We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Chill . . .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windansea

Windansea
56 Shrewsbury Ave, Highlands, NJ 07732
(732) 872-2266
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 30 Restaurants in Highlands
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Princeton, NJ
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
296 helpful votes 296 helpful votes
“Great Place to Chill . . .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

. . . Especially if you come for a casual lunch during the week. Love it in the summer when you sit out on the deck overlooking the water, the boats and Sandy Hook (photo).

Great spot to just have a beer (or 2) and relax with friends. I like their blackened fish sandwich with fries and cole slaw. I order whatever fish is fresh that day. Little touches such as a toasted roll and crispy fries make it all the more enjoyable (photo).

The servers, usually young women, are upbeat and helpful. If you like, they will kid with you making the experience even more fun.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    17
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oceanport, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Food & Seervice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Stopped by on the way back from a Yankee game trip on the ferry. Food was good and service was as well.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We happened to be visiting relatives in Highlands last weekend and dined at Windansea. Not only was the service superb, but all of our entrees were excellent. I had stuffed flounder with crabmeat and it was enough for two people. My husband ordered a paste with seafood special and said it was one of the best he's had in years. I would highly recommend this restaurant. We also dined on a Friday night, but they weren't busy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Weekdays Are The Best Time To Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This restaurant has become one of our favorite places to eat when we come down to the shore to visit our daughter and her family. During these visits we have discovered a secret for getting the most out of our visit. Secret number one is: Don't visit on a weekend or Friday night during the season. The place is a circus and the service is slow and the waits are long.
Visit during the week, Monday thru Thursday, and call ahead. Also, get a reservation before 6 PM.
My wife and I had one of the most pleasant dining experiences here after the summer season ended. The food was wonderful and prepared to our liking, the service was better than expected, and we even had a great conversation with one of the managers who stopped by at our table to make sure that everything was okay with our meal. The atmosphere was very pleasant and we didn't feel rushed or hurried, We had a beautiful view of the waterway from our open-window seating on the second floor.
We would strongly recommend this facility to anyone looking for an enjoyable meal and a nice evening out, however, be well aware of when you'd like to plan you visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Run aground”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

The Windansea is one of the more modern looking restaurants in the area. Walking in however, it was lacking one major thing, customers.

Decided to give it a try. The hostess, never gave us any water and would disappear for long periods of time.

She recommended adding chicken to the Asparagus salad which brought the price up to a whopping $18.98 . Really? Asparagus salad with only two spears and just one tomato? McDonald's offers better tasting and larger salads with chicken for less!

I had the blackened chicken sandwich which was covered with so much sauce , I have to wonder if the chicken was blackened at all. Left much of it on the plate and tried our frozen drinks. The Strawberry Daiquiri was reported to be good while the Piña Colada was horrible. $52.12 for terrible service, food and drinks.

NEVER AGAIN!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windansea also viewed

Highlands, Jersey Shore
 
Highlands, Jersey Shore
Highlands, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Windansea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windansea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.