We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Hoboken

Save Saved
You added W Hoboken to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
W Hoboken
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 River Street, Hoboken, NJ 07030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Hoboken
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here for 9 nights and truly impressed by the view of the Manhattan skyline. The location is good as it is a short walk to the PATH station and then it is a short ride to the city. The restaurant on site, Zylo was good although a bit too dark for my liking. In room wifi was good. The bed was comfy and they give you lots of pillows!

Room Tip: You have to choose the rooms with views of Manhattan. It's really excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnna, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor! For your long-term stay, I’m happy to hear you enjoyed your W Hoboken experience. Guest satisfaction is very important to us so thank you for sharing your comments regarding your ZYLO dining experience. I will certainly share this with them. I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed your guest room as well as the amazing view of the Manhattan skyline! When your travels bring you back to Hoboken, we look forward to welcoming you to W Hoboken! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    488
    144
    37
    18
    15
See reviews for
138
246
60
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights for a wedding, two weeks before Hurricane Sandy. Even though our king-size "cozy room" did seem small, it was really comfortable and we felt fancy! The modern style of the hotel/rooms is nice, playful, and plush-y, not sleek and cold.
BEST FEATURE: LOCATION! It was an easy walk to Washington, the main strip of Hoboken, to find stores and restaurants, and an easy walk to the Hoboken PATH station to get into the city. Also loved strolling along the river walk- nice place to hang out and take pics in front of the Manhattan skyline. We did not rent a car.
BATHROOM: I loved, loved, loved the shower: nice-sized walk-in (no tub), mini-tiles on the floor/wall, mirror in the shower!, wide shelf that was part of the tiled wall, glass door, and good heat/pressure. However, the lighting was kinda low (and sexy?) in the bathroom and in the room overall.
"COZY ROOM": The huge picture window was beautiful and the solid window blind worked well to block the morning light if you want to sleep in. Though there wasn't an overhead room light, the backlighting on the headboard was pretty and bright enough most of the time.
BONUS: There's a DVD player and you can borrow movies for free! I also liked the fun, glowing, color-changing plastic thing that held the for-purchase snacks & other stuff, but don't worry- you can turn it off. Random happiness: the floor mats in the elevators are changed out throughout the day to wish you a good morning, good afternoon, or good eevning! hee hee
LOBBY: I also really liked the comfy lounge area in the lobby with free coffee and tea in the morning. It's a bar at night but not like a roped-off place, just a casual place to get a drink, sit on couches and hang out. We watched the Yankees game on tv there!
"WOW SUITE": We also got to hang out in one of the suites w/our friends-- OMG it was gorgeous! Awesome view (balcony), lots of space to hang out in the living room/parlor/whatever, cool glowing jellyfish art sculpture in the middle of the room, extra bathroom for guests, kitchenette. Loved it! So jealous. Wanted to move there permanently. (By the way, there are residences on the property so it's totally possible!)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnna, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for sharing your W Hoboken experience and I hope you enjoyed the wedding! I’m so happy to hear you took full advantage of your hotel experience and were lucky enough to visit our WOW suite. Your feedback gives us a wonderful chance to celebrate with our Talent team members and I am happy to share your detailed comments with my team! We look forward to your next stay with us at W Hoboken! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just what we had wanted. Valet parking was a must simply because there was no other parking option. A charming place. We honeymooned here before cruising out. It was an easy access location with two restaurants on site and many more in the area .

Room Tip: The river view was totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnna, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor! I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed your W Hoboken experience prior to departing on your honeymoon cruise. I will certainly share your wonderful feedback with the Talent and with ZYLO team! We look forward to your next stay with us! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Have stayed at this hotel a few times and highly recommend it. Fabulous view of Manhatten skyline day or night! Water taxi right outside the door of the hotel, shuttle service to main terminal for water taxis, then buses into NYC. Hotel room large, clean, with sofa and kitchenette. The beds are luxurious which makes for a good nights sleep after a long day in NYC. Quiet setting next to the Hudson River.We flew into Newark airport which was so accessible to the hotel.

Room Tip: Request room with view of Hudson River and Manhatten skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnna, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for posting your recent W Hoboken experience on Trip Advisor and for your well wishes in the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy. Thankfully, we suffered minor structural damage and eventually restored power. I’m so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as the convenient location to Manhattan and Newark Airport. We look forward to your next stay with us! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I had a WONDERFUL experience at the W Hotel last weekend. We planned the trip in order to see Alex Cuba and his band play at Maxwell's as well as visiting some friends. We had not been to Hoboken before and we were pleasantly surprised. The welcome at check in could not have been warmer. Our room was gorgeous with the view of the Manhattan skyline and the Hudson River. The bed was comfortable and we felt at home right away! The housekeeping staff should be commended on the super job that they do. Our room was clean and well maintained. The whole property was just beautiful! The decor is distinctly modern and complemented the surrounding area.I especially liked how quiet the rooms were. We could have been in the hotel alone...I did not hear any noise all night! The concierge was so helpful in arranging our circle tour around Manhattan. It was a spectacular way to see the city. The check out process also went smoothly. The front desk staff is professional and very friendly!
Thanks to the tremendous staff at the W Hotel, our trip was a total success! We enjoyed drinks at the bar, but my husband and I both agreed that you might want to reconsider the music played during the evening. Dance music is for discos. We would have liked to hear some nice sophisticated jazz to complement the modern decor and city atmosphere as well as to make conversation easier. Our dinner at Zylo was delectable! Hoboken has been transformed into a bustling little city with great restaurants and shops. A pedestrian/bikeway is located right next to the river with playgrounds and skateboard parks. Benches make walking and sightseeing a pleasure. Ferries can transport you to Manhattan within minutes. We loved it and hope to return to the W and Hoboken soon!

Room Tip: Try to land a corner room on the highest floor. The views are tremendous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I've stayed a few times recently at the W Hotel in Hoboken. It's only a couple of blocks from the Hoboken train station, which gets you access to NYC via ferry and the PATH train, as well as points in NJ via PATH and light rail.

Rooms: quiet, beautiful views of Manhattan, comfortable bedding, very nice oversized sitting settee in the window alcove, good amenities.

Facility: ample workout equipment (never too crowded), very good restaurant (Zylo) with good choices for breakfast, lunch and dinner, comfortable lounge area with free wi-fi, very helpful staff.

Being a W across the river from Manhattan, it's not cheap, but if you're on business travel or want to splurge on a very nice hotel with good views/access to the City (at less than NYC prices), you won't find better on the NJ side of the Hudson.

Room Tip: If you care, the views are either to lower Manhattan or mid-town, so ask before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnna, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for posting on Trip Advisor! I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed your W Hoboken experience as well the convenience the hotel provides to New York City. I will certainly share your kind comments with the ZYLO team as I know they will be happy to hear you enjoyed their amazing menu! We look forward to welcoming you back to W Hoboken soon! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip,ny
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I surprised my husband with a stay at the W Hotel in Hoboken with our close friends as part of a celebration of his 60th birthday. We first saw a play in Manhattan and then drove to the hotel in New Jersy rather than stay in the city. My daughter, who frequently stays in Hoboken with friends, suggested the W and it turned out to be a great choice. Both rooms I booked had spectacular views of the Manhattan skyline and it was hard to look away. The rooms' decor was modern and cool and a wonderful 2 person chaise near the window allowed for comfortable viewing of the skyline while having a glass of wine. The hotel is conveniently located near shops and restaurants as well as the walkway along the river. The service was excellent - the staff was courteous and helpful; The manager sent up a tray of delicious little cupcakes and a card wishing my husband a happy birthday - a nice touch. This was definitely better than staying in the city and it was only about 10 minutes from the theatre district so it was convenient as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnna, General Manager at W Hoboken, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor! I’m so glad you and your friends chose to celebrate your husband’s 60th birthday with us at W Hoboken! We offer such convenience to the city and I’m delighted to hear you took advantage. Your feedback gives us a wonderful chance to celebrate with our Talent team members and I will be sure to share your lovely comments with them. We look forward to celebrating many more birthdays with you! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to W Hoboken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Hoboken

Also Known As:
w Hoboken Hotel
w Hoboken Hotel Hoboken
w Hotels Hoboken
w Hotel Hoboken
Address: 225 River Street, Hoboken, NJ 07030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Hoboken
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Hoboken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Hoboken 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Hoboken Hotel awaits, where you'll do it your way in our 225 rooms, with celebrated comforts such as the signature W bed, state-of-the-art entertainment, fully wired technology and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Starwood, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your W Hoboken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Hoboken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.