Ashley! Loved everything about the hotel and area! There are so many cute places to eat and drink. It's also fun to walk around the area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPedroDias, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Hello Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent W Hoboken experience! Guest satisfaction is very important to us and I’m so glad you were impressed with the hotel and our amazing hotel staff! Your comments gives us a wonderful chance to celebrate! We look forward to welcoming you back to W Hoboken! -Pedro D, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I've always heard the jokes but now I get it. People in NJ get to gaze at Manhattan's skyline while chic Manhattanites look at Jersey. LOL

We had a great time the staff and everyone was just so kind. The room was perfect and the bed was so comfy.

the environment at the club was very trendy and again a great view.

This is my new New Jersey home.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPedroDias, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Hello Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent W Hoboken experience! I’m delighted to learn you discovered W Hoboken and that you were so impressed with our hotel and exceptional NYC views! I'm glad you've found your new NJ home and look forward to your next visit! -Pedro D, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley, NY
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I've been staying in Manhattan hotels for a while but lately I've been staying across the river at the W Hotel in Hoboken. It's a great place to stay. Just a path ride from the World Trade Center and then a beautiful walk down the river front. The hotel staff is extremely friendly. Check in is a breeze. The rooms are nice. The air conditioning is great. I mention it because some hotels are older and their air conditioning systems are horrible. The bar area and restaurant are also terrific. Plus you can always just walk down the street to a series of hoboken bar/restaurants. I've returned here multiple times.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPedroDias, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Hello Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your W Hoboken experience on Trip Advisor! I’m delighted to hear you've enjoyed your accommodations and taken advantage of the various dining and entertaining options the city of Hoboken offers during your visits. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to NYC! -Pedro D, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to W Hoboken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Hoboken

Address: 225 River Street, Hoboken, NJ 07030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Hoboken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hoboken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Hoboken 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Hoboken Hotel awaits, where you'll do it your way in our 225 rooms, with celebrated comforts such as the signature W bed, state-of-the-art entertainment, fully wired technology and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Amex, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your W Hoboken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Hoboken Hotel Hoboken
w Hotels Hoboken
w Hotel Hoboken

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Hoboken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.